Miller's Whimsy

Classic Oceanfront Cottage, Private Boardwalk to Beach, 2 Decks, Good for Large Groups

4 BR
4 Baths
Sleeps 12

About

Unplug, relax and take a trip back in time when things were simple. Miller's Whimsy has been an original Carolina Beach family oceanfront cottage for decades. This is a private, single family home with its own boardwalk to the beach and unobstructed views of the ocean. No searching for parking or long runs with beach toys and drinks, just stroll down the dock and you’re there!

Miller's Whimsy is centrally located to all the activity, restaurants, shopping, boardwalk, pier and drive on Freeman Beach Park. If you’re looking for a "simple" beachfront home, no frills, cottage homey feel, with fantastic views of the ocean, large living area for family and friends to gather, then Miller's Whimsy is the place for you!


PROPERTY INFO

Location: 516 Carolina Beach Ave N, Carolina Beach, NC 28428 ; 4 blocks away from the Carolina Beach Boardwalk

Home: 4 BR / 4 BA / Sleeps 12 / 7 Beds


SLEEPING ARRANGEMENTS:

*Bedroom 1: Queen Size Bed

*Bedroom 2: Queen Size Bed

*Bedroom 3: 2 Twin Size Beds

*Front Sunroom room: Full size pullout bed (there is a sunroom in the front of the house and in the back, this pullout is in the sunroom closest to the road, not the ocean)

Bonus room under the house: 2 Twin size beds and 1 Full size bed (Large bonus room is on the 1st floor with it’s own full bathroom, which has a completely separate entrance (does not have access from the top floor) which is perfect for a group of friends)

*King (0), Queen size Beds (2), Full Beds (2), Twin beds (4)

*Beds are all made with clean linens upon your arrival.

**When you go under the house there is a side entrance into the bonus room. The bonus room is not connected to the top floor, it is connected to the garage. There is a room that locks in the garage with the 2 twin beds and a full bed. Also in the garage there is a pool table and full bathroom.**


PROPERTY HIGHLIGHTS:

-OCEAN FRONT

-Charcoal GRILL

-Large deck!

-Full Library and a beautiful Sunroom to enjoy your read! Great views of the water

-Private boardwalk to the beach!

-Parking: 4 spaces available. 2 short cars in the garage, 2 in the driveway. There is a height restriction. *Please do not try to park a large vehicle here unless approved by us*

*Do not park in the sand in front of the house - condo next door does not allow driving on the pathway next to the house anymore*


Amenities:

-Smart TV's (no cable)

-Full Library

-Pool Table

-Beach chairs (not guaranteed)

-Beach toys

-Charcoal Grill

-Washer/Dryer

-Crockpot

-Dishwasher

-Microwave and Toaster

-Coffee Maker

-Wifi and Internet

-Linens (beds made upon arrival)

-Bath towels

-A small starter kit of toilet paper, paper towel, detergents and hand soap is also provided

-AND MORE!

**We do our best to ensure that all items are there for your visit; however we cannot guarantee condition and quantity due to guest use**



POLICIES/RULES

**Please make yourself aware of our cancellation policy. Insurance is highly recommended.

***NO SMOKING & NO PETS allowed at this property.

**Maximum Occupancy: 12 Occupants - Children must be counted within the maximum occupancy unless they are under the age of two (2) and are sleeping in a crib.

**Tenant Requirements: Tenant stated on the Agreement/Booking must be at least twenty-five (25) years of age, and acknowledge that they will occupy the Property during the entire tenancy.***

* Manager and owner of the rental property are not responsible for citations received while staying at the property.

* Be respectful of the house and contents - it is someone's home. Respect the neighbors and neighborhood.

* No events or parties- If determined that a party/event is taking place at property, management has the right to evict tenants and guests with no refund given.

* If determined that a party took place on any of the nights reserved, reservation guest will be charged $500, no exceptions!

* No uninvited guests without permission


***Each reservation includes applicable taxes, a cleaning fee, and a Limited Damage Waiver Fee***


PLEASURE ISLAND ACTIVITIES:

- Carolina Beach and Kure Beach Pier - Fishing, Restaurants, and more

- Paddle Boarding and Biking with "Paddle NC" or "Pleasure Island Rentals"

- Surfing - Go to Surf School for the week with Tony Silvagni

- Marina/Boating - Boat Tours with “Endless Summer Day Tours” or “Sea Legs Pedal Pub”

- Hiking at Carolina Beach State Park

- 4 Wheel Drive-on Beaches at Fort Fisher and Freeman Park in CB

-Sunday nights there are FREE MOVIES playing at the lake (in the summer)

- Fireworks - Every Thursday night during the summer at the Carolina Beach boardwalk

- Music - FREE live music at the Carolina Beach boardwalk every Thursday night during the summer months (or seasonal concerts and events at local bars and restaurants)

- The Carolina Beach boardwalk - doesn’t just have live music and fireworks, there are also shops, arcades, festival rides, BRITT'S DONUTS, and more!

- NC Aquarium at Fort Fisher

- Fort Fisher

- Southport-Fort Fisher Ferry - Take your car to Southport for the day on the car ferry from Fort Fisher!

-Rent a golf cart from Sun Fun Rentals!

-And More! Visit http://www.pleasureislandnc.org for more info



516 Carolina Beach Ave N Carolina Beach, NC 28428

Sleeping Arrangements

Owners Suite Queen
Bedroom 2 Queen
Bedroom 3 Twin (2)
Sunroom Living Area Sofa Full
Bonus Surfer Room Twin (2), Full

Bathroom Configuration

Owner's Suite Private Bathroom: Combo Tub Shower
Hallway Bathroom: Shower
Sunroom Bathroom: Combo Tub Shower
Garage Bathroom: Shower

Property Rules

Check In: After 4pm
Check Out: Before 10am
Smoking: Not Allowed

Amenities

Ac
Air Conditioning
BBQ Grill
Balcony
Bathtub
Bbq Area
Beach
Beach Access
Beach Chairs
Beach Essentials
Beach Front
Beach Toys
Beach View
Beachfront
Bed Linens
Bed linens provided
Biking
Billiard Table
Bird Watching
Blender
Board Games
Boogie Board
Canoeing
Carbon Monoxide Detector
Charcoal Grill
Children welcome
Clothes Dryer
Coffee Maker
Cooking Basics
Crockpot
Cycling
Deck Patio Uncovered
Deepsea Fishing
Dining Room
Dining Table
Dishes And Silverware
Dishes Utensils
Dishwasher
Disinfected
Dryer
Essentials
Family Friendly
Fire Extinguisher
Fishing
Flat Screen TV
Free Wifi
Full Kitchen
Garden Or Backyard
Grill
Hair Dryer
Hair-Dryer
Heating
Hot Water
Ice Maker
Internet
Internet Access
Iron
Iron Board
Iron and Board
Kayaking
Keyless Entry
Kitchen
Kitchen Island
Laptop-Friendly
Laundry
Living Room
Lock On Bedroom Door
Marina
Microwave
Near Ocean
Ocean Front
Ocean View
Oceanside
Open Patio
Outdoor Furniture
Oven
Paddle Boarding
Parking
Patio
Patio Or Balcony
Picnic Area
Pier Fishing
Pool Table
Private Beach Access
Private-Entrance
Private-Living-Room
Pull Out Couch
Refrigerator
Roku
Room
Sailing
Self Check-In
Shopping
Smart TV
Smoke Detector
Spices
Stove
TV
Television
Toaster
Toys
Tv
WIFI
Washer
Washing Machine
Water View
Waterfront
Wide Hallway
Wifi
Wireless Internet
Accessible Height Bed
Antiquing
Aquarium
Bay
Boating
Car Not Necessary
Cleaning Disinfection
Common Surface Disinfectant Cleaned
Enhanced Cleaning Practices
Family
Fishing Bay
Fishing Surf
Games
Golf
Health Beauty Spa
Hiking
Historic
Horseback Riding
Jet Skiing
Jewelry Store
Laundromat
Linens
Museum
Museums
Parasailing
Park
Restaurant
Romantic
Scuba Or Snorkeling
Self Checkin Checkout
Shoe Store
Shopping Mall
Skiing Water
Snorkeling
Store
Surfing
Swimming
Towels
Town
University
Water Sports
Weddings
Whale Watching
Wildlife Viewing
Wind Surfing
Winery Tours
Zoo
Hospital
Outlet Shopping
Water Parks

Map

Videos

Frequently Asked Questions

Cancellation 60 days or more before your stay will receive a refund less the cancellation fee of $350. Cancellation 60 days or less before your stay will not receive a refund unless the same dates are re-booked. If that occurs you will receive a refund less the cancellation fee of $350. Additional details with regards to cancellation policies and procedures may be found in Section #15 of the Rental Agreement as provided at checkout. 
  • Outside of Airbnb rules and restrictions, all guests will have to agree to the iTrip Vacations NC Beaches Vacation Rental Agreement
  • Child / Family Friendly
  • Registered Guests must be 25 years or age or older
  • Bookings created by guests under 25 years of age will be cancelled without refund
  • Maximum Occupancy: Each property’s maximum occupancy is stated within the Agreement and located in the Property Description;  If at any given time, the maximum occupancy is exceeded, the tenant will be in material breach of the lease and grounds for expedited eviction will apply in addition to a fine.
  • No Student Groups, Weddings, or Parties
  • No more than 4x Minors per adult
  • No Smoking Permitted
  • Pets are not allowed in properties that are not Pet Friendly
  • Travel Insurance is highly recommended.

Reviews

Great Location
5/5 stars
The house was nice with plenty of room and a perfect location to the beach and restaurants. I would book again.
- Jessica
Fun Time!
5/5 stars
Miller's Whimsy is an old-style cottage that is a comfortable stay with plenty of space. The location is amazing - we were able to walk to eat, to go the boardwalk, and were mere steps from the beach. The management did a great job of ensuring we had all the information we needed and who to call if we needed their help.
- Rebecca
Miller's Whimsy Was a Hit
5/5 stars
Miller's Whimsy was perfect for our family vacation. We were quite comfortable and had plenty of room fir eating playing games, and enjoying our time together. The sunporch was a favorite place for all. If we need this much space when we visit again it will be a top contender. Thanks for the memories.
- Karen

Thank you for your review! Glad to hear Miller's was perfect and comfortable for your family. We agree, the sunporch is a great area. We would love to have you back again at any of our properties. Thanks for trippin with iTrip!

- Manager Response
Nice Thanksgiving Getaway
5/5 stars
This was a very nice way to spend our family Thanksgiving. The oceanfront access was great. We enjoyed our time here and it went by too fast. The house was comfortable and met our needs. Hoping to possibly re-visit. Thank you!
- Terry

Hello Terry! Thank you for your review! We are so glad you had an amazing holiday at Miller's Whimsy! We agree this place is in an amazing location on the beach and has everything you need for a great vacation. We hope you can make it back again too! Thanks for trippin' with iTrip!

- Manager Response
Happy Campers for sure
5/5 stars
Staying at Miller's Whimsy for our 3rd US Army reunion an absolute success. Easy access to the beach, walking to restaurants and the boardwalk was a treat. We took in Fort Fisher and the US North Carolina during our stay. The house is spacious and we enjoyed several meals at the kitchen table together. The house is wonderfully decorated and the beds comfortable. Highly recommend Miller's Whimsy to anyone looking for a unique beach experience.
- Matthew

Thanks for the review Matthew! We are so glad you were able to enjoy the prime location and local attractions of this great beach home. We agree this house is roomy and well-accommodating for a large group. We hope you can make it back again soon. Thanks for trippin' with iTrip!

- Manager Response
Enjoyable stay with private beach access
5/5 stars
Our priorities were met with this well-loved beach house: Private beach access - check! Enough bedrooms for our teenagers to have their own space - check! In close proximity to local Wilmington relatives (so we could invite them to the beach and a dinner or two) - check! Bonus features we very much enjoyed: a 6min walk on the beach from house to Boardwalk for eating, shopping, skimboard rental, arcade, live music, and Thursday fireworks; a billiard table in the basement/garage for some friendly competition; outside hose and area for rinsing off sand; and a quick drive to grocery, seafood market, and other stores. Some information that would have been helpful before our arrival/for planning purposes: the height of the garage door openings is 67" tall and the hard fin antennae of a smaller vehicle barely fit, as we had some trouble (measure the height of your vehicle ahead of time and letting air out of tires helps). Also, we ended up not needing the sleep sofa, but we did pull it out one night for consideration - and there are several springs broken at the foot that makes it slope downwards and the mattress is more like a thin pad than a mattress. Anyone planning to use this for their headcount may want to know its condition. The house is full of books and board games for lots of family fun. The updated kitchen (new to the listing we saw) was bright and clean and had lots of counter space and cabinets and a large supply of plates/utensils/bowls/platters/pots and pans - we were not in need of anything. The huge table (sat 10 people) was great for meals and games. We had a wonderful stay and appreciated the owners' responsiveness to any/all of our texts and questions throughout our stay.
- Mary

Thanks for your thoughtful review, Mary! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the private beach access, convenient location, great amenities, and the updated kitchen. We appreciate your feedback. We would love to have you back. Thanks for trippin' with iTrip!

- Manager Response
4th of july week
5/5 stars
This house is absolutely perfect! It has been updated from the pictures you see. This house has tons of room and everything you need and is very comfy and convenient! I hope we get to stay here again soon, we will miss this! Best vacation I've had in so long! No complaints here!
- Nicole

Thank you for your review, Nicole! I am glad you enjoyed the updates in the home and that you felt comfortable. We would love to have you back. Thank you for choosing iTrip for your vacation!

- Manager Response
Charming beach house!
5/5 stars
Our kids and gr’kids had a great time here, right on the beach and so close to everything in Carolina Beach! Several times during the week, we mentioned how glad we were in a house all to ourselves and not one of the “cookie-cutter” condos around us. The house was a lot more personal and accommodating than any hotel room and we had plenty of space (both floors) inside and outside on the spacious deck. Even the bit of rain didn’t dampen our spirits as we enjoyed playing some of the games stacked up on the library bookshelves. We also had fun with the pool table downstairs. The kitchen had everything we needed and lots of room for several of us to be in there at the same time. We kept the sand outside by utilizing the shower head and hose before re-entering the house. That was greatly appreciated! The 4 bedrooms and bathrooms gave everyone their own private space as needed, and the sunroom and deck outside provided even more space to spread out. The owners were easy to contact and stayed in touch in case we had any issues (we didn’t). Overall, we would definitely book Miller’s Whimsy upon a return trip to Carolina Beach!
- Sandy

Hello Sandy, we appreciate your review! We are so glad you enjoyed this private beach house with many great amenities like the pool table, games, outdoor shower, amazing decks, and more! We are so glad you had a great stay with no issues and that we could provide great customer support. We would love to have you back soon. Thanks for trippin' with iTrip!

- Manager Response
Rainy Beach Week
5/5 stars
The property that we stayed at was great. It was right on the beach and near everything. We spent the first day on the beach. Then the rain settled in for the rest of our stay.
- Tony

Thanks for your review Tony! We agree this house is a great beachfront home. We are glad you got to enjoy the beach, even from the house when it was raining. Would love to have you back. Thanks for trippin' with iTrip!

- Manager Response
Miller’s whimsy
5/5 stars
Had a great guys fishing and golf week staying g at Miller’s Whimsy. The location was perfect, right on the beach for easy access and yet still walking distance to all the restaurants. T gf e Ed d as pace was everything we needed. Thanks
- Kyle

Thanks for the review of your stay at Miller's Whimsy! We're glad to hear that your guys trip was a success, and that you enjoyed the location and beach access. We appreciate you choosing iTrip Vacations and hope to have you visit again for your next trip!

- Manager Response
Great Trip
5/5 stars
We had a great trip. The home was exactly what we needed. No frills, ocean front home in a perfect location. If you are looking for a great family house with space, it definitely meets the needs.
- Tim

Thank you for the review, Tim! It's wonderful to hear that Miller's Whimsy had everything you needed for a fun trip. We appreciate you choosing iTrip Vacations NC Beaches and hope you will consider us again for future visits!

- Manager Response
Lovely home away from home
5/5 stars
Fully stocked, wonderfully cozy, beach access can't be beat. This house is so nice that we've booked it twice!
- Kaitlin

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Miller's Whimsy. Thank you for the the 5-star rating, Kaitlin! Its great to know that the property was equipped with everything you needed throughout your stay and that you loved it enough to book it twice. We're also glad that you were comfortable and that the close beach access made for an enjoyable time. Thank you for choosing iTrip for another stay, we can't wait to have you back next time!

- Manager Response
Perfection
5/5 stars
This was a lovely home for my extended family (11 total people). The adults slept upstairs and the kids, downstairs. The kids loved having their own space! We adored the home’s unique decor. It didn’t feel like the typical cut and paste VRBO property. There were plenty of dishes and appliances to make any meal. There was also an amazing stash of toys and beach equipment in the garage. The hosts replied quickly to any questions or issues we had. The best part was that the hosts found and reserved a beach wheelchair for my mother who has MS. We will definitely stay again!!!
- Laura

It is so nice that you and your family had a fun time at Miller's Whimsy, Laura. Thank you for leaving us your feedback. We're glad that the spaciousness, appliances, and communication with our team made for an enjoyable stay, and we're so glad your mother was able to spend time on the beach. We look forward to having you back for another trip soon!

- Manager Response
comfy and roomy
5/5 stars
if you want a slick, modern decore kind of setting, this place is not for you. But if you enjoy a comfy, spacious and clearly family beach house, this one fits the bill. The kitchen is the best supplied of any we have ever stayed in. The large dining room table allowed us all to gather together for supper each evening and linger for conversation in comfort. There is a library of books, dvds, a box of kids toys, puzzles and games upstairs and lots of beach gear downstairs, We could get all the vehicles in the garage and parking under the house. One thing that worked well for us is that the downstairs is seperated from the upstairs and allowed us grandparents to retire with the youngest grandkids downstairs while the older kids and our adult children could visit upstairs. The downstairs bedrooms are not as well decorated as the upstairs and the bathroom is not close to the bedrooms. But the price is good and the beach is just out the door. We had a great vacation visit there.
- Michael

Thanks for the 5-star review, Michael! We are glad that you enjoyed the home and that the kitchen, spaciousness, and location all made for a nice family vacation. It's great that guests of all ages had a fun time, and that you had a nice visit overall. We appreciate you choosing iTrip and hope to have you back again soon!

- Manager Response
Family gathering
4/5 stars
First let me say, the location desires 5 stars because location means a lot! To be steps away from the beach was great. However because of a few things I can't give 5 stars. The parking for 4 vehicles worked out great. Two cars in the garage and two outside, one point. The house was great upstairs! Thank you for the note about the oven's function issues, we never used it. Nevertheless the space was enough for all of us but downstairs didn't work for our family at all. Nor was it like it appeared in the pictures that were posted online. The deck was a great spot to sit and eat or just relax. But the boardwalk leading to the beach is in need of a lot of love and attention. Fortunately after being given instructions our little ones did good walking on it. Also, the landscaping around the house along the sidewalks and the steps leading up to the front door over hangs the walk-way, which we had to duck and dodge when using them. The family/company contact and keeping us updated on everything including the space being available an hour early for check-in meant a lot and was great. Would I stay here again...I would. Being a family that knows how to adjust and adapt we made it work and had a wonderful time making memories.
- Renee

Renee, thank you for the feedback of your stay at Miller's Whimsy! We're glad to hear that the location, parking, and upstairs area all made for a nice time. We are sorry to hear about the few concerns that you had, and we are taking the necessary steps to ensure they are addressed quickly. As a small family business, your suggestions are very important to us, so thank you for choosing iTrip to book your getaway. We would love to have you back for another trip to the beach sometime in the future!

- Manager Response
Whimsey
5/5 stars
Great place. Definitely would stay again.
- Sarah

Thank you for the review, Sarah! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you back sometime soon!

- Manager Response
Perfect Getaway
5/5 stars
We (10 ladies) had a perfect Girls Weekend Getaway. Miller's Whimsy was a great home to accommodate our large group of ladies. The kitchen is stocked with plenty of anything you would need. The living and dining room is large enough for all of our group. The Sunroom was our favorite especially the first full day as the weather didn't cooperate for a day on the beach. We got to the enjoy the great view. The private boardwalk was a short walk to the beach where we spent most of our daytime hours. The "Surfer Room" downstairs was almost like a separate apartment and having an extra refrigerator, mini refrigerator and a bathroom down there was an added bonus. Our biggest issue on our trips is finding a place that has extra parking since we come from many different locations. We had ample parking for 4 cars but we did read all the parking instructions before hand so knew that SUV's would not fit in the garage (low profile cars only) and planned the vehicle situation accordingly and it all worked out great. It is an older home but that wasn't an issue for us at all. A bit better deck chairs is the only thing that was missing. We will be back. Thank you for sharing your home with us.
- Jeannine

Thank you so much for your kind words and in-depth feedback of your stay at 'Miller's Whimsy'! We are so glad that you chose iTrip for your girls trip, and that the appliances, spaciousness, views, and location all contributed to a fun time. We are happy to hear that you could fit all of your cars, and we hope you will stay with us again for future vacations! Thanks for trippin' with iTrip!

- Manager Response
Great location and property
5/5 stars
We have stayed at Carolina Beach many times and this is a wonderful location. Far enough from Boardwalk to not have noise/issues but within 5 minute walking distance to enjoy conveniently. Having your own beach access and going out on the beach with open beach in front of your property is priceless. Plenty of space for large groups. Lots of beach toys and chairs, which is nice. Our kids loved the games as well. Many TVs for everyone to watch individual shows/movies on rainy days throughout the house. Also, 4 full bathrooms to choose from means no one is waiting to get ready. Love the sunrooms! Had a wonderful stay! I Trip offered lots of communication and was readily available if needed. Highly recommend.
- Joy

We are so glad to hear about your experience at 'Miller's Whimsy'! Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We love that you were able to enjoy the property and that the location, spaciousness, and appliances were perfect for your stay! We appreciate you booking your vacation with us, and hope to have you visit again soon!

- Manager Response
Great stay!
5/5 stars
We had a great stay at Miller's Whimsy! The home was lovely and we enjoyed the decor and layout. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend.
- Shirley
Carolina Beach 2021
5/5 stars
Our stay was great! ITrip people we’re very accommodating and helpful. The rental property was clean and starting supplies were very helpful. The house was how old & in need of some repairs and updates. But, we had a group of men and it supplied our needs and the price was good.
- Gene

Thank you for the 5-star review, Gene! We're happy to hear that our team was helpful, and that the property was well-equipped for your stay. We greatly appreciate your honest feedback, and will make note of your suggestions. Thank you for choosing our small family business for your guy's trip, we'd love to have you come stay with us again soon!

- Manager Response
Lovely Vacation
5/5 stars
We had a wonderful time this weekend at Millers Whimsy! The check in was painless. There were plenty of linens and we really enjoyed the board games and beach chairs and toys! Its within walking distance from lots of food and we found a place that had the best fudge!! We will be back again! Thank you!!
- Wendy

Wendy, I am so happy you had a wonderful time. It's great to know you enjoyed the smooth check-in, beach gear, and convenient location. We can't wait for you to return. Thanks for trippin with iTrip!

- Manager Response
Girls trip
5/5 stars
We had a wonderful time, loved how close the beach we were, plenty of room for the four of us, very relaxing with perfect weather
- Beverly

Thank you for your review Beverly. I am glad you enjoyed being close to the beach, had a wonderful time, and were able to relax. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future. Thanks for trippin with iTrip!

- Manager Response
Vacation
5/5 stars
Went to Miller’s Whimsey for the second time. House is older and needs updating but it is comfortable and has everything you need. It’s right on the beach and close to the pavilion. The staff at itrip was efficient and very quick to respond to our needs. I would recommend this place and will probably go again.
- Ginger

Ginger, thank you for your review of Miller's Whimsy. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your return and found the house to be comfortable and us to be responsive. As a local family business, we take strive to provide the best customer service possible so you can have the most relaxing stay possible. We would love to have you back again soon. Thanks for trippin with iTrip!

- Manager Response
Miller's Whimsy Family Vacation
5/5 stars
My family and I stayed at Miller's Whimsy August 13-August 20th. It is listed as a no frills rental, but it is a charming, wonderful house with all of the amenities any other "higher end" more expensive rental would be. Perfect for extended family would need lots of space. It is right on the beach, has a very well stocked kitchen in terms of pots and pans, although I do suggest they get a large frying pan or griddle pan. It would be more convenient than having to make pancakes, bacon. grilled cheeses etc. The washer and dryer are a great amenity. I brought my laundry basket with me, but it would be nice if they had one for their guests to use. The house is jam packed with beach toys and chairs and they have 3 bikes for the guests to use. The hose is .3 miles from all of the restaurants and rides for the younger kids. The greatest part about this trip, aside from being with my children and my nephew was the amazing staff at iTrip. They helped us through everything. From the very easy check-in process, to suggesting local restaurants to dine at and fun activities for the kids. I sent Madison, (my main contact) several texts with questions about the house and she always got back to me immediately. The house was immaculate when we arrived and we tried our best to leave it in the same condition. It is a 12 hour drive from NJ, but well worth it. As a single mom of 4 saving for a vacation isn't easy. This home met our financial restraints while still providing a 5 star vacation. We will be back next year for sure! Thank you to Madison and the iTrip team. If you want to book a vacation, please support them. They are a local business and they are amazing. With other vacation rental sites you do not receive the care and one on one attention iTrip provides you. Thank you iTrip!!!
- Laura

Laura, we truly appreciate your review. We are pleased you enjoyed being right on the beach, charming property, and found us to be attentive. We are a small, local, family business, and we take pride in our communication skills and responsiveness to ensure you have the best stay possible. It's wonderful this house was able to suit your family and your needs and we cant wait to have you back. Thanks for trippin with iTrip!

- Manager Response
Great Stay
5/5 stars
This is a great house. It has a ton of space, as many bathrooms as bedrooms, and is very comfortable. Having both the front sunroom and the back porch provide a lot of more private relaxation areas. The private beach access is superb.
- Thomas

Thomas, thank you for your review. It is wonderful you enjoyed the private beach access, spaciousness, and comfort of the house. We hope to have you back again. Thanks for trippin with iTrip!

- Manager Response
Family Vacation!
5/5 stars
We loved our stay. It was just like being at home! We will visit again :-)
- JoAutumn
Miller's Whimsey
5/5 stars
This our second stay @ this ocean front property. It is a quirky, but clean, comfortable older home with adequate space for all. Literally steps from the beach. My family and I had all of our meals there; nicely stocked kitchen. Walking distance to a great seafood shop. If you want to relax, enjoy the ocean views and swim in the beautiful waters of Carolina beach whenever you wish, this is the place to stay.
- Diana

Diana, I am so glad you had a wonderful return to Miller's Whimsy. It's great to know you enjoyed being so close to the beach, stocked kitchen, and incredible views. We hope to have you return again. Thanks for trippin with iTrip!

- Manager Response
Perfect Vacation
5/5 stars
This was the perfect place for our family of 9. Relaxing and convenient location. More than enough room for everyone to stretch out. Clean and comfortable. Close to everything with a short walk ro the boardwalk area. Just a few steps off the deck to a private walkway to the beach. I hope to return next year. Also my 13 year old Autistic son loved it. It was a quiet neighborhood and the house was big enough for him to have his own space when needed.
- Jennifer
Loved Miller’s Whimsy!
5/5 stars
My mom (from St. Louis) has long wanted to get her toes in the sand and we were thrilled to be able to coordinate a visit with us in NC to Carolina Beach. We were especially thrilled with the ease of beach access at this property. Couldn’t have asked for more.
- Becky
Dream beach house in Carolina
5/5 stars
Fantastic, charming beach house all to ourselves right on Carolina Beach. We loved it! Plenty of rooms, bathrooms and great kitchen area for all of our 9 adults and one 9 month old granddaughter.
- Brent

Brent, we are so glad you enjoyed your trip! It great to hear the house suited your group with enough rooms and amenities. We hope to have you book with us again in the future. Thanks for trippin with iTrip!

- Manager Response
Whimsy Days
5/5 stars
I couldn't be more pleased with location and the main (upper) portion of the house. It was very well suited for our family of four adults and two children. Itrip provided a clean house with fresh linens upon our arrival. Beach was fantastic! It should be noted the parking capacity was limited to three cars not the advertised four. Also, steps became very slippery after a brief rain shower. My twenty-two year old son took a tumble down the front steps. Luckily, he was not seriously injured.
- Craig
Nice Cottage on the Ocean
5/5 stars
My Friend's and I really enjoyed are time at Miller's Whimsy. The cottage is uniquely decorated. every day we would notice something different around the house. The kitchen is huge with plenty of counter space. It is a nice location with direct access to the beach. There is also a big deck and a nice sun room.
- Nadine

Thank you Nadine! Your 5 Star Review at Millers Whimsy was received. iTrip NC Beaches enjoyed having you and we are delighted to hear the cottage worked well. Thank you!

- Manager Response
Beach Retreat
5/5 stars
House was amazing, so cozy and comfortable!
- David

David, thank you for your review. We are glad you felt the house was amazing, cozy and comfortable. We would love to have you back again at any of the properties we manage. Thank you for tripping with iTrip!

- Manager Response
Beach house
5/5 stars
We throughly enjoyed our stay at Miller’s Whimsy! The location was perfect and we all had a wonderful time. We walked 12 miles while there, at the beach & to eat & the boardwalk. We went to see each sunrise! Enjoyed the back deck for the morning & moon rise. Thank you for allowing us to come. Sincerely, Karen Stoltz
- Karen

Hello, Karen! Thank you for your review of Miller's Whimsy. We are delighted you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and found the location to be perfect, being able to walk around everywhere from the beach to restaurants to the boardwalk. Also, watching sunrises and moonrises on the deck sounds heavenly! We hope to have you back. Thanks for tripping with iTrip!

- Manager Response
Great Place!
5/5 stars
This house was as advertised. We loved the fact it was a one family house and not a condo. The people was great to deal with and stayed in contact with me about everything. Would recommend this to any family looking for a beach vacation!
- Joseph

Hello, Joseph! Thank you for your review of Miller's Whimsy. We are delighted that you loved the house and that we could be here for anything you needed. As a small, local family-owned business, we take pride in our communication skills. We hope to have you back. Thanks for tripping with iTrip!

- Manager Response
Very nice vacation!
5/5 stars
We LOVED our stay at this cute, oceanfront beach house! We loved that we were steps away from the ocean. The house was the perfect size for our family and was well stocked, comfortable and welcoming. We would definitely stay here again and would use this agency again as well! Such a refreshing stay! I love how the itrips agent checked in with us before and throughout our stay to make sure we were happy!
- The Rowley family

Hello, Rowley family! Thank you for your review of Miller's Whimsy. We are so delighted you loved your stay and felt it was comfortable/the perfect size for you all. Being steps away from the beach is a plus too! It was our pleasure working with you! As a small, local family business, we take pride in our communication skills. We would love to have you back again. Thanks for tripping with iTrip!

- Manager Response
Great for the price, but be aware of age of the home and issues that stem from that
4/5 stars
Oceanfront and mostly good. The basement ceiling is very low and you may not get your car in there as a result. 2 parking spaces on the ocean side are no longer usable. Basement bedroom and bath are at the level of sleazy motel. Appliances are very old, as is the decor and most of the furnishings and bathrooms. It was cute for a beach house, but will not be to everyone's taste. Study the images and imagine it as slightly worse. The A/C worked, as did the bathrooms, so I have no real complaints. A 5 star house it is not, however I would give it a solid 3.5 and will round up. For a budget oceanfront rental, it worked for us.
- Andrew

Andrew, thank you for your review of Miller's Whimsy. We appreciate your honest feedback on your stay. Despite the issues you experienced, we are happy you enjoyed the location right at the ocean and found it to be good for your budget. This home has that quaint older charm! We mention in the description of the home that it has been in the family for decades and ask you to "take a trip back in time when things were simple." We apologize the amenities and decor kept you from fully enjoying your stay, but we do hope you book with us again. We manage other properties you may be interested in for next time. Thanks for tripping with iTrip!

- Manager Response
Had a great time
5/5 stars
My family had so much fun while staying at Miller's Whimsey. Had everything we needed with nice access to the beach. Will definitely be staying here again.
- Cristena

Hello, Cristena! We are glad you and your family had a fun time during your stay at Miller's Whimsy with everything you needed. We would love to have you back anytime. Thanks for tripping with iTrip!

- Manager Response
Great beach house
5/5 stars
I booked this house for my girlfriend and her family. This house is amazing with plenty of room for all our guests and visitors. It has a large, well equipped kitchen and spacious living room with a sun room overlooking the ocean. It has 3 large bedrooms and 3 baths on the main floor. In the garage there is almost a separate apartment with 3 beds, a bathroom, a microwave and a small refrigerator. This was great for her oldest son and his significant other. The house is in a great locations within walking distance of stores and the boardwalk. The garage is full of toys and games as well as bikes for use by guests. The house was incredibly clean yet nicely decorated. I would highly recommend this house for any large family yet it's inexpensive price could allow for just a romantic weekend for two. Thank you for sharing your amazing house with us.
- Eric

Hello, Eric! Thank you for your 5 star review of Miller's Whimsy. We're so delighted you, your girlfriend and family had an amazing stay with everything you needed. We would love to have you back again anytime. Thanks for tripping with iTrip!

- Manager Response
Perfect place for our short family getaway!
5/5 stars
Miller’s Whimsy was the perfect place for our short family getaway! We have four young, energetic boys, and this place provided enough room and entertainment for all of us. The boys loved the games and using the skim/body boards. The downstairs room provided privacy and quiet for our live-in student. Having private beach walking access, functional kitchen and washer/dryer was a real plus. Thank you for making our stay fun and relaxing. We will be back!
- Melissa

iTrip is so glad you and your family enjoyed their stay at Miller's Whimsy! We agree it is the perfect getaway with all the essentials and amenities you need to have a great vacation. We will be looking forward to having you again!

- Manager Response
Great home for family vacation
4/5 stars
Miller’s Whimsy was a wonderful home for our family vacation! The location was perfect! We had 6 adults and six kids and the home accommodated all of us. They have lots of books, movies, games and even some toys for kids. The deck definitely needs some work. There were lots of nails sticking up and uneven boards on the boardwalk. I would recommend this house and definitely stay again!
- Bethany

Miller's Whimsy is a great home! Thank you for visiting and we look forward to having you back again. Thank you! iTrip vacations NC Beaches enjoyed having you as well.

- Manager Response
Fee Fo Review
5/5 stars
Great location and house was exactly as described. The rental management team provided excellent instructions in their communication!
- Linda
Loved our family vacation and stay at Miller's Whimsey!!!!
5/5 stars
Wonderful home,location and perfect for our family. The management was very helpful and accommodating!! We will certainly be back!!!
- Lisa

We are very pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed their stay. We will be looking forward to having you back again.

- Manager Response
A great time at Miller's Whimsy
5/5 stars
My family and I rented Miller's Whimsy for my son's graduation from UNCW. We had the best time! A comfortable home that is well equipped with all of the necessities, lended itself to be a relaxing experience. Though wi-fi would have been nice, it wasn't all too missed. We were a little shaky about the deck and stairs. The stability and the rough wood (splinters) were questionable. There is no line of sight pulling out of the drive onto the road which was a little frightening. Nevertheless it was a great time.
- Kathy

Congratulations on your graduation! We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Miller's Whimsy. There are some planned renovations for this property and we appreciate your feedback. Thank you so much.

- Manager Response
Good home i na great location for the $$, could use some updating...
4/5 stars
Miller's Whimsy is a great spot for a big family, or in our case, 2 families staying for Thanksgiving. Plenty of room and bathrooms for everyone. We got a lot of use out of the sunroom and rear deck that have great views.Our older boys liked staying the the Surfer's Room downstairs, but their bathroom was a little lacking. The house could use some updating all-around. Only 3/4 burners work on the stove top, and the ice maker was only semi-functional. Not deal-breakers, but they could be improved. It could REALLY could use some wifi. Everyone is so connected these days, most of us have to still do some online work even on vacation. We knew ahead and had a hot spot that worked OK, but phone service was a little limited at the house. (AT&T and Sprint in our case) Still, for the money and the location, Miller's Whimsy is hard to beat for a stay at Carolina Beach.
- Christopher

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate your feedback and are working on the improvements. As you mentioned, we priced the house accordingly and we are glad to hear you agree. We enjoyed having you and hope to see you all back real soon.

- Manager Response
Great spot for beach goers
5/5 stars
This property has plenty of space to park 4 cars and 2 full size trucks, which is more than most properties in this area. The inside of the house was older, but just what we expected. There was plenty of bedroom space, and the kitchen and dining room is sufficient for 6-8 people. We didn't use the stove or other appliances, so my only appliance review would be of the fridge, which worked fine. My group mainly booked this house because it was beachfront, and we would be fishing or in the water most of the day. The only time we spent an extended amount of time in the house was to shower and get ready to go out to eat or a local bar/restaurant. I would definitely rent this house again because of the price and location that you can walk or bike to just about everything you need.
- Mateo

We are delighted that you enjoyed your vacation and the accommodations. Thanks for the review, we couldn't have said it better, plenty of parking, great location and on the beach. Millers Whimsy is a popular traditional beach house that takes you back in time

- Manager Response
Miller's Whimsy
3/5 stars
The house is great for the money. We booked at the last minute and we were happy to have an ocean front house. No Wifi is a problem with teenagers and the appliances need updated. Also the house sits so low you really don't have a view of the beach.
- Mark
Millers Whimsy
4/5 stars
While as stated in others reviews, the appliances could stand some updating, but they do work and serve their purpose. This is a older home with the charms and features you would expect in a home of it's age. We had a group of 10 with ages from 7 months to 75, and all had a wonderful time! This home makes you feel like a long time resident, not just a vacationer. The location was just Awsome!!! You couldn't ask to be closer to the ocean, and the view from the back deck while drinking your morning cofee is spectacular! Only complaint most of the group had was the lack of Wi-Fi. One member of the group serves in the armed forces, and stated he was living in a tent for months in Afganistan, and had Wi-Fi. Everyone burned through their Data before the week was up. I think owner should really consider having internet installed. The internet would be the only thing that would stop us from booking this property for future vacations.
- John
Wimsy
4/5 stars
We had a relaxing stay. Enjoyed the private access to beach. Lots of room for all family members. Great deal for price. A few minor glitches with appliances but they were very accommodating to fix everything
- Mike & Kathie

We are very happy to hear that you had a relaxing vacation. Thank you for the feedback and we hope to have you back very soon. Safe travels home!

- Manager Response

Book Your Stay

Select your trip dates.
Contact Manager