5 mins to Beach! Legendary Shell Station House. A Folly Icon close to all!

Shell Station House
$200 - $365 / night   in Folly Beach  
3 Bedrooms 3 Bathrooms Sleeps 8

Welcome to The "SHELL STATION HOUSE” on Folly Beach, SC (We are Dog Friendly!)

Our POPULAR Vacation Rental on Folly Beach: "The Shell Station," full of true Folly character, is a comfortable, memorable, and peaceful space to spend a family vacation or a reunion with dear friends. Only a few minutes walk (4 blocks) to the beach or 1-1/2 blocks to Center St. (with its casual restaurants and shops). Bert’s, Folly’s 24 hour one-of-a-kind convenient store, is only 2 blocks away. Pack your flip flops, and prepare to relax in this one-of-a-kind “tree house” style, character-filled house! Enjoy New Year's Eve Flip Flop Drop downtown Folly.

Our Folly Beach business license number is LIC-1-18-181656.

Brand new HVAC in 2016/New Furniture/Freshly Painted Screened Porch/New Teak Porch Furniture....WOW!!!

Built in 1976, this eclectic charmer has even been the inspiration for a famed photographer whose photos are featured in a book about Folly Beach! The spiral cast iron/antique staircases that wind through the center of "The Shell Station" have historical lore. The landing of the spiral staircase to the ground floor is even an old carriage stone. It is said that the home was built around these stairs (we’ll share the history in our guest book when you visit).

Park (up to 4 cars &/or maybe a trailer/RV) under the driveway overhang, and climb up the side wooden stairs to the entrance level…

ENTRANCE LEVEL-2ND FLOOR:

DECK/WRAP-AROUND BALCONY

Treated-Wood, Dining for 6 to 8 on NEW Teak Furniture, Gas BBQ Grill, Lush Plants/In the Treetops

Great place to display your Shell Collection!

KITCHEN/DINING/DEN

All room cooled by Central A/C

Fully appointed Kitchen, Dining Table - Seats 6/Place Settings for 12

Brick Wood-burning Fireplace (we provide a starter set of logs in winter)

Seating area with 2 Leather Chairs & Couch

Flat Screen TV with cable, Library, DVD, Movies, WiFi throughout house, Ceiling Fan

GUEST BEDROOM-FULL BED

Full Bed - (A/C self-contained for this room-remote controlled)

French Doors to the Deck/Wrap-around Balcony

Corner Room with wrap-around Views

SCREENED PORCH FROM THE DEN

French Doors to screened porch, comfortable seating, ceiling fan, electricity, & freshly painted!

(Perfect for Happy Hour Tapas or Morning Coffee)…the birds will serenade you!

MASTER BED/FULL BATH - KING BED

King Bed - (A/C controlled by Central Unit), Ceiling Fan, Flat Screen TV

Corner Room with wrap-around Views

Full Bathroom - Shared with Den/Kitchen - Shower/Tub Combo - Vanity with 2 sinks/hairdryer

Climb Iron Spiral Stairs (in the Den) on the 3rd FL to the landing/loft...

LANDING/LOFT-LOOKS OVER THE DEN/KITCHEN-3RD FLOOR:

Complete Stereo + Large speakers + CD Player + Turntable = FUN!

Full Music Library & Vinyl Records & a clever driftwood floor lamp to light the way!

GUEST BEDROOM-FULL BED-FULL BATHROOM

Full Bed/Built-in Shelves to house library, A/C self-contained for this room)

Full Attached Bath - Euro-style tub with hand-held fixtures, sink/vanity

Climb down 2 flights of the spiral stairs to the ground floor...checkout the antique brick carriage stone on the landing!

GREAT ROOM/LAUNDRY ROOM/FULL BATHROOM -GROUND FLOOR:

GREAT ROOM/SLEEPING AREA

Brick Fireplace on BEAUTIFUL Carolina Brick wall with historic built-ins (we provide starter logs in winter)

2 NEW Full Futons, Professional Brunswick Foosball table, Mini-Bar, games, library, towels/beach bag valet, Large Flat Screen TV

LAUNDRY ROOM

Large Capacity Washer/Dryer, Iron/Board, Cooler, Beach Chairs, 6 beach blankets, Vacuum, Beach Buckets, mini-fridge (for all the water bottles, etc)

FULL BATHROOM + BRAND NEW large ROMAN Travertine Marble SHOWER

Please notify us if you have a "Dog Visitor" among your group, as we do have a "Pet Friendly Fee".

"The Shell Station" invites renters 25 and older (renter's house guests may be younger, of course).

Come Visit, Y’all, and Enjoy the Beach! We know you will be able to Relax and Unwind!

*2016, Travel+Leisure JUST rated Charleston #1 WORLD'S BEST CITY!!!

*April 2016, Condé Nast Traveler JUST rated Charleston #1 BEST FOOD CITY IN THE U.S!!

*Oct. 2012, Condé Nast Travelers just chose Charleston the #1 vacation destination in the entire world!

*GQ Magazine named Charleston SC the #1 vacation spot for 2011, The Coolest Small City in America.

*Charleston SC is one of only two U.S. cities to make travel guide Fodor's top 21 places to go in the world this year, citing Charleston as a "buzzy destination" for its restaurants, scenery, and festivals, and for leading a Southern food revival.

Non-Smoking, Please! This is a Family Friendly property.

Please NO PARTIES, EVENTS, PERFORMING ARTISTS OR BANDS ARE ALLOWED AT ANY TIME. These are cause for eviction with no refund and may damage our ability to offer the home for future guests exposing you to liability. Please be respectful of the neighbors at all times!

*ITRIP-VACATIONS® CHARLESTON IS THE SOLE AUTHORIZED SOURCE FOR THIS PROPERTY. WE NEVER ADVERTISE ANY PROPERTIES ON CRAIGSLIST.

203 E Hudson Ave Folly Beach, SC 29439
Info
Property Type: Home Beds: 5 Accomodates: 8 Check In: : 4pm Bedrooms: 3 Check Out: : 10am Bathrooms: 3.0 Pet Friendly: Yes
Amenities
Air Conditioning BBQ Grill Cable Clothes Dryer Coffee Maker DVD Dishwasher Family Friendly Fireplace Hair Dryer Internet Internet Access Iron and Board Kitchen Laundry Microwave Pets Allowed Pets Considered Refrigerator Stereo WIFI Washing Machine
Check the FAQ
Calendar
Unavailable Days
Select your trip dates.
Arrival
Departure
Contact Manager

Phone (843) 303-9225
Rates
  • Cleaning Service+Linens,Towels,Starter Paper/Soaps:  $260
  • Security Deposit:  $500 - A Security Deposit will not be charged or refunded if a Limited Damage Waiver is available and selected.
  • Rental Deposit:  35%
  • Minimum Nights:  3 - Unless otherwise noted.
Feb 25 - Mar 3, 2018
M2 W4 18
$286.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $241.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,491.00 /Week  
Mar 4 - Mar 10, 2018
M3 W1 18
$286.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $241.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,491.00 /Week  
Mar 11 - Mar 11, 2018
M3 W2 18 Spring Break & Fashion Week
$286.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $241.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,491.00 /Week  
Mar 12 - Mar 17, 2018
M3 W2 18 Spring Break & Fashion Week
$301.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $254.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,568.00 /Week  
Mar 18 - Mar 24, 2018
M3 W3 18 Spring Break
$301.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $254.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,568.00 /Week  
Mar 25 - Mar 31, 2018
M3 W4 18 Pre-Easter
$301.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $254.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,568.00 /Week  
Apr 1 - Apr 4, 2018
M4 W1 18 Easter & Bridge Run & Tennis
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $310.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $2,065.00 /Week  
Apr 5 - Apr 6, 2018
M4 W1 18 Easter & Bridge Run & Tennis
$403.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $326.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $2,170.00 /Week  
Apr 7 - Apr 7, 2018
M4 W1 18 Easter & Bridge Run & Tennis
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $310.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $2,065.00 /Week  
Apr 8 - Apr 9, 2018
M4 W2 18
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $260.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,715.00 /Week  
Apr 10 - Apr 10, 2018
M4 W2 18
$365.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $247.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,631.00 /Week  
Apr 11 - Apr 14, 2018
M4 W2 18
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $260.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,715.00 /Week  
Apr 15 - Apr 21, 2018
M4 W3 18
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $260.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,715.00 /Week  
Apr 22 - Apr 28, 2018
M4 W4 18
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $260.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,715.00 /Week  
Apr 29 - May 5, 2018
M5 W1 18
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $260.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,715.00 /Week  
May 6 - May 12, 2018
M5 W2 18
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $260.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,715.00 /Week  
May 13 - May 19, 2018
M5 W3 18 Mothers Day
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $260.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,715.00 /Week  
May 20 - May 26, 2018
M5 W4 18
$413.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $345.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $2,170.00 /Week  
May 27 - Jun 2, 2018
M5 W5 18 Memorial Day & Spoleto
$413.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $345.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $2,170.00 /Week  
Jun 3 - Jun 9, 2018
M6 W1 18 Spoleto
$413.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $345.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $2,170.00 /Week  
Jun 10 - Jun 16, 2018
M6 W2 18
$413.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $345.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $2,170.00 /Week  
Jun 17 - Jun 23, 2018
M6 W3 18 Father Day
$391.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $335.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $2,240.00 /Week  
Jun 24 - Jun 24, 2018
M6 W4 18
$391.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $335.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $2,240.00 /Week  
Jun 25 - Jun 29, 2018
M6 W4 18
$411.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $352.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $2,352.00 /Week  
Jun 30 - Jun 30, 2018
M6 W4 18
$391.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $335.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $2,240.00 /Week  
Jul 1 - Jul 7, 2018
M7 W1 18 July 4
$435.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $365.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $2,450.00 /Week   Minimum Nights: 4  
Jul 8 - Jul 14, 2018
M7 W2 18
$391.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $335.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $2,240.00 /Week  
Jul 15 - Jul 21, 2018
M7 W3 18
$391.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $335.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $2,240.00 /Week  
Jul 22 - Jul 28, 2018
M7 W4 18
$391.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $335.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $2,240.00 /Week  
Jul 29 - Aug 4, 2018
M8 W1 18
$391.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $335.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $2,240.00 /Week  
Aug 5 - Aug 11, 2018
M8 W2 18
$391.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $335.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $2,240.00 /Week  
Aug 12 - Aug 18, 2018
M8 W3 18
$391.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $335.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $2,240.00 /Week  
Aug 19 - Aug 25, 2018
M8 W4 18
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $260.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,715.00 /Week  
Aug 26 - Sep 1, 2018
M8 W5 18
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $260.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,715.00 /Week  
Sep 2 - Sep 8, 2018
M9 W1 18 Labor Day
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $260.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,715.00 /Week  
Sep 9 - Sep 15, 2018
M9 W2 18
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $260.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,715.00 /Week  
Sep 16 - Sep 22, 2018
M9 W3 18
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $260.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,715.00 /Week  
Sep 23 - Sep 29, 2018
M9 W4 18
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $260.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,715.00 /Week  
Sep 30 - Oct 6, 2018
M10 W1 18
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $235.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,540.00 /Week  
Oct 7 - Oct 13, 2018
M10 W2 18 Colombus Day
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $235.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,540.00 /Week  
Oct 14 - Oct 20, 2018
M10 W3 18
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $235.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,540.00 /Week  
Oct 21 - Oct 27, 2018
M10 W4 18
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $235.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,540.00 /Week  
Oct 28 - Nov 3, 2018
M10 W5 18 Halloween
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $200.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,295.00 /Week  
Nov 4 - Nov 10, 2018
M11 W1 18
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $200.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,295.00 /Week  
Nov 11 - Nov 17, 2018
M11 W2 18 Festival of Lights Begins
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $200.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,295.00 /Week  
Nov 18 - Nov 24, 2018
M11 W3 18 Thanksgiving
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $260.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,715.00 /Week  
Nov 25 - Dec 1, 2018
M11 W4 18
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $200.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,295.00 /Week  
Dec 2 - Dec 8, 2018
M12 W1 18 Kiawah Marathon
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $200.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,295.00 /Week  
Dec 9 - Dec 15, 2018
M12 W2 18
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $200.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,295.00 /Week  
Dec 16 - Dec 22, 2018
M12 W3 18
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $200.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,295.00 /Week  
Dec 23 - Dec 29, 2018
M12 W4 18 Christmas Day
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $245.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,610.00 /Week  
Dec 30 - Jan 5, 2019
M1 W1 19 New Years Day
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $245.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,610.00 /Week  
Jan 6 - Jan 12, 2019
M1 W2 19
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $200.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,295.00 /Week  
Jan 13 - Jan 19, 2019
M1 W3 19 MLK Day
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $200.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,295.00 /Week  
Jan 20 - Jan 26, 2019
M1 W4 19
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $200.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,295.00 /Week  
Jan 27 - Feb 2, 2019
M1 W5 19
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $200.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,295.00 /Week  
Feb 3 - Feb 9, 2019
M2 W1 19
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $200.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,295.00 /Week  
Feb 10 - Feb 16, 2019
M2 W2 19 Valentines Day
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $200.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,295.00 /Week  
Feb 17 - Feb 23, 2019
M2 W3 19
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $200.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,295.00 /Week  
Feb 24 - Feb 24, 2019
M2 W4 19 Food & Wine
$384.00 Thursday|Friday|Saturday   $200.00 Sunday|Monday|Tuesday|Wednesday $1,295.00 /Week  
* Please Note: Taxes, fees, and deposits will affect the trip cost.
Photos
Map
Videos
Reviews - 4.8 stars based on 24 reviews
         
Shell Station House
5.0/5 stars
...AND we love the Shell House! Our week-long stay was even better than we anticipated. Plenty of space for everyone, easy for all to come and go after we coded in a simple pass #, SO close to everything, especially Bert's. (Yay Bert's!) Went to Charleston one or two days, but mostly wanted to stay in our Folly Bubble. Owner checked in with us by phone on our first day to see if we needed anything. We didn't have any issues with the house, clean and lovely, kitchen implements were well stocked, was perfect for our wants and needs, and we will definitely rent again. Also highly recommend renting bikes to bike to the lighthouse (thanks Matt). If you want to be close to all that Folly has to offer, this is the place.
Reviewed on Dec 31, 2017 by Cindy, Eggleston, VA   Report

Thank you Cindy for painting this picture in words for future guests! We are so happy that you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay...we look forward to your return soon! -iTrip Vacations Charleston Team

Manager Response Jan 1, 2018
         
Shell Station House
5.0/5 stars
Beds were comfortable and kitchen well stocked. I brought my own large roasting pan as we were there for Thanksgiving. The futon not as comfy for sleeping, but my college aged son didn't mind really. He was excited to find a pilsner glass there from a local bar at his university in PA! Spiral stairs are fine for most, but definitely not for elderly or super young IMO. My mother in law tried them to see the other levels, but wasn't super comfortable doing so. Heat didn't work the first night but we found a space heater. The following day we called David, and it was fixed within the hour. Fantastic!
Reviewed on Nov 28, 2017 by Deb, adamstown, MD   Report

Patty! Terrific to hear that you enjoyed your family Thanksgiving stay at The Shell Station House in Folly Beach, SC! It is a special place to create fun memories! So glad to hear that you were comfortable, and we were able to solve the heating issue for you. It was one the first cold weekends in Charleston Area and kicking on the heat for the first time in months can be a challenge. Thank you for your patience with this. We are hoping you can come back soon and enjoy FB soon! -iTrip Vacations Charleston East Team!

Manager Response Nov 28, 2017
         
Shell Station House
5.0/5 stars
My family and I enjoyed our stay at Folly Beach in the Shell House. The open floor plan on the main level was perfect for hanging out with family. The house is located close to everything...a quick walk to the beach, restaurants, and market (Bert's convenience store had just about everything we needed, including an ABC store....wish I had known before driving to supermarket!!!). Great visit and we would definitely want to come again!!!
Reviewed on Oct 11, 2017 by Patty, Fairfax Station, VIRGINIA   Report

Thank you, Patty for your quick review! Bert's is the BEST and yes, just around the corner. We have it in the guest booklet, along with more interesting tidbits of eclectic FB! So wonderful to catch-up/relax with family! Lucky you!! Hope to have you back really soon! -iTrip Vacations Charleston East Team

Manager Response Oct 12, 2017
         
Shell Station House
5.0/5 stars
10/10 would stay again, would recommend to anyone looking to stay in Folly Beach. House was clean, and checkin was made easy with the keypad lock. Hosts were extremely accommodating even though we arrive earlier than expected. Stereo with record collection and laundry room were unexpted luxuries for a beach weekend. Great elevated deck and grill were perfect way to end a day at the beach. Thank you for a lovely visit to Charleston!
Reviewed on Sep 7, 2017 by Philip, new york, NY   Report

Philip, thank you so much for this review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the lovely "Shell Station House!" It is so central to all things fun Folly Beach! We look forward to your return to "The Edge of America!" - iTrip Vacations - Charleston East

Manager Response Sep 22, 2017
         
Shell Station House
5.0/5 stars
The Shell Station house on Folly Beach was an awesome experience. It was conveniently located within 2 blocks of all the major bars/restaurants on Folly and we had a wonderful experience. It was easy to set up and the pictures perfectly described the house. Thanks for the wonderful trip and hope to see you again sometime!
Reviewed on Jul 26, 2017 by Michael, Pittsburgh, PA   Report

We appreciate that you took the time to review, Michael! We appreciate your stay and are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location/convenience and this lovely home! It is really interesting with all it's history and charm, no? Gotta love the record collection!! -iTrip Vacations Charleston East Team

Manager Response Jul 27, 2017
         
Shell Station House
5.0/5 stars
Our family loved staying at the Shell House. Comfortable, roomy, convenient...it was everything we wanted and more. We will definitely be back!
Reviewed on Jul 23, 2017 by Jonathan, Anderson, SC   Report

Terrific Jonathan! Thank you for this wonderful review! We would be delighted to have you back! -iTrip Vacations - Charleston East Team

Manager Response Jul 24, 2017
         
Shell Station House
3.0/5 stars
We stayed from a Sun-Wed. House was in a great location and the deck was a nice place to relax. The house was very clean and the towels were nice and fluffy. Our only big complaint is that the spiral staircase was very narrow and almost impossible to get luggage up or down. Not kid safe as the gate wouldn't stay closed. Minor issues were that door was always locking behind us and it would have been nice to have a code to keep it open. The king beg was also lacking in support and looked very old as you could see body indentions. We contacted Dave the house manager about lack of a trash can and never heard back from him although 2 showed up on the day we left. More cleaning supplies would be helpful also.
Reviewed on Jun 25, 2017 by Gigi, Charleston, SC   Report

Thank you for your review. Our guests are supplied with instructions once they have opened the lock for the first time that allows them to reprogram a very simple code of their choosing. This is the main entrance to the home, and we have to employ this safety feature. Many people with small children appreciate this feature. I did contact these guests asking them to confirm receipt of the new trash bins, but never heard from them. Homes are at the mercy of the Town of Folly Beach's schedule. Sorry that you found the bed uncomfortable, had we known we could have provided a topper to the mattress for you. As advertised, and per our phone conversation prior to your arrival, we provide a Starter Set of Soaps and Kitchen/Bath paper & Bags (as is also standard in the industry here on Folly Beach). -iTrip Vacations Charleston East Team

Manager Response Jun 25, 2017
         
Shell Station House
4.0/5 stars
The house was located about 3 blocks from the beach and about the same from town. Great location to all the night life, my grown sons walked everywhere for entertainment. The house was also a great space, nice porches, bedrooms, and common areas. The house is decorated with style and we loved the turntable and albums! The only issues we had upon check-in were that the floors were not clean and there was limited paper products. The upstairs room was also fairly warm, the air conditioner had problems keeping it cool. Overall this is a great house for a large family.
Reviewed on Jun 12, 2017 by Meurt,   Report

Thank you very much for this review. We are happy you enjoyed Folly Beach and The Shell Station House. It is multi-layered and multifaceted. If the porch or deck door is left open, then it becomes difficult to maintain the temperature, especially on steamy S. C. days. (Wish we had known about the floors, as we would have sent our cleaning crew there immediately to make the situation better for you.) As advertised, we supply a "starter set" of paper (usually 1 or 2 days worth) an if a guest is staying longer, you may need to bring more. (This is standard practice with Vacation Rentals). But, again, we would have been delighted to run more over for you. Hope you can return soon so that we can earn 5 stars next time! -iTrip Vacations - Charleston East Team

Manager Response Jun 13, 2017
         
Shell Station House
5.0/5 stars
100% perfect! We had one initial issue with the digital lock, but it was addressed immidiately dealt with by Dave.
Reviewed on Apr 26, 2017 by Debra, Charleston, SC   Report

We appreciate your patience with this lock, we apologize for any inconvenience it caused. Glad to hear that y'all enjoyed Folly Beach and the beautiful Shell Station House. - iTrip Vacations Charleston East Team

Manager Response Apr 29, 2017
         
Shell Station House
5.0/5 stars
Last week, I fell in love with Folly Beach! The people are so nice, friendly, and love to have a good time. The Shell Station house was 2-3 blocks away from everything we needed, we never even started the car up again once we got there. Restaurants, coffee, 24/7 grocery, beach, good times were just steps away from this lovely home. We were traveling with ~8 of our closest friends and this house have plenty of room for us to spread out! We especially love the Foosball table and all the games the house had already there! I can't wait to visit again:)
Reviewed on Apr 12, 2017 by Talia, Austin, TX   Report

Ha! Talia!! Thanks for the review of The Legendary Shell Station House!! :) So...that Foosball has provided fun for many! So glad you enjoyed the Laid Back feelings of Folly and all the friendliness and location to everything! Hopefully you discovered the AMAZING record collection in the loft, too! Thanks again, iTrip Vacations Charleston Team

Manager Response Apr 13, 2017
         
Shell Station House
5.0/5 stars
Great house to experience Folly Beach. Easy walk to Beach and downtown restaurants and stores. Kids enjoyed the spiral bookcase and having their own bedrooms. Shell Station had all the amenities needed for our family of five to enjoy our visit with plenty of space for bigger groups.
Reviewed on Apr 8, 2017 by Greg, Bad Axe, MI   Report

Greg, thank you for this review! The spiral staircase is historic...came from an old firehouse, and the landing is the actual carriage landing from when the home was built...lots of legend and love has made this home a popular spot for guests year after year! -iTrip Vacations Charleston Team

Manager Response Apr 9, 2017
         
Shell Station House
5.0/5 stars
Overall excellent stay. House is very comfortable, has immense charm, perfect location for enjoying Folly Beach restaurants, etc., a short stroll to the beach, a block from the justly fabled Bert's Market. Promised amenities were all there and working. Really liked and took advantage of the screened-in porch. And Dave Rockey did a superb job getting heating fixed as soon as I texted him that it wasn't working. Impressed in general w/ management responsiveness. One or two minor quibbles - house could use a more thorough cleaning. Once we got below the surface (e.g., using baking pans) we had to do some pre-use washing, and oven really needs to be cleaned. Rather astonishing, too, to find that there were only 2 wineglasses, and they were plastic. Yet, three corkscrews...
Reviewed on Dec 5, 2016 by A FlipKey verified reviewer,   Report

Thank you for your stay and your review. We appreciate being notified of where we may have fallen short temporarily, and promise to address those issues immediately.

Manager Response Dec 7, 2016
         
Shell Station House
4.0/5 stars
You can't beat the location of the Shell House. Very short walk to restaurants and beach.Clean,comfortable beds,fluffy towels lots of room inside and out for large gatherings.Spiral staircase very pretty and functional but not easy for old dogs or old bones (mine) However,the main floor is large and with 2 bedrooms and a bath this was not a big issue for any of us.The lower floor is enormous and would be great for teens or large families.Had a great time.
Reviewed on Nov 1, 2016 by Andrea, Blacksburg   Report

Thank you, Andrea, for that wonderful review! We are happy you were comfortable and enjoyed this wonderful home and space! - iTrip Charleston East Team

Manager Response Nov 3, 2016
         
Shell Station House
4.0/5 stars
Firstly, the location and size of this house is great. We also loved the off street parking, multilevel living spaces, screened in porch and open back porch. Ring toss!! We could walk to Bert's 24 hour market just a couple blocks away and the beach is a very short walk, too. We also could easily walk to downtown Folly restaurants and in our case, Folly Pallooza. Our only complaints were as follows: The lock is on a timer so you can't get into the house until exactly your check in time and the host was not at all accommodating to checking in even 10 minutes early. There was only one roll of toilet paper and one roll of paper towels in the whole house. There was a minor maintenance issue in the basement and after I reported it, I came downstairs to find the housekeeper had been directed to let herself in to look into it. While the quick response was appreciated, a knock or any sort of notice would have appreciated. Then she left her sunglasses and I was expected to coordinate a time to meet her at the house to turn them over. This was just a really annoying scenario considering how much we had paid for a private rental. There's only one bar of soap per bathroom so bring your own hand soap, shampoo, conditioner and anything else. There's no dish soap, laundry detergent, beach chairs, salt and pepper or any other product which is commonly purchased by renters and left for future renters. I'm guessing the house keepers are hoarding all of these things or even more terrifyingly wasteful - throwing them out. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and the house but those few little conveniences would have gone a long way and will be much appreciated by future guests.
Reviewed on Oct 25, 2016 by Claire, Washington, DC   Report

Thanks for the review, with all the complaints the 4 stars must represent that the house was terrific. The door lock is on a timer that coordinates with the checkin and checkout times provided to guests. I am happy to accommodate early checkins and late checkouts when possible, but it is a process that could take ten minutes to accomplish in the best of circumstances. The minor maintenance issue was described to us as water on the ground-level laundry room floor. This level also has a large living/sleeping area and one of the 3 bathrooms. (As it turned out, a gallon of water in a locked storage cabinet had been knocked over and was leaking.) Of course we sent someone to investigate immediately, and it happened to be the supervisor of the cleaning crew. She encountered one adult of the guest party on the deck before entering the house, and we never enter a rental without announcing ourselves as we open the door. She did leave an expensive pair of sunglasses in the laundry room, a birthday gift. I contacted the guest and asked her to leave them on a stand just inside the entrance door, the cleaners would retrieve them after the guests' stay was finished. Instead, the guest forwarded me a picture as to where she had left the sunglasses outside on the top of a small shed! I contacted her again to leave them safely inside. This was the only coordination requested. There was indeed a starter set of soaps and paper products, which includes a roll of toilet paper in each bathroom, a bar of soap on the towel sets in every bedroom, a roll of paper towels for the kitchen, and tabs for the dishwasher, all of which is advertised in our listings. Beach chairs are stored in a shed under the house, that information was left out of the Check In Procedures, and has been corrected. Please call with any questions. Salt and pepper will be in the rental if left behind by previous guests, but laundry supplies and kitchen seasonings one should anticipate bringing or purchasing locally.

Manager Response Oct 26, 2016
         
Shell Station House
5.0/5 stars
The Shell Station House was perfect for our vacation. The house layout was great if you wanted some alone time. We celebrated an Anniversary and a birthday all in one week there.
Reviewed on Sep 19, 2016 by Michael, Inman SC   Report

Thank you for your review, Michael! "The Shell Station House" is perfect for celebrating family, fun, and life!! Come back to Folly Beach really soon!! -iTrip Charleston Team

Manager Response Oct 25, 2016
         
Shell Station House
4.0/5 stars
This house is great- very comfortable, affordable, amazing location. That said, there are some things to note- one of the showers is very short so you really have to sit down in it to shower- it's maybe meant to just be a bath. Also, there was no toilet paper, no dishwashing detergent, no trash bags, and no paper towels. So if you plan on staying here, it's probably a good idea to pack that stuff in- it's not cheap to buy it on Folly! The location is great though- close to the main street and the beach, and they had beach toys! Boogie boards and chairs and a little dolly to carry stuff to the beach- that stuff was much appreciated. The spiral staircase can be pretty lethal though.
Reviewed on Aug 16, 2016 by Kaitlyn, Denver   Report

I am so sorry the stater set of supplies was not present upon your arrival. With our listing stating that a starter set of soap and paper products is included in the cleaning fee, we would have remedied the situation immediately. The spiral staircase is quite tight, but very safe with its hand rail.

Manager Response Aug 16, 2016
         
Shell Station House
5.0/5 stars
Love Love Love the house, everyone was great to deal with. We will rent again..
Reviewed on Jul 31, 2016 by Dawn, Mascoutah   Report

Wonderful! We are so happy that y'all enjoyed your experience! Thank you for this kind review! -iTrip Vacations Charleston Team

Manager Response Aug 1, 2016
         
Shell Station House
5.0/5 stars
My friends and I absolutely loved our stay at the Shell Station House! Everything was so nice, there were lots of options for activities, and accommodations were met for all of us! We also loved that we were able to do a quick walk to the beach and downtown as well as have a cheap Uber to downtown Charleston. We highly recommend staying at the Shell Station House!
Reviewed on Jul 23, 2016 by Carlon, Greenville, SC   Report

That is Terrific!! We are thrilled that you were comfortable and found all the accommodations were just as y'all expected! Uber is a quick and easy way to travel to Downtown Charleston (avoiding the parking garage fees...smart!) Your information is so important and helpful to future visitors. Thank you for this informative review! - iTrip Vacations - Charleston Team

Manager Response Jul 24, 2016
         
Shell Station House
5.0/5 stars
house was great, we loved it!!
Reviewed on Jul 7, 2016 by Christine, denver, nc   Report

Thank you for your review! Y'all come back to see us really soon! - iTrip Vacations-Charleston Team!

Manager Response Jul 7, 2016
         
Shell Station House
5.0/5 stars
My friends and I rented the Shell Station House on Folly Beach for a long weekend and, to say the least, we were very pleased with the stay. The Shell Station House has a fantastic location at Folly Beach; where it is walking distance to both the beach and the downtown area. During the day we had a great time at the beach and, for the evening, we were able to walk to the different bars that Folly Beach had to offer.
Reviewed on Jun 4, 2016 by Mark, Charlotte   Report

The Legendary Shell Station House is so convenient to EVERYTHING FOLLY! We are happy you were comfortable and enjoyed it all! Thank you for the review as it helps future guests know that we are so close to everything.

Manager Response Jun 4, 2016
         
Shell Station House
5.0/5 stars
The beach house was fantastic. It was much bigger and roomier than we expected. The house was charming and had alot of unexpected treasures, like the beautiful spiral staircase, the screened in patio and the upstairs deck. Having additional wall unit air conditioners in the bedrooms (in an addition to central air) was an added plus. The walking distance to the beach and to the local restaurants (which were amazing) made for a perfect vacation destination. The management agent - Elizabeth Donn - was very professional, super helpful and a total delight. The only downside was one of the bedrooms did not have a TV, but there was so much to do there was no time for TV watching and the wifi connection was great. Love this property and Folly Beach and would return in a heartbeat!!
Reviewed on Mar 14, 2016 by Joann, Ponte Vedra, Florida   Report

Thank you so much for your LOVELY review...we are glad that you had so much fun and enjoyed the charm of the LEGENDARY Shell Station House and FB! Come on back next year! We appreciate your kind words and helpful descriptions to help our future guests.

Manager Response Jul 27, 2016
         
Shell Station House
5.0/5 stars
This house was great! Dave Rockey was very accommodating! We had a little trouble with the lock on the door and he immediately came to fix it for us! The house itself was beautiful and comfortably fit 10 people! It is right down the street from the shops and restaurants and a 6 minute walk from the beach! There is no need to even get in your car, unless you want to go to Charleston which is a 10 minute drive! This vacation was ideal and the house was so perfect!
Reviewed on Mar 12, 2016 by Molly, Athens, Ga   Report

Thank you for your kind review, but just so future guests understand, the MAXIMUM guest capacity is 8 Guests. We can provide Air Mattress(es)+bedding for a fee, but any guest count over 8 needs to be pre-approved.

Manager Response Jul 27, 2016
         
Shell Station House
5.0/5 stars
We had such a wonderful time at this house last weekend and everyone at itrip made the visits easy and accommodating. The house is cozy without being cramped, has character but is clean and sharp, and the location is so convenient. We will be back, no doubt about it.
Reviewed on Mar 1, 2016 by LC, Camden   Report

Thank you for this review. This Folly Beach charmer is convenient and comfortable. We are happy to have you again, soon!

Manager Response Jun 4, 2016
         
Shell Station House
5.0/5 stars
I booked this reservation for a group of 8 to celebrate a friend's upcoming wedding. We had very high expectations based on the reviews and I can absolutely say that our expectations were far exceeded. The house was simply amazing. The enormous open layout of the dining room, living area and kitchen brought everyone together. We loved the accessibility of everything in the kitchen. There were more than enough dishes, utensils, cooking tools, etc. to allow us to cook many great meals for a large group. The spiral staircase bridging the lower level all the way through the center of the house to the upper (3rd) level gave the house such charm and community. The third floor provided for a quaint and private bedroom with a dedicated bathroom, and a balcony with awesome speakers connected to a record player that worked! Many great records were available (some favorites of ours included Simon and Garfunkel, The Doors and Sinatra!). The 2 bedrooms on the main (middle) floor were also very spacious and gave the couples in our group plenty of room for privacy. It's hard to choose where we enjoyed spending time most but the bottom level may have been the crowd favorite. Also a very open layout, we enjoyed playing board games (part of the house!), fooseball and hanging on the very comfortable couches/futons, late into the night. The downstairs bathroom was an added bonus and had one of the best showers I've ever taken. We also enjoyed the large deck at the back of the house -- we ate breakfast out there most mornings, except when the bugs were out, in which case the screened in porch at the front of the house was perfect! The location of the house couldn't have been better either. 4th row from the waterfront put us so close to the ocean it was wonderful taking morning and evening strolls to the shore. And for such a wonderful house, it's crazy how affordable it was! The house is also just a block or two from a great mini-grocery store which had most of everything we needed -- every day staples, plus prepared food and beer of course-AND they're open 24/7! And for all our other grocery needs-there's a Harris Teeter not 10 minutes away that has everything. There are a few really cool beachy bars on the way to the water and some amazing seafood restaurants all within walking distance. It was seriously hard for us to leave -- we all agreed we wished we could have stayed at least the rest of the week. Folly Beach is such a perfect juxtaposition of a pretty isolated island feel -- as if you're a thousand miles from your stresses and the hustle and bustle of the everyday grind, combined with amazing accessibility to bars, restaurants and shops -- perfectly suited to the Shell Station House. I truly look forward to returning. And I have to add that the trip was made that much better by Elizabeth Donn, who made the reservation for me through iTrip. She was so helpful and easy to work with. She always answered the phone every time I called and could not be more pleasant and genuine. And after returning home, when I realized that we had left some of our belongings at the house, she immediately made the effort to find our things, and ship them back up to New York for me. I couldn't be more thankful to her -- she made the trip completely relaxing and gave me a feel that, everything is taken care of -- exactly what I needed. Thank you Elizabeth.
Reviewed on Sep 16, 2015 by Steve, New York, NY   Report

Thank you so much for your detailed review and words! We are thrilled that you were comfortable and that everything worked out as planned! We are even more happy that "Jack" (our new favorite visitor) was found & made "his" way back safely! His "overstay" initiated laughter and love in the midst of our crazy, busy lives..."only on FB!!" lol! Thanks for the laughs! -iTrip Vacations - Charleston/Folly Beach/IOP Team

Manager Response Jul 27, 2016

Similar Properties

Copyright © 2008 - 2018 iTrip LLC