Smell, hear & feel the ocean from this beach bungalow with private multi-level deck & swing chair!

Someplace Else
$198 - $386 / night   in Folly Beach  
2 Bedrooms 2 Bathrooms Sleeps 6

Have you ever wished you were Someplace Else? Well look no further, it's right here and ready for your family vacation! Enjoy the best of Folly Beach and historic Charleston from this character-filled & oceanfront Folly Beach bungalow with a multi-level backyard deck. With its wood paneling walls, screened-in porch and vintage vacation home decor, you'll fall in the love with the unique charm & character of Someplace Else. In one fabulous vacation, you can let your kids play for hours on the backyard deck, take advantage of the six miles of wide beaches, surfing, fishing, kayaking, boating and eco-tours on Folly Beach and enjoy the fabulous foodie & cultural delights of downtown Charleston.

SLEEPING ARRANGEMENTS FOR SOMEPLACE ELSE (sleeps 6):

Master Bedroom:

- Queen-sized bed

- Dresser

- Night stand with reading lamps

- Ocean views

Second Bedroom:

- Two twin-sized beds

- Night stand with reading lamp

- En-suite bathroom with easily accessed combined shower & tub

- Dresser

Living Room:

- Queen size sleeper sofa

Highlights:

- Fully-equipped kitchen with coffee maker, blender, dishwasher, microwave & more!

- Large dining table seats 8

- Outdoor shower!

- Private beachfront swing

- Outdoor tables, chairs & umbrella on large backyard deck with ocean views

- WIFI and cable TV

- Beach access is right next to the house via a shaded walkway to the beach.

- Non-Smoking, please! This is a family friendly property.

- No pets!

Perfect for those attending Charleston Weddings, College of Charleston or Citadel orientation or graduation, or just a fun week in the # 1 city in the world!

Guests enter Someplace Else by walking up the exterior stairs from the driveway to the wrap-around porch on the second floor. Once you enter the home, you will find a large, well-stocked kitchen; a dining area that comfortably seats 8 people; and a living room with cable TV, queen-sized sofa bed and double-door access to the screened-in porch. The screened-in porch leads to the large backyard deck with outdoor dining tables & chairs, outdoor shower and a boardwalk to your own private beachfront swing. Both bedrooms and bathrooms are located on the other side of the kitchen & living room areas. Off-street parking on the driveway for up to 2 cars is included in the rental rate.

Please note: An owner utilizes the home's ground floor level apartment on weeknights. They both work outside the home, leaving early and arriving late, and will be very sensitive to the privacy of your visit. You won't know they are there. They will not be using the outdoor deck or grill.

Please NO PARTIES, EVENTS, PERFORMING ARTISTS OR BANDS ARE ALLOWED AT ANY TIME. These are cause for eviction with no refund and may damage our ability to offer the home for future guests exposing you to liability. Please be respectful of the neighbors at all times!

Charleston Accolades:

* Voted #1 city in the United States by readers of Conde Nast Traveler

* Voted World's Best City in 2016 by readers of Travel+Leisure magazine

* Voted Best Food City in the United States by readers of Conde Nast Traveler

Folly Beach Highlights:

* Fishing Pier

* Morris Island Inlet and Lighthouse

* Folly Boat Landing

* Pirate's Cove Playground, Basketball Court & Skate Park

* Folly River Park

* Folly Beach County Park

* Wave Watch Playground

############## About Our Properties ##############

Guests staying at all Charleston Beaches managed properties receive the following:

* Welcome pack treats!

* Amenity pack, containing individual sized soap, shampoos, conditioner, moisturizer and make up remover wipes.

* Starter pack, containing paper towels, toilet rolls, dish soap, scrubber and dishwasher liquid to get you going for your stay.

* All beds are ready made for you with towels laid out so you can start your vacation as soon as you step in the door.

1301 E Ashley Ave Folly Beach, SC 29439
Info
Property Type: Home Beds: 3 Accommodates: 6 Check In: : 4pm Bedrooms: 2 Check Out: : 10am Bathrooms: 2.0 Pet Friendly: No
Amenities
Air Conditioning BBQ Grill Beach Front Big Screen TV Coffee Maker DVD Dishwasher Family Friendly Hair Dryer Ice Maker Internet Access Kitchen Microwave Ocean View Open Patio Refrigerator Satellite TV Screened Patio Serenity NOW! TV WIFI Walk to beach Water View
Check the FAQ
Calendar
Unavailable Days
Select your trip dates.
Arrival
Departure
Contact Manager

Phone (843) 303-9225
Rates
  • Cleaning, Linens & Amenity Fee:  $160
  • Security Deposit:  $400 - A Security Deposit will not be charged or refunded if a Limited Damage Waiver is available and selected.
  • Rental Deposit:  35%
  • Minimum Nights:  3 - Unless otherwise noted.
Sep 23 - Sep 24
Fall
$221.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $199.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,106.00 /Week  
Sep 25 - Oct 2
Fall
$235.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $212.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,176.00 /Week  
Oct 3 - Oct 12
Fall
$248.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $224.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,246.00 /Week  
Oct 13 - Oct 13
Fall
$257.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $232.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,288.00 /Week  
Oct 14 - Oct 18
Fall
$248.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $224.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,246.00 /Week  
Oct 19 - Oct 20
Fall
$257.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $232.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,288.00 /Week  
Oct 21 - Oct 27
Fall
$248.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $224.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,246.00 /Week  
Oct 28 - Nov 1
Fall
$235.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $212.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,176.00 /Week  
Nov 2 - Nov 3
Fall
$248.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $224.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,246.00 /Week  
Nov 4 - Nov 8
Fall
$235.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $212.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,176.00 /Week  
Nov 9 - Nov 9
Fall
$248.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $224.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,246.00 /Week  
Nov 10 - Nov 16
Fall
$235.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $212.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,176.00 /Week  
Nov 17 - Nov 20
Thanksgiving
$242.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $212.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,176.00 /Week   Checkin:  Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday   Checkout:  Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday  
Nov 21 - Nov 21
Thanksgiving
$257.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $224.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,246.00 /Week   Checkin:  Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday   Checkout:  Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday  
Nov 22 - Nov 22
Thanksgiving
$299.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $261.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,456.00 /Week   Checkin:  Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday   Checkout:  Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday  
Nov 23 - Nov 23
Thanksgiving
$285.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $249.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,386.00 /Week   Checkin:  Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday   Checkout:  Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday  
Nov 24 - Nov 24
Thanksgiving
$271.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $237.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,316.00 /Week   Checkin:  Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday   Checkout:  Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday  
Nov 25 - Dec 6
Winter
$229.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $198.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,295.00 /Week  
Dec 7 - Dec 7
Winter
$241.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $209.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,365.00 /Week  
Dec 8 - Dec 17
Winter
$229.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $198.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,295.00 /Week  
Dec 18 - Dec 21
Winter Holiday
$248.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $210.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,379.00 /Week   Checkin:  Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday   Checkout:  Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday  
Dec 22 - Dec 22
Winter Holiday
$262.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $221.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,456.00 /Week   Checkin:  Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday   Checkout:  Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday  
Dec 23 - Dec 27
Winter Holiday
$276.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $233.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,533.00 /Week   Checkin:  Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday   Checkout:  Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday  
Dec 28 - Dec 28
Winter Holiday
$290.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $245.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,610.00 /Week   Checkin:  Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday   Checkout:  Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday  
Dec 29 - Dec 31
Winter Holiday
$276.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $233.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,533.00 /Week   Checkin:  Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday   Checkout:  Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday  
Jan 1 - Jan 3
Winter Holiday
$262.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $221.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,456.00 /Week   Checkin:  Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday   Checkout:  Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Saturday  
Jan 4 - Jan 31
Winter
$241.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $209.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,365.00 /Week  
Feb 1 - Feb 28
Winter
$254.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $220.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,435.00 /Week  
Mar 1 - Mar 2
Early Spring
$310.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $280.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,533.00 /Week  
Mar 3 - Mar 7
Early Spring
$295.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $266.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,456.00 /Week  
Mar 8 - Mar 17
Early Spring
$310.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $280.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,533.00 /Week  
Mar 18 - Mar 21
Early Spring
$295.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $266.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,456.00 /Week  
Mar 22 - Mar 30
Early Spring
$326.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $294.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,610.00 /Week  
Mar 31 - Apr 1
Early Spring
$310.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $280.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,533.00 /Week  
Apr 2 - Apr 3
Late Spring
$310.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $280.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,533.00 /Week  
Apr 4 - Apr 4
Late Spring
$326.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $294.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,610.00 /Week  
Apr 5 - Apr 6
Bridge Run
$356.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $321.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,610.00 /Week  
Apr 7 - Apr 8
Bridge Run
$339.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $306.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,533.00 /Week  
Apr 9 - Apr 16
Late Spring
$310.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $280.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,533.00 /Week  
Apr 17 - Apr 18
Late Spring
$326.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $294.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,610.00 /Week  
Apr 19 - Apr 29
Late Spring
$310.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $280.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,533.00 /Week  
Apr 30 - Apr 30
Late Spring
$295.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $266.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,456.00 /Week  
May 1 - May 8
Late Spring
$310.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $280.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,533.00 /Week  
May 9 - May 13
Graduation
$339.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $322.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,757.00 /Week  
May 14 - May 20
Late Spring
$310.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $280.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,533.00 /Week  
May 21 - May 24
Late Spring
$326.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $294.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,610.00 /Week  
May 25 - Jun 9
Early Summer
$361.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $338.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $2,198.00 /Week  
Jun 10 - Jun 28
Peak Summer
$379.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $361.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $2,436.00 /Week  
Jun 29 - Jul 6
4th July
$401.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $386.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $2,611.00 /Week   Minimum Nights: 4   Checkin:  Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday, Saturday   Checkout:  Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, Friday, Saturday  
Jul 7 - Aug 11
Peak Summer
$379.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $361.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $2,436.00 /Week  
Aug 12 - Aug 18
Peak Summer 2
$379.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $338.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $2,198.00 /Week  
Aug 19 - Sep 8
Late Summer
$312.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $294.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,974.00 /Week  
Sep 9 - Sep 22
Fall
$290.00 Sunday|Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $261.00 Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,456.00 /Week  
* Please Note: Taxes, fees, and deposits will affect the trip cost.
Photos
Map
Videos
Reviews - 4.6 stars based on 38 reviews
         
Someplace Else
5.0/5 stars
Everything was perfect access to the beach, amazing breeze while sitting on the beach front swing ! kitchen had everything we needed, very much enjoyed the grill. A big thank you to the owners for a welcome package for our stay . The beach was going through a replenishment that hit in front of us the last 2 days, had to move down a beach with some noise , but owners accommodated us for that again thank you !!! All & all perfect .
Reviewed on Sep 7, 2018 by Gina, Cliffwood, NJ   Report

Thanks Gina. I'm happy to hear that you had a fun time even with those last few days of beach restoration disruption! Hopefully next time you'll get to enjoy the lovely new beach! Steven

Manager Response Sep 9, 2018
         
Someplace Else
5.0/5 stars
My family and I enjoyed a great week at the beach. We loved the view and convenient location of the home. It was clean and comfortable. It has a very helpful management. Thank you for providing us a great stay at the beach.
Reviewed on Aug 7, 2018 by Susann, Springfield, VA   Report

Thank you! We're happy you and the family had a great time! Steven

Manager Response Aug 8, 2018
         
Someplace Else
5.0/5 stars
Someplace was amazing for my and my husband. This was a trip for our second anniversary and we couldn’t have been happier with our stay there. It’s more on the private side, which is great for people who need some space after a day spend out in town. The beach by the house is lovely. It doesn’t get too crowded during the day and it’s relatively quite. You can tell the locals frequent this part of folly beach. We spent a lot of time on the wonderful deck. It was great to have a cup of coffee on the swing! It’s an older house, make sure you know this before renting. We loved the character and charm, but some may not. The kitchen is fully stocked with blender, coffee pot, toaster and more! Overall our stay was AMAZING and we can’t wait to come back soon! Thank you someplace else for making our 2nd wedding anniversary something to remember!
Reviewed on Jul 12, 2018 by China, Lake, IN   Report

Thank you for the AMAZING review! We're delighted y'all had such a fun visit! Steven

Manager Response Jul 12, 2018
         
Someplace Else
5.0/5 stars
This adorable house is exactly what my family and I were looking for. Everything was so neat and clean we felt right at home. The swing facing the beach was so relaxing and perfect for the sunrise. The walk to the ocean was so convenient- being right next to the house. We will definitely be returning next summer for an entire week!
Reviewed on Jun 21, 2018 by Susan, Landrum, SC   Report

Than you Susan, we're delighted you had a fun time. See you next year! Steven

Manager Response Jun 21, 2018
         
Someplace Else
4.0/5 stars
We loved this place. There were a few minor inconveniences but nothing that caused much problem for us. My wife, our 10 month old son and I loved the privacy especially around the porch, and we LOVED the porch swing ! We’d definitely return and look forward to exploring more of Folly Beach and Charleston next year!
Reviewed on May 20, 2018 by Cain, LOTHIAN, MD   Report

Thanks Cain! Glad Someplace Else was a great location for your family vacation. That swing is pretty special! Steven

Manager Response May 24, 2018
         
Someplace Else
5.0/5 stars
Wonderful little home. Love the outdoor living areas... yards from the beach without all the sand. Looking forward to our next trip back to Folly Beach.
Reviewed on May 4, 2018 by Leslie, Mills River, NC   Report

Thank you Leslie! It was a pleasure to meet you all and we're glad you loved the beach home! We look forward to seeing you again soon or bumping into you up in NC on our vacation!! Steven

Manager Response May 4, 2018
         
Someplace Else
5.0/5 stars
We had a very relaxing vacation in this wonderful beach house. The neighborhood is quiet and has magnificent views of the beach. The deck is huge and perfect for watching the surfers in the morning while the sun rises. We were so pleased and would highly recommend this property.
Reviewed on Apr 29, 2018 by Stephanie, Plano, TX   Report

Thank you Stephanie! It can be mesmerizing sitting in the swing chair on the beach watching the waves crash ashore! Easy to forget about anything else!!

Manager Response Apr 29, 2018
         
Someplace Else
3.0/5 stars
We enjoyed our stay! The house was comfortable and the deck and swing overlooking the ocean were marvelous! The only drawback to our visit was the presence of roaches. Several appeared during our weeklong stay. The rental costs were certainly enough to include that the house be sprayed before our arrival. We enjoyed everything else very much!
Reviewed on Jun 20, 2017 by Rick, Murfreesboro, TN   Report

Not uncommon on the beach... This property, along with all others I manage, is on a professional quarterly treatment schedule. While it is not uncommon during extreme swings in weather such as rain or high heat to suddenly see more. We would have been delighted to offer a repeat treatment to the property would we have known. Hopefully next time you can return and we can spoil you to a 5 star stay! - iTrip Vacations Charleston East Team

Manager Response Sep 29, 2017
         
Someplace Else
5.0/5 stars
We've been home less than a week from our stay at Someplace Else, and I am pining to return! Such a comfortable home, and the outdoor space is unbeatable. My 81-year old mother was with us and is NOT a beach person. But, having the wonderful deck that goes all the way down to the beach allowed her to enjoy the beach along with us. We really spent most of our time on the deck: started our morning there with our cups of coffee and tea and ended the day there with our glasses of wine. Loved watching all of the surfers, people walking their dogs, and even yoga on the beach one morning. The unexpected greeting from Marsha on Monday morning with our bottle of wine, homemade cookies, and advice on which restaurants to go to during our stay was a special delight. I have rented many beach houses on Folly over the years, and this was - by far - our best experience. If you are someone who likes fancy appointments, this may not be the place for you. It's a rustic, charming, comfortable, and clean beach house which lacks nothing in creature comforts. It's the way I remember beach houses growing up. We plan on making this our vacation destination for the future.
Reviewed on May 10, 2017 by Gail, Clearwater, FL   Report

Thank you for this detailed review, Gail! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the incredible deck that takes you right thru the dunes with unstoppable wide views of the lovely Atlantic! So happy that you had some delightful family time...so special! Someplace Else is exactly for that ...comfort and memory making! Thanks again, and we hope to see you really soon!! -iTrip Vacations - Charleston East Team

Manager Response May 11, 2017
         
Someplace Else
5.0/5 stars
David was very easy to work with. House was as expected and advertised. Back deck was amazing and is really what makes Somewhere Else what it is. We would definitely stay again and use David for future rentals/vacations.
Reviewed on Apr 18, 2017 by Michael, Kansas City, MO   Report

Thank you for your stay and review of Someplace Else - Folly Beach, Michael! We are so happy you were comfortable and enjoyed your relaxing stay at this beautiful beach and vacation rental...fun, relaxing, private! - iTrip Vacations Charleston Team

Manager Response Apr 19, 2017
         
Someplace Else
4.0/5 stars
Excellent stay! This was the first time our family has been blessed and fortunate enough to stay on the beach. Thank you.
Reviewed on Mar 15, 2017 by Elena, Central, SC   Report

So glad you could visit. Please return soon, and let us know what we can do to turn this 4-star review into a 5-star review! - iTrip Vacations Charleston Team

Manager Response Mar 16, 2017
         
Someplace Else
5.0/5 stars
The location is great (right off of Folly Beach) with an awesome oceanfront view. We stayed for 2 nights and ran into just one hiccup when we arrived, but Dave was quick to respond to our call (at midnight) and made sure everything went smoothly. The "Welcome Lady" was really sweet and gave us gifts and tips for our stay. Overall, had a great experience from initial inquiry to check-out!
Reviewed on Jan 6, 2017 by David, Atlanta, GA   Report

Fantastic!! Thank you for this review and your impressions of our service. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at this terrific Beachfront Property...such a gem! - iTrip Vacations Charleston East Team

Manager Response Jan 8, 2017
         
Someplace Else
4.0/5 stars
Our last minute visit during Xmas holidays was an effortless joy that provided just was a few holiday weary folks needed. The house was well equipped with everything needed. Our tall son had to make a "t" out of the 2 small single beds to accommodate how long he is, but managed. It was a chilly time of year and new blankets would've been nice, but all in all the location, porch swing, and walk through the trees to get to the beach was a much needed slice of heaven. If posh is your desire, this isn't it...if rustic funky is ok, then come and enjoy!
Reviewed on Jan 3, 2017 by Libba, Black mountain nc   Report

We are so happy you came to experience this island cottage. We acknowledge twin beds are not made for folks 6 feet tall, but are glad you recognized the charm of Someplace Else!

Manager Response Jan 4, 2017
         
Someplace Else
3.0/5 stars
The view and location of this home are amazing, the decks and beach is right off the house, everything works ok at the house itself but could definitely use updating, I was also unaware that it's 3 separate living/storage areas in one home, but no one was staying on the above unit. Overall view and location was worth it, beach was very nice.
Reviewed on Oct 25, 2016 by Dan, Myrtle   Report

Thanks for your comments. Many people specifically enjoy the charm of this beach cottage, we don't try to be like a fancy condo. Our listing clearly states "Please note: An owner family member and his wife for work reasons utilize a ground floor level apartment on site weeknights but never on weekends. They both work outside the home, leaving early and arriving late, and will be very sensitive to the privacy of your visit. You won't know they are there. They will not be using the outdoor deck or grill." There is no 3rd living area, the top level you see in the pictures is purely unfinished attic.

Manager Response Oct 25, 2016
         
Someplace Else
5.0/5 stars
1301 East Ashley has never let us down. We began staying here about 10 years ago and just finished our 5th stay ending a 10 night trip on 9/25/16. Home was cozy and clean as usual and booking process was as smooth as it could be. I will admit that not being able to walk directly to the beach from the back deck as we had done in past stays was irritating at first but we eventually got used to using the public access next to the property. Perfect weather and uncrowded beach made our stay just what the doctor ordered. 2 thumbs up again Folly Beach !
Reviewed on Sep 27, 2016 by Jerry, Cincinnati, Ohio   Report

Jerry, what a fun story! You have stayed her so many times and have experienced the changes and the beauty thru the years. We are very privileged to have your review. The world changes everyday, but there is something constant and beautiful and simple about the views from that deck, and enjoying the balance of nature! Thank you for your stay and review!! - iTrip Charleston Team

Manager Response Sep 29, 2016
         
Someplace Else
4.0/5 stars
Loved this property on the beach. It was close enough to hear the waves, and see the foam, but situated above and away for privacy. There is an amazing wooden patio/deck that extends a good twenty five yards from the house, to the beach. It has a big swing for romantic sunsets, but we used the deck to lie on, when we wanted to be closer to the house, or just didn't feel like dealing with sand. The house is older, with a lot of character. It's not the Ritz Carlton, but if you want to wake up in the morning, look out of your bedroom window, and see waves breaking, it's comfortable. It has a screened in porch, satellite TV, and all the appliances for a relaxing getaway. I HIGHLY recommend it.
Reviewed on Sep 17, 2016 by George, Charlotte   Report

Thank you for this descriptive review, George! We are happy you were comfortable and enjoyed the beautiful deck and beach views...especially from the swing! A note to future guests...this is not a handicap accessible home...there are stairs. - iTrip Charleston Team

Manager Response Sep 19, 2016
         
Someplace Else
5.0/5 stars
Our trip to folly was amazing, the house had everything we needed, it was very clean and comfortable. Had no problem with the WIFI and the view was breathtaking. Could not ask for a better house. I just highly recommend to bring extra mosquito repellent !
Reviewed on Sep 14, 2016 by Betsabe, Asheville NC   Report

Glad you enjoyed this gem of a cottage. Yes, we have had an exceptionally wet season, despite all the sunshine!

Manager Response Sep 14, 2016
         
Someplace Else
5.0/5 stars
Someplace Else is truly an oasis in Folly Beach. I have rented houses on South Carolina beaches for 13 years and have never experienced such a wonderful trip as my recent trip to Someplace Else. The 3 decks are perfect and secluded. The most well appointed kitchen I have ever seen----and everything works ! Especially enjoyed the water filtration system so we could actually DRINK the water. There were 3 elderly ladies in my party and we weathered Tropical Storm Hermine together. Minor damage from the storm was immediately handled by the property manager. Another first for me---arrival gift of wine and cookies ! If this home was for sale, I would buy it immediately ! In the meantime, I would happily rent this home again. Again, many thanks to the awesome Property manager.
Reviewed on Sep 10, 2016 by Charlotte, Webster NC   Report
         
Someplace Else
3.0/5 stars
Location, location, location
Reviewed on Sep 2, 2016 by Roberta, Asheville   Report

You are so right about this being a great spot, and I suspect the lowered review from a possible 5 stars is based on something you shared with me when we met; this cabin doesn't have the glitz of a resort-type rental, which we admit. It is a a wonderfully private beach cabin that is just what many are looking for, see the 3 preceding reviews. -iTrip Vacations Charleston East Team

Manager Response Oct 23, 2017
         
Someplace Else
5.0/5 stars
My family had a wonderful stay, it has a very relaxing atmosphere, the deck is awesome. Marsha was wonderful as she came by and brought some welcoming gifts and gave us info on the area which helped greatly. I would highly recommend this place if you want some R&R with excellent views. We will definitely be coming back to stay at "Somewhere Else".
Reviewed on Aug 25, 2016 by Ike, Statesville   Report

Delightful! We are happy that you enjoyed the stay and treats from Miss Marsha! Thank you for your review and we look forward to your return...the ocean will call you back! -iTrip Vacations Charleston Team

Manager Response Aug 25, 2016
         
Someplace Else
5.0/5 stars
Beautiful house, with amazing deck and privacy with breath taking view. We absolutely loved this place, and would highly recommend it. Marsha greeted us with a welcoming gift, and gave us much needed info of the folly beach area.
Reviewed on Aug 24, 2016 by A FlipKey verified reviewer,   Report
         
Someplace Else
5.0/5 stars
We rented Someplace Else for a brief 4 day family vacation and it was everything we hoped it would be. Beautiful sea breeze on the deck overlooking the beach was heavenly. We will definitely be back!
Reviewed on Aug 20, 2016 by Gordon, Galena, MD   Report

ahhhhh...we agree...such a beautiful spot to "get away from it all." We are delighted you took advantage of the bliss! Thank you for your review and we look forward to your return to relaxation! - iTrip Vacations Charleston Team

Manager Response Aug 25, 2016
         
Someplace Else
4.0/5 stars
The view and access to the beach are awesome. The actual beach access is conveniently located adjacent to the property which since there's no direct beach access, adds additional security and safety for your family. Loved drinking my coffee in the morning and coctails in the afternoon on the swing overlooking the ocean! Dave Rockey, the property manager made us feel welcome and was always available to us and I would absolutely rent from him again. One of the best property managers we have ever had interaction with. The house is rustic and needs some updating but is conveniently located to beach and town.
Reviewed on Jul 9, 2016 by J and L, Florence, SC   Report

Thank you for your kind review! We agree...the Swinging Bench is an incredible spot to finally exhale from the hustle of life! We invite you back soon!

Manager Response Jul 9, 2016
         
Someplace Else
5.0/5 stars
We found this beach house on a last minute decision to go to Folly Beach. It's a rustic, cozy house that makes like you are in a beach house in Hawaii. The Tiki hut, the huge deck, the swing, and the view all combined with this nostalgic house gave us everything we were looking for and more. We had 3 boys with us, 2 20 year olds and an 18 year old and they did not want to leave. The house is clean. The bed in the master bedroom is insanely comfortable. The kitchen has everything you could possibly need. Marsha met us with yummy cookies and a bottle of wine and Dave made the booking very smooth. We will book again for next summer or sooner. There is a plaque in the house that reads, "When the world burdens you, comfort your soul by the sea. ". Needless to say we left Folly Beach with our souls comforted.
Reviewed on Jun 20, 2016 by Jenny, Danielsville, Georgia   Report

We could not agree more!! Someplace Else is named for that reason...it is a special "Someplace Else" away from the hustle and expectations...it is a place to connect, refresh, rejuvenate! We are trilled you enjoyed your time with your family, and we look forward for your return. Thank you for the review as your visitor perspective is so helpful for future visitors.

Manager Response Jun 28, 2016
         
Someplace Else
5.0/5 stars
Decks and view surpassed our dreams. Loved the private bathroom off the second bedroom. Beach wasn't too crowded- just enough to be interesting. Love the family's collection of beach art, and the tikki bar was a delight for outdoor dining. Owner and agent were super accommodating of our needs. We will return!
Reviewed on Aug 22, 2015 by A FlipKey verified reviewer,   Report
         
Someplace Else
3.0/5 stars
Love this location had a great time ,only thing is we wish it was cleaner and better supplied for instance not a sharp knife in the place dishes all miss matched and not enough of them dispute this issue we are coming back hopefully owners will restock kitchen and do better job at cleaning
Reviewed on Aug 17, 2015 by Angierichards,   Report

I am happy you are returning, you will find a new dishwasher, new living room carpet, new window blinds in the second bedroom. I wish you would have called me immediately upon arrival regarding cleanliness, my cleaner is often highly praised in reviews. I think she had just hired additional help, and more supervision was needed. I would have sent them back to redo their work.

Manager Response Aug 18, 2015
         
Someplace Else
5.0/5 stars
The beach house and then entire reservation process made this 7 night stay just about perfect. The house itself is homey; the decore simply says "Welcome". Our flight was very late in getting in and we were delayed in getting the rental car so arrived at the house very late. Marcia, the welcome lady, was concerned when we didn't arrive (she was waiting to greet us) and contacted the property manager who called us to find out if we were OK or lost. I was impressed. Marcia came back the next day and gave us a plate of cookies and a bottle of wine along with an abundance of friendly information about Folly Beach. The kitchen has all the applicances we needed and everything worked fine. The beds were very comfortable and we were able to see the ocean from the large windows in the bedroom. The living room was a nice place to relax when the sun went down. The deck is huge. It was so nice to begin the day with a cup of coffee while sitting on the deck looking at the waves come in. We had a great time here.
Reviewed on Aug 10, 2015 by taprindle,   Report
         
Someplace Else
5.0/5 stars
I really don't kno where to start. Our experience was awesome from booking to checkout! Dave, the property manager and the cleaning service went wayyy above and beyond to help us get our frozen food in early on the very busy 4th of July weekend! The house was cleaned extra extra well!!! We practically lived on the several huge decks with amazing views of the ocean. Also, we loved that the homes decor was like that of my childhood while still having updated luxuries. You could honestly cook Christmas dinner in the kitchen it was so well appointed. Location was so convenient to everything! Hoping to return next year! Loved it!!!!!
Reviewed on Jul 24, 2015 by A FlipKey verified reviewer,   Report
         
Someplace Else
4.0/5 stars
3 generations had a good time at this Folly Beach rental. The outdoor space is wonderful and very safe if you have little ones. There were 6 of us sleeping there each night, but often there were 5 more during the day. We had plenty of room. The first day we were there, we met the rental agent and the hostess. Both were accommodating and took care of our questions and concerns. Inadvertently, we left a small item and felt really good that it was cheerfully mailed back to us. I gather that some updates for this home are in progress. If I needed a place for 4 adults, I would stay again. I counted them: 100 steps from our driveway to the beautiful Folly beach -- that can't be beat.
Reviewed on Jul 14, 2015 by Patrice, Indiana   Report

A new dishwasher will be installed July 21, 2015

Manager Response Jul 15, 2015
         
Someplace Else
5.0/5 stars
I grew up summers on Topsail Island, NC and this home brought back so many great childhood memories! BUT......with modern amenities! Dave, the realtor could not have been BETTER! He personally moved heaven and earth to get us in so I could get frozen casseroles in freezer on the oh so busy fourth of July Saturday. Wayyyyy beyond the call of duty. We were stocked with enough towels for a family of 8! Everything was sparkling clorax clean! They even provided summer weight blankets. I simply can't say enough about the MANY decks and views!!!!!! Absolutely awesome, yet private from your neighbors. I loved the location being a bit from Main St., more families, yet close to anything! Marsha, the welcome lady, brought us a lovely bottle of Pinot Gregio and a plate of cookies and explained how to use electronics,etc. Such a lovely personality! Dave worked with me every step of the way from booking to early arrival. He's the absolute best, and I've fealty with all the major realtors down there! All I can say is book it before it gets totally full!!!! Thank you again for everything and I HOPE to return next summer!!!!!
Reviewed on Jul 13, 2015 by Joy, Columbia, SC   Report
         
Someplace Else
5.0/5 stars
Thank you so much for a great stay in your home!! We had such a great week. Everything was clean and nice upon arrival. The manager was helpful and communicated well the day of our arrival. The giant deck overlooking the ocean was a great place for yoga or just hanging out. We would definitely stay there again. Thanks for the hospitality.
Reviewed on Jul 6, 2015 by Stephanie, Fort mill sc   Report
         
Someplace Else
5.0/5 stars
.My wife and I were looking to get away for a quiet week near Charleston and be on the beach. Someplace Else gave us what we needed. Sitting on the deck was like being on a private beach. The bushes on either side made it very private. The rustic feel of the place was just what we were looking for. Every night we sat by the fire. We took long walks on the beach and watched fireworks on New Years Eve down the beach. The location was only a short drive to down town Charleston. Plenty of stores on the way to buy food/gas. If you are looking for clean and cozy, this is the place. Thanks to Dave and Marsha who were very helpful.
Reviewed on Jan 22, 2015 by A FlipKey verified reviewer,   Report
         
Someplace Else
2.0/5 stars
1) Thought we were on beach. However, had beach access. This was not too bad as access was next door. 2) Fans were covered in dust. 3) Tray under ice maker was filthy. 4) House was too cluttered. 5) Silverware trays were filthy. 6) Only one extra roll of toilet tissue was given. 7) Marsha was to come back on Saturday to change out propane tank. She never showed up. However, her welcome was very nice and she was very informative. 8) Decks were very nice. 9) Light switches should be marked. Hard to locate. 10) Why should I have to empty trash and unmake beds if I'm paying $160 cleaning fee? 11) Windows to deck were dirty. 12) Bottom drawer in bedroom was busted. 13) Mirror in bathroom was broken. 14) Top rack of dishwasher was broken. 15) No problem booking house. We will not be staying here again.
Reviewed on Sep 1, 2014 by Ann B, Columbia, South Carolina, United States   Report

I am sorry you found this house less than perfectly clean, I have many reviews where my cleaners are specifically praised. I wish I had heard of your complaints early in your stay rather in a negative review after you departed, I would have sent the cleaners back out. As for the "clutter", I respect individual tastes; other reviews from just before your stay awarded us top marks. Thank you for your comments, it allows me the opportunity to ask all guests to voice their dissatisfaction early so we can help make things right and give everyone a great vacation.

Manager Response Sep 16, 2014
         
Someplace Else
5.0/5 stars
to describe in one word - awesome!! the house is homey - which suited us just fine. it was clean and well laid out. but the deck - that's worth it all right there! the beach at your feet and the ocean beyond - life doesn't get any better than that. the people in the town were friendly as well - all in all - we enjoyed every second. hope to return.
Reviewed on Aug 7, 2014 by A FlipKey verified reviewer,   Report
         
Someplace Else
5.0/5 stars
We loved the cottage, it was very comfortable and clean. The welcome lady was a nice touch with her cookies & wine. She was very helpful on what to see and do. We especially loved the back deck that overlooked the ocean & beach. It was a very relaxing week at the beach!!
Reviewed on May 4, 2014 by Burt, Pa   Report
         
Someplace Else
5.0/5 stars
I felt very lucky to have found this place. My son, who turned 16, wanted to surf at Folly for his birthday, which also happened to fall around his spring break. I did not know that I could make his dream a reality until I found this place and it is truly "Someplace Else". The service was incredible. The "Welcome Lady" (Marsha) gave us a quick tour of the home, gave us valuable information and provided us with "arrival gifts". Everyone enjoyed those! We loved the home, perfect for our needs. The two decks, screened-in-porch, and contemporary bathroom with green sink and stand-up-shower were my personal favorites. The location was great -- very close to where my son and his best friend was to have their surfing lessons. In fact the location was so good, people came to us. Their "surf coach" ended up coming to our location for their follow-up sessions; the owner of the "golf cart" rental delivered and picked up from our location. It worked out great! The amenities were pretty good too. The big bedroom with the queen bed worked out great for my daughter and her friend. Although it was great -- I guess if I could ask for anything to make it perfect, it would be to add a washer and dryer, and a tv for each of the bedrooms. If those things were there and I was independently wealthy, I guess I would never leave. Oh, I almost forgot, the owners paid lots of attention to detail on the interior and exterior, lots of wood, stone, granite, and stucco. Plus we were easy to find, because we were the only copper roof on the beach!! Thanks again. We definitely will be back. My son told me he has a new passion -- which is surfing non-stop!!
Reviewed on Apr 23, 2014 by birdie-mae, SC   Report
         
Someplace Else
5.0/5 stars
This was a wonderful home with the most gorgeous view! Everything you could need in a wonderful home setting. Clean, neat and comfortable. Will make this a habit!!
Reviewed on Oct 15, 2013 by A FlipKey verified reviewer, Kingstree   Report
         
Someplace Else
5.0/5 stars
If one wishes a large modern home with all the accoutrements this place is not for you. But if you wish a place on the ocean with a phenomenal deck and screened in porch at a great value this place cannot be beat. We spent a week in June, 2013 at the home (our 10th season at Folly Beach) and never had more ocean and sand friendly accommodations at such a reasonable price.Patrick Murphy
Reviewed on Jul 3, 2013 by A FlipKey verified reviewer, Riverside Illinois   Report

Thanks, Patrick. You hit the nail on the head.

Manager Response Jul 3, 2013

Similar Properties

Copyright © 2008 - 2018 iTrip LLC