Oceanfront, BHI Club Membership, Ocean & Forest Views, Walk to the Marina & Restaurants, Pets OK

Doc House
$286.95 - $626.95 / night   in Bald Head Island  
3 Bedrooms 3.5 Bathrooms Sleeps 6

This home was custom built by a couple who selected the property for not only the unparalleled views, but it's one of the most convenient locations on the Island. You will be able to easily walk to the harbor restaurants, Old Baldy Lighthouse, coffee café’s, ice cream shops, rentals for carts, bicycles, kayaks, post office, wedding venues, and the marina. The Doc House, a waterfront property, with spectacular spectacular 360 views overlooking the Bald Head Shoals, Southport Channel; the Atlantic Ocean, the Maritime Forest and the marsh from inside the home and any one of the 3 large decks. Enjoy your own PRIVATE BEACH BOARDWALK with amazing sunset views. This home also has BHI club membership with temporary social memberships available for purchase (pool and restaurant, NO golf)


PROPERTY INFO

Address: 13 Green Teal Trail, Bald Head Island, NC 28461

Home: 3 BR / 3.5 BA / Sleeps 6 / 3 Beds / 1,800 sq ft.


SLEEPING ARRANGEMENTS:

*Bedroom 1 Master: Queen Size Bed

*Bedroom 2: Queen Size Bed

*Bedroom 3: Queen Size bed

*King (0), Queen size Beds (3), Twin Beds (0)

*Beds are all made with clean linens upon your arrival


TO VIRTUALLY WALK THROUGH THE PROPERTY CLICK HERE: https://my.matterport.com/show/?m=rfJaFyTbFTr


PROPERTY LAYOUT: When you get to the property there is a “garage” underneath the house that has the golf cart, beach chairs, and grill. Walk up the steps to the first floor and bedroom 2 will be the first bedroom when you walk in. Next room is a full bathroom. When you go down the hall to the right there is a hang out room with a TV and a bean bag chair. The next room is bedroom 3, go down the hallway to the left and the master is at the end with a full bathroom. Bedroom 1 and 3 and the room with the bean bag all have doors leading to a huge deck. The steps to upstairs on to the left when you first walk in the door. When you get to the top there will be a living room, turn left there is a huge deck with amazing views and keep going there is a dining room and fully equipped kitchen. There is also a spiral staircase on the side of the house for an additional deck and view on each floor. You can see all this and more in the virtual walkthrough.


PROPERTY HIGHLIGHTS

-6 person golf cart!

-Outdoor shower!

-DOG FRIENDLY ($200 dog fee)

-Saturday to Saturday during peak season and 3 night minimum during the off season. 4 night minimum on holidays

-Wonderful OCEAN VIEW with over 60 windows, many are full length!

-3 Large Decks

-Private walkway to the beach

-Access to purchase temporary membership to BHI Club social membership with pool and restaurant (no golf) (fees do apply)

-Linens and bathroom towels are INCLUDED


Amenities:

-One 6 person golf cart

-Beach chairs

-3 bikes

-Blender

-Coffee Maker

-Toaster

-Linens (beds are made upon arrival)

-Towels

-Cable and WiFi

-Washer/Dryer

-A small starter kit of toilet paper, paper towel, detergents and hand soap is also provided

-and MORE!


****PLEASE NOTE: if you are booking on Airbnb: Airbnb puts the Admin Fee, Limited Damage Waiver Fee, and Cleaning & Linen Fee all together and calls it the CLEANING FEE. That's why the cleaning fee appears to be high but it is not that high. We hope this helps. Thank you and feel free to contact us, we are a local management firm, with any additional questions - iTrip Vacations NC Beaches - ****


POLICIES/RULES

***Ferry tickets and parking fees are not included and reservations are needed in advance. Please check BHI Ferry website for pricing and reservation information.

***NO SMOKING allowed at this property.

**This is a DOG FRIENDLY HOME: A non-refundable Pet fee of $200 will be added to your rental if you choose to bring your dog. And for 2 Dogs the Pet Fee is $250.

**Maximum Occupancy: 6 Occupants - Children must be counted within the maximum occupancy unless they are under the age of two (2) and are sleeping in a crib.

**Tenant Requirements: Tenant stated on the Agreement/Booking must be at least twenty-five (25) years of age, and acknowledge that they will occupy the Property during the entire tenancy.***

* Manager and owner of the rental property are not responsible for citations received while staying at the property.

* Be respectful of the house and contents - it is someone's home. Respect the neighbors and neighborhood.

* No events or parties- If determined that a party/event is taking place at property, management has the right to evict tenants and guests with no refund given.

* If determined that a party took place on any of the nights reserved, reservation guest will be charged $500, no exceptions!

* No uninvited guests without permission


***Each reservation includes applicable taxes, a cleaning fee, and a Limited Damage Waiver Fee***


Bald Head Island Info:

Bald Head Island is a private island where you can only get to by boat or ferry. This is a golf cart only island. You will leave your vehicle behind and cruise on the golf cart provided at the home. The island is approximately 5 by 2 miles. You can bike around the island in only an hour or two! Bald Head Island is home to the oldest Lighthouses in North Carolina. There are many nature hikes, wildlife watches, beach accesses, shops, restaurants, and activities.

BHI Activities:

-Rent a bike at Coastal Urge or Riverside Adventure Company.

-Rent a stand up paddle board or kite board from Coastal Urge as well!

-Climb Old Baldy Lighthouse by visiting the Smith Island Museum.

-Go on a historic island tour from the Old Baldy Foundation.

-Take a ghost walk, sail, surf, or kayak with the Sail Shop.

-Take a hike on the M. Kent Mitchell Nature Trail.

-For a guided hike, guided kayak, or guided canoe trip visit the Bald Head Island Conservancy.

-Visit the Island Retreat Spa and Salon for all your relaxation needs.

-Island camps for kids such as nature walks, fishing, bird watching, and mo

13 Green Teal Trail Bald Head Island, NC 28461
Info
Property Type: Home Beds: 3 Accommodates: 6 Check In: : 3pm Bedrooms: 3 Check Out: : 10am Bathrooms: 3.5 Pet Friendly: Yes
Amenities
Air Conditioning BHI Club Balcony Beach Beach Access Beach Front Bikes Biking Bird Watching Boating Canoeing Carbon Monoxide Detector Charcoal Grill Clothes Dryer Coffee Maker Covered Patio Cycling DVD Deepsea Fishing Dishwasher Dog Friendly Family Friendly Fishing Full Kitchen Hair Dryer Harbor Ice Maker Internet Internet Access Iron and Board Kayaking Kitchen Laundry Marina Microwave Ocean Front Ocean View Oceanside Open Patio Outdoor Furniture Outdoor Shower Paddle Boarding Patio Pets Considered Private Beach Access Refrigerator Sailing Satellite TV Satellite or Cable Shopping Smoke Detector Surf Fishing Surfing Swimming TV WIFI Washing Machine Water View Wildlife Preservation Wind-Surfing beach beach chairs
Check the FAQ
Calendar
Unavailable Days
Select your trip dates.
Arrival
Departure
Guests  
Contact Manager

Toll Free (888) 457-1830
Photos
Map
Videos
Reviews - 4.7 stars based on 20 reviews
         
Doc House
5/5 stars
My family recently had the opportunity to stay at the "Doc House" on Bald Head Island. It was a wonderful experience for everyone. The view from the living room/ kitchen were breathtaking. Even though we had rain a few days, watching the ships and barges go up and down the waterway was a treat to behold. We also were fortunate to spot some dolphins feeding very close to shore!
Reviewed on Mar 10, 2020 by Sherry, New Bern, NC   Report

I'm so glad you had a wonderful experience at Doc House! I agree that the views are definitely breathtaking. I love when the dolphins come out! We would love to have you back again. Contact us to help you book your next vacation. Thanks for tripping with iTrip! -iTrip Vacations NC Beaches

Manager Response
         
Doc House
5/5 stars
Great Airbnb home in great location on Bald Head Island. Beautiful views. Very comfortable and well-appointed.
Reviewed on Jan 4, 2020 by Elaine, Durham NC   Report

Thank you Elaine for your Five Star Review of the Doc House. The views are amazing at the Doc House. iTrip NC Beaches is glad to hear you enjoyed your time there. iTrip enjoyed having you. We look forward to having you back.

Manager Response
         
Doc House
5/5 stars
We had a wonderful Veteran’s Day weekend at the Doc House on Bald Head Island. It was our first time at this location and we couldn’t have enjoyed it more. The house was very inviting. It had everything you could possibly want or need and then some. The view of the Cape Fear from the living room was awesome! From biking, hiking and exploring, you can’t go wrong if you stay at this house!
Reviewed on Nov 12, 2019 by Sandra, Jackson Springs, NC   Report

Thank you for your 5 Star Review of the DOC HOUSE at Bald Head Island. iTrip is delighted to hear of your wonderful vacation during Veteran's Day Weekend. We are so delighted to hear you enjoyed all the amenities that BHI has to offer. Looking forward to having you back. Safe travels home.

Manager Response
         
Doc House
5/5 stars
Great people to work with!
Reviewed on Sep 17, 2019 by Cotton, Georgetown, SC   Report

Thank you Cotton for your 5 Star Review of the Doc House and iTrip. We enjoyed having you and we are excited to hear that we met your expectations. We look forward to having you back again soon. Thank you!

Manager Response
         
Doc House
5/5 stars
As we write this review, Hurricane Dorian is approaching the island with a devastating tidal surge and heavy wind. We wish all the residents the best during this difficult time. Our review is to let others know that when we were notified of the mandatory evacuations at the start of our holiday, our reservations team was very understanding and on top of our rebooking. The communication between staff was and continues to be prompt and well exceeding our expectations. While this review was to cover our stay, we hope the unthinkable will not happen to you. If it does, we believe you will be in great hands.
Reviewed on Sep 5, 2019 by Glenn, Castle Hayne, NC   Report

Thank you Glenn! iTrip is glad to hear we met your expectations and we look forward to having you at the Doc House.

Manager Response
         
Doc House
5/5 stars
We are even happier to have returned to the DocHouse to spend a week on Bald Head Island in this home with such comfort and spectacular views. The owners have made major steps to further improve the experience and the beach is even better than before (higher). The upper floor temperature can now be assured, even in the hottest part of the year to be comfortable. The AC works well. The tenant will have to lower the outer shades in the upper rooms during the afternoon. There is a new and very quiet dishwasher. The new stove is a great improvement. Additional and very comfortable furniture in both the upper room and the TV room downstairs gave us an opportunity to live with and still separate from the kids. And now there is a 6 passenger cart that is a pleasure and new terrific beach chairs. The manager has left a kayak for our recreation. If there were 6 stars available, I would score the experience that way. Brian H.
Reviewed on Jul 23, 2019 by Brian, Golden, CO   Report

Thank you Brian for your 5 Star Review! iTrip NC Beaches is delighted to hear that your vacation at the Doc House on Bald Head Island was enjoyable. To the spectacular views to the all the improvements, we are so glad to hear that you were pleased. We enjoyed having you and look forward to having you back. Thank you!

Manager Response
         
Doc House
5/5 stars
This house has one of the best locations on the island.
Reviewed on Jul 18, 2019 by Gere, St Louis, MO   Report

Thank you Gere. iTrip NC Beaches is glad to hear you enjoyed the Doc House. It is a great home on Bald Head Island and we look forward to having you back again soon. Thank you! It was a pleasure having you.

Manager Response
         
Doc House
5/5 stars
We are enjoying our stay at the Doc House very much and appreciate the response from the property manager to our questions! He was obviously very familiar with the house and answered all to our satisfaction. The home is lovely and we have enjoyed the tremendous views, interesting artwork, quality kitchenware and comfortable surroundings! The golf cart was even larger than advertised—6 passenger rather than 4, so all 5 of us could ride!
Reviewed on Mar 4, 2019 by Beverly, Raleigh, NC   Report
         
Doc House
4/5 stars
Nice house with great view. Here are some suggestions:Make sure all bulbs are replaced. The family room needs more end tables and lamps. I think you should have a very large, nice sofa that faces the river rather than the small red one.Kitchen needs cutting boards and salad spinner.Headboard on bed at bedroom front is very uncomfortable. (wooden slats).Need to grout between tubs and flooring. Back room with beanbag chair should have a comfy sleeper sofa in my opinion.Thank you so much. We plan to come again.
Reviewed on Jan 21, 2019 by Sarah, Davidson, NC   Report
         
Doc House
5/5 stars
Wonderful location with beach access out the back door and sunsets that are fantastic. Rooms are bright and spacious. Comes with full WiFi and Direct TV access. Very convenient to all shopping with the provided golf cart and walking distance to dock master store in case you missed an item. Easy walk to Old Baldy lighthouse. Great house with all the views, you will not be disappointed.
Reviewed on Dec 28, 2018 by Chris, Bernardsville, New Jersey   Report

Chris, Thank you for your review. iTrip could not agree more it is the prime location to conveniently reach the shops, attractions, restaurants, beach, and more. Thank you for staying with us at this lovely home with a great view!

Manager Response
         
Doc House
5/5 stars
Our stay at The DOC house was wonderful! Beautiful house with outstanding views of sunrises and sunsets. We had everything we needed for our stay. Thank you itrip vacations for making our stay very memorable.
Reviewed on Nov 1, 2018 by Cindy, Winterville, NC   Report
         
Doc House
4/5 stars
This house is a great value on the island, particularly for the views. Direct riverfront on the channel so you can drink coffee while the ships go by. Cant be beat. However, the rest of the house has some issues that prevent a 5-star rating (and would have rated it lower but for the views). Namely:1. No dressers or coathangers in the bedrooms. Be prepared to live out of suitcases. 2. No interior window treatments. The only option is to close the storm windows which are cumbersome.3. Some of the storm windows were stuck either open or closed.4. Upstairs HVAC is inadequate. Be prepared for 80 degrees (unless you close all storm windows, blocking all light and view). 5. Cart is underpowered so be prepared to get passed. Also the lights dont actually illuminate the road. Good thing we had rented another cart to drive at night.6. When we arrived, the house had a broken window and an electrical problem that prevented the exterior lights, including the front porch light, from illuminating. Never corrected during our stay despite promises to the contrary. Bring a flashlight.
Reviewed on Aug 3, 2018 by John, Salisbury, NC   Report
         
Doc House
5/5 stars
It was easy! The Doc House was exactly what we were looking for.
Reviewed on Jul 17, 2018 by Christian, Hagerstown, MD   Report
         
Doc House
4/5 stars
Excellent location, lovely furnishings, spectacular views! The AC went on the blink but our iTrip rep took care of it that afternoon. The golf cart could stand to be updated since it was the slowest on the island. And the oven had only two bake temperatures 325 and 350. I had never heard of that before. Overall, if you want privacy, quiet, a few steps to the beach, and views of sunsets that take your breath, then you will be pleased. If we could be reassured that the AC would perform as it should, we would not hesitate to return!
Reviewed on Jun 24, 2018 by Betty, Nashville, TN   Report

The Doc House is a private, quiet home with beautiful sunsets, we couldn't agree with you more. We apologize the HVAC was an issue but iTrip did manage to get that repaired as soon as possible. Thank you for your feedback. We truly appreciate your honesty. Safe travels home. We will be delighted to have you all back again in the future.

Manager Response
         
Doc House
4/5 stars
The house is on the west side of the island just where the Cape Fear River enters the Atlantic Ocean. The house was conviently close to the Marina where there is handful of restaurants. The views from the 2nd level deck were AMAZING! We spent a lot of time watching sail boats, Coast Guard cutters, and huge cargo ships impressively navigate around the shoals to travel up the river to the docks in Wilmington. We were only 100 yards from the beach with a private boardwalk for access. The house was clean and the kitchen well stocked with everything you need to make a nice meal. The only downside was the lower deck was all shade and the trees are overgrown so the view is completely blocked, and we never used it.
Reviewed on May 4, 2018 by Margaret, Durham, NC   Report
         
Doc House
5/5 stars
This is a great space and great location. Right on the beach, and walkable to the marina and the lighthouse. Very open with lots of great decks and beautiful views. Would definitely come back!!
Reviewed on Apr 1, 2018 by Amy, Washington DC   Report

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at the Doc House. We look forward to having you back soon. Thank you!

Manager Response
         
Doc House
4/5 stars
Doc House was a great place to spend a quiet, relaxing week at BHI. Although West Beach is the smallest of the three on the island, it is plenty big! We had the beach almost completely to ourselves all week and you can walk as far as your legs can carry you. You cannot beat being beach front! The upstairs deck was fantastic for morning coffee and perfect for sunset drinks and dinner! The lower deck offered shade relief when needed. The home is clean and comfortable. We enjoyed peddling the island daily on the three bikes. The only reason I am not giving this home 5 stars is there are a few improvements that could be made. The water stains in the bedroom carpets are a bit off-putting. The dishes in the kitchen are lovely but the cooking pans need improvement. A few more beach chairs are needed for a home that sleeps 6. There also should be a note in the home description that the most direct route to the beach involves a steep spiral staircase. Although we had no mobility issues, it would be good to be informed.
Reviewed on Aug 4, 2017 by Alycia, Lynchburg, VA   Report
         
Doc House
5/5 stars
We found the Doc House to be everything we hoped and more. It is ideally situated and therefore gave us a 360 degree look at the environment, including the water, the occasional ship going by only about 200 yards offshore, the incredible sunsets, the old lighthouse, the marsh and point at the end of the river only 1000 yards away. Imagine sitting on the upper deck of an east coast home and watching the sun set into the ocean! And the house was lovely with it upside down ingenious arrangements, its very comfortable porches…3 of them! It is very comfortable, even has a perfect spot for children’s TV. Everything is working. The art works is really quite special reflecting the travels of the owners. 5 out 5 stars from us with our thanks for the all the thoughtfulness.
Reviewed on Jul 23, 2017 by Brian H,   Report
         
Doc House
5/5 stars
We found the Doc House to be everything we hoped and more. It is ideally situated and therefore gave us a 360 degree look at the environment, including the water, the occasional ship going by only about 200 yards offshore, the incredible sunsets, the old lighthouse, the marsh and point at the end of the river only 1000 yards away. Imagine sitting on the upper deck of an east coast home and watching the sun set into the ocean! And the house was lovely with it upside down ingenious arrangements, its very comfortable porches…3 of them! It is very comfortable, even has a perfect spot for children’s TV. Everything is working. The art works is really quite special reflecting the travels of the owners. 5 out 5 stars from us with our thanks for the all the thoughtfulness.
Reviewed on Jul 17, 2017 by Brian, Durham, NC   Report

We appreciate the amazing review Brian! The home is lovely and it has incredible sunsets and .... it is, the perfect location. We hope to see you all back very soon. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We truly appreciate it.

Manager Response
         
Doc House
4/5 stars
Hi! We had a lovely stay at the Doc House on Bald Head Island. This was our first time at this house but probably our tenth time on the island (renting a 1st row/oceanfront home everytime). I should also mention that we are a family of six: mom, dad, and four kids ages 16, 14, 14, and 12. As with any rental home, there were things we liked and things we would change. Overall, though, the house is lovely. It is nicely decorated and very clean. Everyone felt comfortable here. We liked the upside down floor plan (living areas on the top floor and bedrooms downstairs). Having a dumbwaiter really made things easy -- we could pass groceries upstairs with no problem. Also, their A/C worked really well and kept the house feeling comfortable the whole time. I liked that the kitchen was well stocked with good quality supplies (Pottery Barn dishes, super sharp knives, and even a few AllClad pots). The beach was great. I was concerned that this house would be too close to the marina but I was wrong. While we could certainly see the ferry boats going in and out of the marina, they were far enough away that they didn't matter. Also, we ended up loving being able to walk to dinner or to go to bingo night or whatever. This house is actually in an awesome location. I should add that we were here for the 4th of July week. We were told that it was the busiest week of the year (and our fist visit for the 4th) but, still, the beach was practically empty and we never had to wait for a seat at Mojo's or Delphina's. Also, we were able to see many mainland fireworks displays right from the deck of the house! Super cool. Another thing that we appreciated was the rental managers (iTrip). They were very friendly and quick to answer all of our pre-trip questions. We had a golf cart issue while we were there and they addressed the problem right away and with zero hassle. They were amazing. I'd never heard of iTrip before but I will not hesitate to use them again. As for the negatives...we have two small suggestions for improvement -- and one big one. I'll do the big one first: We choose to pay a premium for an oceanfront house because we love having direct access to the beach and we love love love the beautiful ocean views while we are inside. I also really like being able to look out and see where my kids are whenever they are outside without me. This house has almost no ocean views. There are so many large trees that the only spot in the house where you can see the water is from the top floor and, even then, it is an obstructed view. Yes, you can see water. No, you can not really see the beach (or your kids on it). The view from almost every single window is of trees. Even though we had so many other positive feelings about this house, the landscaping is enough to make me consider a different home next time. Don't get me wrong, the trees are very pretty and my kids loved finding the frogs, lizards, and snakes hiding in them ... but we paid for an oceanfront home and that designation comes with a certain set of expectations. For privacy sake, maybe it would be good to keep the trees on the sides of the house. Heck, even the street-side trees could stay. But, the trees that separate the house from the beach were a big issue for us. We were very disappointed with the view. I heard that they may be doing some landscaping soon. This is awesome news and, if ocean views are important to you, I'd check on this -- and the extent of the landscaping -- before making your decision. Our other suggestions are very small but worth considering: First, this house is the first we've rented without a club membership and we missed it. We like having some extra dining options and we love going to the pool in the evenings. Maybe the owners could consider adding this?Second, this house sleeps six in three queen beds. We knew this coming in and we were fine with it. However, it would have been better to have at least one set of twin beds instead.
Reviewed on Jul 15, 2017 by Rebecca, Michigan   Report

We agree with you, the Doc House is in a great location, easy beach access, has a well-equipped kitchen, and everything in the home is working well.  The ocean view is being addressed and will be improved in the very near future.  Considering the convenient proximity to many activities and oceanfront location we do believe this home is a great value considering other options on the island with the same features.   We appreciate the feedback and your thoughts will make a difference.  We will have an improved ocean view very soon.  Thanks for staying at the Doc House and using itrip vacations to take care of your holiday desires.

Manager Response

Similar Properties

Copyright © 2008 - 2020 iTrip LLC