The Tinner's House

Historic Home near Old City, Attractions, Restaurants, River, Kayaks Included w/Short Walk to Launch

3 BR
2 Baths
Sleeps 10


We help make the most of your vacation by providing Free Admission to some of the area's top attractions each and every day! Create exciting memories, have more fun, and truly experience your destination!

Enjoy great proximity to all that St. Augustine has to offer while staying in this beautifully restored 1905 home! Located about 100 feet from the Matanzas River and within walking distance of the fort and all the downtown attractions, this home is classic, bright, and pleasantly decorated. The Tinner's House has a fabulous layout with two king bedrooms, one bedroom with a full bed and two twins, a queen pullout, full kitchen, spacious dining, cozy living space, two screened porches, and a courtyard in the back. Every detail has been thought of! Cook "at home" in the fully stocked kitchen, and rest well with crisp white linens and soft bath towels which are provided for you. A morning cup of coffee in the private courtyard will taste great just before heading out to explore. Enjoy a glass of wine on the porch in the evenings after taking a walk in this beautiful neighborhood or along the waterfront. Enjoy the kayaks provided to explore the Matanzas River a block away.

The convenience of The Tinner's House can't be beat! It is a 7-8 minute walk straight down Water Street to the Fort, and a short walk to the Visitor's Center, St. George Street, and all of the downtown area. Hop in your car or on your bike and Vilano Beach or Anastasia Island State Park is just a short 3 mile ride away along with the Amphitheatre, Alligator Farm, and St. Augustine Lighthouse. There is an eclectic mix of fun, antique shops, local great eateries and bars including Harry's Seafood Bar and Grille and St. Augustine Distillery, all an easy walk away!

What’s better than staying in a piece of history in the nation’s oldest city! The Tinner’s House is seated in a rich history that is sure to enhance your vacation almost as much as the gleaming intercoastal waterways that can be seen from your private master suite balcony. Built in 1905, the Tinner's House is located in the Abbot Tract Historic District, part of Uptown St. Augustine. The neighborhood was developed by female land developer Lucy Abbott starting in the late 1800s up until the 1930s, making the district one of St. Augustine's oldest hidden gems.


- 4 Kayaks w/launching area a short walk down the street

- Walking distance to all downtown attractions

- Partial River view from second floor porch

- Fully stocked kitchen

- Gas Grill

- Fire Pit

- Large screen TV's in Living, Dining, and Master

- Linens and towels provided

-Free Parking

FREE FUN! Each booking will include one free entry per attraction each day of your stay! The following attractions are included;

- St. Augustine Alligator Farm

- Old Town Trolley Tours: Potter's Wax Museum

- Old Town Trolley One Day Tour

- Old Town Trolley Ghost and Graveyards Tour

- Royal St. Augustine Golf & Country Club Course

- St. Augustine Pirate & Treasure Museum

- St. Augustine Eco Tours: Boat Expedition

- St. Augustine Eco Tours: Salt Marsh Kayaking

Ride the Trolley around the area and take in the historic beauty of Downtown St. Augustine! Explore the oldest fort in the continental United States, the Castillo San Marcos, and stroll down colorful St. George Street filled with shops and restaurants of irresistible local flare. You might even spot a Pirate or Spanish Conquistador in period attire! Breathe in the warm, salty air as you enjoy a romantic walk along the waterfront as the sun sets, casting its final rays on the sparkling water, the drifting boats, and the picturesque Bridge of Lions. But don’t forget to make good use of the night by experiencing the Ghost train or Haunted House tour. Enjoy the endless variety of restaurants, coffee shops, ice cream, art, book stores and more just a walk away from your front door.

Let iTrip help you make the most of your vacation!

Reservations 28+ days do not include the Free Fun package. Tickets may still be available at the discretion of the property manager.

NOTE: $500 cancellation fee applies to all bookings 28 days or more.

Startup bathroom, kitchen, and laundry supplies are provided with each booking.

25 year age requirement to book and stay: Tenant must be at least twenty-five (25) years of age (an "adult") and will be an occupant of the unit during the entire reserved dates.

Noise Ordinance: The city of St. Augustine has a noise ordinance that prohibits noise between the hours of 10:00pm-6:00am Sunday-Thursday, and 11:00pm-7:00am Friday-Saturday. Violations can result in a $500 fee.

No smoking or vaping on the property. $500 fine for rule violation.

24 Locust St St. Augustine, FL 32084

Sleeping Arrangements

Downstairs Bedroom King
Master Suite King
Coastal Room Full, Twin (2)
Living Room Queen

Bathroom Configuration

Downstairs Bedroom
Upstairs Hall

Property Rules

Check In: After 4pm
Check Out: Before 10am
Smoking: Not Allowed


Air Conditioning
Bbq Area
Carbon Monoxide Detector
Children Welcome
Cleaning Disinfection
Coffee Maker
Cooking Basics
Deck Patio Uncovered
Dining Table
Dishes Utensils
Dishes and Silverware
Eco Tourism
Enhanced Cleaning Practices
Fire Extinguisher
Fire Pit
Free Parking
Free Wifi
Hair Dryer
Hot Water
Iron Board
Kayak Canoe
Limited Parking
Living Room
Long Term Stays Allowed
Minimum Age Limit
Near Ocean
Outlet Shopping
Pets Not Allowed
Private Entrance
Private Living Room
Requires Stairs
Self Checkin Checkout
Smart Tv
Smoke Detector
Water View
Wildlife Viewing
Winery Tours
Wireless Internet



Frequently Asked Questions

25 year age requirement to book and stay: Tenant must be at least twenty-five (25) years of age (an "adult") and will be an occupant of the unit during the entire reserved dates. 
For your safety, the weight limit for bunk beds is 100 pounds.

We hope you enjoyed your stay! Check Out Time is at 10:00 AM! But before you leave, be sure to:

  • Please empty the refrigerator.

  • Place all dirty dishes in the dishwasher and start the cleaning cycle.

  • Please do not strip sheets but leave beds unmade.

  • Pile all dirty towels in the bathroom or laundry room.

  • If you have rearranged any furniture or placed any items out of sight, please put them back as they were when you arrived.

  • Please be sure to collect all of your belongings.

  • Please remove all trash and place it in the respective trash recepticle. 

*Please be considerate of the check out time since the cleaners need to get in to prepare the property for the next guests. A delay in check out will result in a charge of additional fees. Thanks so much and we hope you will come again soon!

Guest violation of house rules will result in a minimum $500 fine.

Minimum $500 Fee for House Rule Violations


Please report any maintenance needs for the premises to the us and we will respond as quickly as possible. Refunds will not be made for maintenance issues including, but not limited to heating and air conditioning, appliances, televisions, and stereos.  Check out instructions as provided must be complied with. 


Tenant and all other occupants willingly occupy these premises.  In exchange for being allowed to occupy the premises, Tenant, on behalf of himself, his heirs, assigns, and descendants, agrees to the fullest extent permitted by law, to release and forever discharge  iTrip or the Owner from any and all injuries, costs, damages, loss, death, or other claim or injury suffered of any nature whatsoever arising out of Tenant’s own negligence or gross negligence; the negligence or gross negligence of  the Owner or iTrip or any of its employees, managers, principals, owners, representatives, agents, authorities, leaders, or other person affiliated with it in any way; and the negligence or gross negligence of any other occupant in connection with the stay whether that be prior to, during, or immediately after the stay. By agreeing to these terms, and in exchange for being allowed to stay on the premises, you further agree that you will indemnify iTrip and the Owner and hold iTrip and the Owner harmless for any and all injuries, costs, damages, loss, or other claims made by all other occupants other than yourself arising out of or in any way caused by your actions undertaken in the course of your stay on the premises. Tenant understands that he/she does not have to stay on the premises and that without agreeing to these terms whereby he/she chooses voluntarily to waive any liability of iTrip and the Owner under the above terms, he/she will not be allowed to stay on the premises.

Common Areas and Shared Spaces
If your property shares a common indoor or outdoor space, please be respectful of the other tennants in conduct and language. 

Clicking the box below provides consent to receive text communication from iTrip St. Augustine relating to your reservation.  Guests can opt out of this text communication at any time by following specified opt out procedures.

Noise Ordinance: The city of St. Augustine has a noise ordinance that prohibits noise between the hours of 10:00pm-6:00am Sunday-Thursday, and 11:00pm-7:00am Friday-Saturday. Violations can result in a $500 fee. 

There will also be a $500 fine for smoking or vaping in the home. 

Please keep these house rules in mind, thank you!
For pet friendly properties, pets must be approved prior to booking.  Request approval with number, size and breed.  A pet fee and/or pet deposit will apply.  Do not leave dog unattended in house unless in kennel. If your dog is interrupting the neighbors with any barking or noise, the dog will have to be removed and there will be a fine of $250. If you bring a pet to a non-pet friendly property, you will be subject to our $500 fee for house rule violation! 


Tinner House
5/5 stars
House is centrally located to historic St Augustine. Great accommodations and very responsive host. Would stay here again.
- John
Third Time's a Charm!
5/5 stars
We have stayed 3 times at the Tinners house and once again it was a flawless stay. Walking distance to everything! The house is absolutely perfect!! We will continue to book the Tinners house in the future!!
- Christopher

Christopher, thank you for the glowing review! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us again! Thank you for trusting us year after year with your family vacation. Can't wait to host you again!

- Manager Response
5/5 stars
We had an amazing trip! So close to the Old City, we walked everywhere! Scoops, an amazing ice cream shop, is so close and visited there a few times during our stay. Will definitely rent this house again!!!
- Crystal

Thank you for the glowing review! It was a pleasure hosting you! We strive to facilitate all you need to make lasting memories in St. Augustine! We would love to have you back!

- Manager Response
best location in St. Aug!
5/5 stars
We had a great time walking to everything we wanted to do in St. Augustine. Coffee, delicous food & drinks are right down the street. Quiet, friendly neighborhood with beautiful historic homes and peaceful mission grounds to explore. We loved kayaking several times during our stay. Spacious rooms and great screen porches for hanging out. Fist time using iTrip and they were great communicators and so quick to respond, will be happy to do business with them again and can't wait to re-book!
- Susan

Susan, thank you for the glowing review. We are so glad you enjoyed the home, amenities, and location! This home is in the perfect spot for relaxing and enjoying all that St. Augustine has to offer! We are also glad to know that our team provided great communication! It was a pleasure hosting you and we would love to have you back!

- Manager Response
Best Equipped kitchen ever..wonderful home away from home
5/5 stars
The Tinners House was by far our best vacation rental in our many years of visiting Florida in January . It is located in a stylish, quiet friendly uptown neighborhood a short walk to San Marco Avenue, the fort, the water, Fountain of Youth and old town. The home comfortably accommodates large groups and multiple generations with a first floor bedroom and bath and 2 upstairs bedrooms and a bath. The home was exceptionally clean. Our hosts always responded in minutes and we met the lovely property manager when she quietly dropped by each week to take the trash out. Plenty of outdoor space to enjoy with the two screened in porches and lovely courtyard behind the house. We really enjoyed the gas grill. My favorite part of the home was the large kitchen with abundant storage space and everything a cook would need to prepare meals. We look forward to returning to The Tinner house or another St. Augustine I trip property.
- Catherine

Catherine, thank you for the glowing review. We are so glad you enjoyed the home, outdoor spaces, and neighborhood! We are also glad to hear that our team and property manager provided excellent guest service for you! It was a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to your next visit!

- Manager Response
Wedding in St Aug
5/5 stars
The home is lovely! There is enough room for everyone. We totally enjoyed our stay!! It is a 10 minute walk from Downtown and perfect!
- Mary

Mary, thank you for your review and stay. We are so glad you enjoyed the home and location! We would love to have you back!

- Manager Response
Charming house in a beautiful neighborhood
5/5 stars
We had a great time with our friends at the Tinner’s House. We appreciated the proximity to the city and the great shops a block or two away. The kayaks and the rollers included with the stay was a nice touch to be able to paddle around the intercoastal. The large room with two twin beds and a queen was great for all the kids to stay in. The other two rooms with king beds was great for the adults. Beds were comfortable but a little old as they were squeaky. We loved the screened in porches! Great stay overall and would definitely stay here again.
- Yana

Yana, thank you for your review and stay. We are so glad you had a great time and that you were able to enjoy the kayaks and location! Exploring the local attractions is a great way to create memorable moments in St. Augustine! We would love to host you again!

- Manager Response
Amazing rental!
5/5 stars
We have had a great stay at the Tinner House! It is very clean and cozy, and it is in an amazing location! Within walking distance from all of St. Augustine's historic attractions, and only a 6 minute drive to Vilano Beach. We would definitely stay here again!
- Adrianne

Adrianne, We strive for our guests to have a 5-star experience and we are pleased to hear we were able to do so for you and your family. We hope to continue to host you again in the future!

- Manager Response
Wonderful Historic Experience
5/5 stars
What a wonderful experience my family had at the Tinner's House. Being in such a great location in walking distance to Historic St. Augustine made our history lovers very happy. The Tinner's house was clean, spacious and up-dated to all our needs. Thanks for the use of the Kayaks which was such a special bonus. Being so close to the Kayak water entry point made the journey easy. Looking forward to booking again next year.
- John T.

John, it was our honor to host you and your family! We are so glad you had such a wonderful experience with us at Tinners House! We hope to have you back!

- Manager Response
Great location, great stay!
5/5 stars
Such a nice house in a quiet neighborhood within walking distance of everything! There's enough parking for 2 cars in the driveway, in case anyone was wondering. The house is well furnished and had all the amenities, including TV and fast WiFi. We had a great time here and would recommend it to a family or multiple families like we did. Hope to come back again!
- Chris

Chris, It was a pleasure hosting you!! We strive for our team to be accommodating, and our home to have all you need to make lasting memories in St. Augustine! We would love to have you back!

- Manager Response
Awesome and convenient spot!
4/5 stars
This lovely house was a great location. Everything was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed our stay very much. Compared to other VRBO rentals I’ve had in the past, We all felt the house could have been better stocked/equipped, especially in the kitchen. Additionally, we were unable to access the kayaks. We were not sure where they were but assumed they were in the garage which was padlocked. Not a big deal though and certainly not a deal breaker. For our group, this house was an excellent choice.
- Anna

Anna, It was a pleasure to host you! We strive to make our guests feel at home here, and are glad to hear those expectations were met during your time with us! We We look forward to the opportunity to host you in the future!

- Manager Response
Fantastic Trip!
5/5 stars
We couldn’t have asked for better accommodations. The house is very spacious, includes all amenities, very clean, and in a great neighborhood. We will definitely be back!
- Jamie

Jamie, thank you for staying with us! We strive for an excellent guest experience, and we are glad to hear we met those expectations for you during your stay with us! We hope to have the opportunity to host you in the future!

- Manager Response
Great House, Great Location
5/5 stars
We had a great time at the Tinner's house and loved the property. The house has two master bedrooms which was great for having a trip with some of our friends. The location is superb as its in walking distance of the Castillo de San Marcos, the historic district and many other attractions. The four kayaks that were available at the property were great as well. The house is well kept with what looks like original antique wood floors and a modern remodeling. We enjoyed the kayaks I would suggest you check the tides before going out, as we came back in about an hour before low tide and one side of the creek was totally bottomed out while the other side had just enough water level for us to make it back to the landing. But its REALLY cool to have all that nature available by kayak at the end of your street! There is a lot of light in the house which is great except for a couple things. The upstairs master dosnt have a window treatment on the top half of the east window so the room is lit up at the crack of dawn. The downstairs master is somewhat illuminated at night by the front porch light (theres a note to leave the porch light on all night- appears its a neighborhood tradition). Our group turned it off as it disturbed their sleep. Lastly the upstairs third bedroom has a window to the kitchen with no window treatment, so if kids go to bed early the adults have to keep the kitchen lights off so they can sleep. We suggest the addition of some window treatments for each of these rooms. Kitchen is nice and stocked with plenty of dishes, glasses, cups and a nice fridge with great ice maker. A small item is that all the frying pans are all non-stick and scratched up pretty bad; non-stick coatings that are compromised release carcinogens into the food, so we suggest you do away with them and replace with a stainless steel pan or two. We thoroughly enjoyed staying at Tinner's House, 5 stars.
- Rio

Rio, thank you for an amazing review! We are very glad we could make your stay in St. Augustine so enjoyable. We will certainly address the pans, thank you for this feedback!

- Manager Response
Smelly but Gorgeous . . . but Smelly
2/5 stars
Upon arrival (shortly after 5pm Saturday, 7/30/2022), we were blown away by the presentation of the Tinner House - really gorgeous, fantastically spacious, neat layout, lots of porches... However, for the benefit of future guests, there are potential issues you should be aware of. The house flooded with sewer gas each day at least once for 4-5 hours. Mornings of Sunday, Monday, Tuesday were all disgustingly stinky. When we reported the multiple incidents, the iTrip staff was slower and slower to respond. We ended up not using the 2nd bathroom (the one upstairs) at all from Tuesday noon through Wednesday evening, per advice of a plumber who re-sealed the flange on that toilet. --It didn't work. Our last night there, Wednesday, 8/3/2022, the sewer gas came on STRONG around midnight and was horrifying. Our calls, texts, voicemails to iTrip ---supposedly a 24x7 company--- were ignored until just after 6:00 a.m. Ultimately not responded to in time to help us. The gas was probably very unsafe to breathe but . . . Opening doors and windows was also not an option as the neighborhood is subject to prowlers and petty theft. The shed at the back of the driveway was broken into on Monday morning before sunrise, and the local police woke us up at 7:00 a.m. that day to tell us about it. A maintenance man (who came out Monday afternoon to look at the plumbing to track down the odor's source) said he had to clean up some broken glass in the shed, replace lightbulbs, other...I had stopped listening at that point. So if you do stay at the Tinner House, be prepared for a potentially very stinky experience, little sleep, weak response from the management company, and possibly theft.
- Rick & Amanda

Hi Rick and Amanda, We are so sorry that you felt our responsiveness was weak, and for the various issues. We are always looking to improve as a company and appreciate your feedback. The plumbers were able to resolve the sewer gas problem after your stay, but we apologize for the inconvenience during your visit.

- Manager Response
Great Stay
5/5 stars
Our stay was excellent and we enjoyed every bit of it, we wished we could’ve stayed longer! The house is relaxing, inviting, and within walking distance of all the historic sites!
- Birgit

Birgit, we are glad to her your stay with us was a 5-star experience! We loved hosting you, and hope you stay again!

- Manager Response
Loved the Tinners House
5/5 stars
We loved staying at the Tinners House. Beautiful house with large bedrooms and great decor. We had 9 people and it accommodated us well. The neighborhood is so pretty with close access to the fort and downtown St. Augustine. The hosts were very nice and communicated well. We hope to stay here again. Highly recommend!
Great Location to Downtown/Great for multiple Families
5/5 stars
The Tinner House was great for our two families. Plenty of room for everyone to spread out and have their own space. We walked to downtown and the fort. Quiet street which made sitting on the screened in porch very enjoyable! The Matanzas River at the end of the street was a quick 1-minute walk to drop the kayaks in and go for a row. Our only suggestion is for the owners to change their cleaning service-
- Jennifer

Jennifer, thank you for staying with us! We will address the cleaning with the owners. Thank you for the feedback!

- Manager Response
Great place to stay
5/5 stars
We enjoyed our stay. The was great and within walking distance of just about everything we wanted to do.
- Scott

Thank you for staying with us!

- Manager Response
Pleasant getaway
5/5 stars
Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Tinner’s House. It was spacious, clean (for the most part), and light and breezy. We spent quite a bit of time on and the patio and balcony. Taking the kayaks out was probably my favorite part of the trip. We got to see dolphins one day and a manatee the other. Quite fun. We walked past the fort every day to restaurants and shops. The neighborhood is very quiet and feels safe. A couple of things that could be improved upon...there was no lightbulb in the light on the nightstand in the upstairs king room. I would have liked to read in bed. The other light in the king room didn’t work. The house seemed very clean, but we did find a pill on the floor by the bed (and were thankful our small children didn’t discover it first) and a dirty sock under the downstairs bed. The balcony floor was pretty filthy as well. The upstairs body wash dispenser was out of body wash. Also, the rollers that are available to take the kayaks out had flat tires. Overall, the positives of the house definitely outweigh the negatives, and I would love to stay at the house again if we ever go back to St. Augustine.
- Hayley
St Augustine Trip
5/5 stars
We enjoyed our stay at the Tinner House. The location is great we were able to walk to so many things. The screened in porches were very nice.
- Matthew

Thanks for the great review Matthew! We are so glad you stayed with us!

- Manager Response
5/5 stars
Beautiful home. Easy walk to old town , about 15min. Take the short cut left out of front door and right onto Water street, to the end will be the fort. You can cut through the grounds. Home is clean and spacious. We loved using the kayaks and outside fire table. Beds are comfortable enough. The upstairs bathroom has issues flushing a lot. Short wait when we arrived for someone to respond to our texts that the front door code didn’t work . We had a great trip and highly recommended this air bnb 4 1/2 stars
- Jennifer

Jennifer, We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Tinner's house. We are glad you were able to enjoy the amenities and location. We appreciate your feedback and review and hope you will come again sometime soon:)

- Manager Response
Happy New Year
5/5 stars
My family of five loved this rental and location! The house was clean, well stocked, and in a quaint and quiet neighborhood. Staying in the city provides the charm of downtown also acting as a hub to the many beaches in the area. The kayaks provided great recreation with access a block down the street. The property agent was very responsive and helped us immediately with any questions/concerns we had. We wouldn’t hesitate to stay at the Tinner’s house on our next trip to St. Augustine.
- J

J, We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Tinner's House. We are so glad to hear you would love to stay again. We look forward to host you again soon! Thanks so much for the great review:)

- Manager Response
Perfect Location
5/5 stars
My husband and I stayed here for 6 days and could not have been more pleased! The location is great - just a few blocks to everything in historic downtown, plus only two blocks to the river where we were able to launch the kayaks that were provided with this property. We have stayed at many, many places in St. Augustine, but this has to be one of our favorites. The home was clean and well stocked. You won't regret staying at this rental!
- Teresa

Teresa, We pleased to hear you had a great stay at The Tinner's House. Thank you so much for this kind review! We hope to host you again soon!

- Manager Response
Beautiful house
5/5 stars
The house is very nice, you can tell it has been well taken care of. Great location. A few suggestions, if I may. The master bathroom (downstairs) needs a small trash can. Thermostats should be labeled, as they look like part of the alarm system when they are completely off. A note should be left about the location of the disposal switch, which is under the sink. Obviously I found it, but it would be easier for people to know where to look. It would be great if there was a broom and dustpan, and some basic cleaning supplies available to clean up the inevitable messes that come with kids. Master shower is a bit hard to use only because the removable shower head is located so low and to the side. The top sheet for the sofa bed was too small, and there wasn’t a blanket or pillows provided, had to take them from one of the beds upstairs. There is mold at the top of the French doors leading out to the porches (at least the upstairs one, not sure about the downstairs ones). The house could use a good deep clean. It wasn’t dirty, but there were some crumbs in the couch, and in the pantry areas. I’d also suggest replacing the knob for the master shower as it is moldy inside and looks gross. Oh, and the silicone sealant around the kitchen sink has black areas (mold?) that looks unsightly, so might be worth removing and redoing. The porch swing on the top porch wasn’t hooked up, and there were some brand new clamps left on a table downstairs, so I’m assuming they are planning to fix the porch swing, just a shame it hadn’t been taken care of prior. Also, there was mail stuffed in the mailbox - not that it is a big deal, but I’d hate for someone to steal their mail. I’d I’m not trying to be critical, I hope I don’t come across that way. But I hope the owners find my suggestions helpful. I’ll definitely recommend this vacation rental to any friends or family looking for a place to stay.
- Lindsay

Lindsay, We are so glad you enjoyed the home and found it to be nice. Thank you for all the input and feedback. We will look into so your recommendations. We hope you will come back soon! Thanks for the 5 stars!

- Manager Response

Book Your Stay

Select your trip dates.
Contact Manager

Phone (904) 824-9974