Walk to Upper King St. Historic downtown Charleston retreat. Off-street parking for 2 cars included.

Sweet Spacious Suite
$178.86 - $277 / night   in Charleston  
2 Bedrooms 2 Bathrooms Sleeps 4

WALK TO KING STREET! Located near Charleston's newest restaurant & nightlife area on upper King Street, this 2-story loft-townhouse offers guests quick access to fabulous shopping, restaurants & entertainment AND a comfortable retreat within the city where you can rest and relax. Guests enter this duplex from the back of the building via their own private porch. Upon entering the home, you will find hardwood floors throughout, an open floor plan for the living room & kitchen area and an abundance of natural light spilling in through the windows. Both bedrooms are located up the stairs, each with their own Charleston piazza and attached bathroom. Off-street parking on the driveway for up to two cars is included in the rental rate. This home is perfect for two couples, a girls or guys' weekend, a family getaway and more!

This is a legal short term rental! Our Charleston business license number is BL004711-09-2016.

SLEEPING ARRANGEMENTS (sleeps 4 and an air mattress is available):

First bedroom (upstairs):

- Queen size bed

- Ceiling fan

- Private porch

- En suite bathroom

- Plenty of drawer and hanging space!

Second bedroom (upstairs):

- Queen size bed

- Ceiling fan

- Private porch

- En suite bathroom

- Plenty of drawer and hanging space too!

AMENITIES:

- High speed WIFI

- Open kitchen & living room layout

- Microwave

- Toaster

- Dishwasher

- Washer & dryer

- Garbage disposal

- Coffee maker

- Wine refrigerator

A luxury PACK N PLAY and an air mattress are available for an additional charge (subject to availability).

Perfect for those attending a Charleston Wedding, College of Charleston or Citadel orientation or graduation, or just a fun week in the # 1 city in the world!

LOCATION:

With close proximity to upper King Street and the Crosstown (Septima P. Clark Parkway), the location of this home enables guests to walk to restaurants, shops & other cultural delights and provides quick road access to Mt. Pleasant, West Ashley, all local beaches, Charleston County parks, historic plantation homes along the Ashley River and other local attractions. There are a lot of new local restaurants -- as well as all the offerings of Upper King Street -- within a couple of minutes stroll from the Sweet Spacious Suite. With D'Allesandros Pizza (a local pizza institution), Brown's Court Bakery (amazing breads & pastries) and the Ordinary (high end oyster & seafood restaurant) a couple of blocks, guests have many unique local food options to explore. Walk to Barsa for some Tapas or visit the Daily for some coffee or locally made Kombucha!

This is the best neighborhood in Charleston if you are looking to be steps away from King Street and experience the area as a local in a transitional neighborhood among new residents of the city, students and longtime local families. The diversity and richness of history in the Cannonborough-Elliotborough neighborhood makes this part of town desirable to locals and visitors alike. Sweet Spacious Suite is perfect for folks who enjoy a diverse, vibrant and eclectic neighborhood where you can watch the reinvestment & revitalization in old historic properties going on in real time. Parts of the neighborhood might still look a bit rough but it is safe. This neighborhood was recently profiled by the WALL ST JOURNAL in April 2017 as "THE PLACE TO STAY IN CHARLESTON" and it's also where Jamie Lee Curtis stayed - and walked her dog every morning - while shooting the 2018 remake of the Halloween movie!

HOUSE RULES:

- No smoking.

- Dogs may be permitted subject to additional rules & restrictions. (Please notify us in advance of your arrival if you would like your dog to accompany you during your stay.)

- Please include all guests (including children/infants) in your booking. If you need to add guests after your booking, then please contact us as soon as possible.

- Although this home is very close to the sights & sounds of downtown Charleston, this property is located in a quiet residential neighborhood. We expect guests to behave in a neighborly way. Parties are not permitted at anytime. Please no excessive noise and no unregistered guests during quiet hours (10:00 pm to 8:00 am Sunday through Thursday nights and midnight to 10:00 am on Friday and Saturday nights).

############## About Our Properties ##############

Guests staying at all Charleston Beaches managed properties receive the following:

* Welcome pack gifts.

* Amenity pack, containing individual sized soap, shampoos, conditioner, moisturizer and make up remover wipes.

* Starter pack, containing paper towels, toilet rolls, dish soap, scrubber and dishwasher liquid to get you going for your stay.

* All beds are ready made for you with towels laid out so you can start your vacation as soon as you step in the door.

256 St. Philip Street Charleston, SC 29403
Info
Property Type: Townhome Beds: 2 Accommodates: 4 Check In: : 4pm Bedrooms: 2 Check Out: : 10am Bathrooms: 2.0 Pet Friendly: Yes
Amenities
Air Conditioning BBQ Grill Balcony Clothes Dryer Coffee Maker Dishwasher Family Friendly Hair Dryer Iron and Board Kitchen Microwave Pack N Play Pets Allowed Pets Considered Refrigerator WIFI Washing Machine
Check the FAQ
Calendar
Unavailable Days
Select your trip dates.
Arrival
Departure
Contact Manager

Phone (843) 303-9225
Photos
Map
Videos
Reviews - 4.6 stars based on 9 reviews
         
Sweet Spacious Suite
5.0/5 stars
Great place to stay with excellent privacy and has that Charleston character
Reviewed on Nov 19, 2018 by Elvis, Seattle, WA   Report

Thank you Elvis. We love that Charleston character too! Steven

Manager Response Nov 19, 2018
         
Sweet Spacious Suite
5.0/5 stars
Great place! Walking to fun shopping and restaurants, definitely recommend!
Reviewed on Oct 16, 2018 by Martha, Lake Charles, LA   Report

Thank you Martha! Succinct and the point. We love it! Steven

Manager Response Oct 16, 2018
         
Sweet Spacious Suite
5.0/5 stars
Our apartment was spacious, clean and right around the corner from Uptown Social, our favorite place to hang out on King Street. I would highly recommend the apartment to anyone who wants to stay in downtown Charleston!
Reviewed on Sep 24, 2018 by Smith, New City, NY   Report

Thank you Brian! Glad we could host you so close to your favorite Charleston hang out! Steven

Manager Response Sep 24, 2018
         
Sweet Spacious Suite
5.0/5 stars
It was awesome! We were so close to king street! It was amazing !! Thank you so much for having us! We truly loved it !!
Reviewed on Aug 2, 2018 by Chrysan, Rome, GA   Report

Thank you Chrysan! You're so welcome! Sounds like a wonderful stay!

Manager Response Aug 3, 2018
         
Sweet Spacious Suite
5.0/5 stars
“This home was great! Close to restaurants, shopping and attractions. We opted to Uber around, which also easy and convenient. The home is clean and well maintained. The owners offer a comfortable, home like feel. Much better than being couped up in a hotel room!! And more cost effective!”
Reviewed on Jun 4, 2018 by Katy, Benton, LA   Report

Thank you Katy! We're happy you had a great experience! Steven

Manager Response Jun 4, 2018
         
Sweet Spacious Suite
5.0/5 stars
My sister-in-law, my mom, and her friend had a wonderful time in Charleston and found the Sweet Spacious Suite very sweet indeed! It was also very comfortable, clean, and convenient to the historic downtown area. Because we chose to stay in this older but updated home we were able to really experience the town and its rich culture. There are many excellent restaurants and brew houses within walking distance (Leon's Oysters and Chicken and Edmund's Oast to name a couple). If you don't want to walk all the way downtown the Dash (free bus) has stops very nearby. I highly recommend the Sweet Spacious Suite!
Reviewed on May 2, 2018 by Amanda, Emerson, GA   Report

Thanks Amanda for your wonderful recommendation! Sounds like you went exploring the local neighborhood as well as some of the more touristy areas. Those are some of our favorite restaurants and brewhouses and so easy to get too!! Obviously you found the neighborhood safe enough to walk around too! Steven

Manager Response May 2, 2018
         
Sweet Spacious Suite
1.0/5 stars
We have rented from HomeAway previously and were thrilled by our choices, however that was not the case this time. As we drove up we were thinking that clearly, we were in the wrong location as we found the house literally next to the highway (traffic ALL night next to your heads on the bed) and a burned-out house across the street and an old auto detailing shop with only the cement walls standing and weeds/junkyard surrounding. We did not feel safe in this neighborhood and clearly did not pay close enough attention the write up on the property detail or we would clearly have not chosen it. It is listed as transitional neighborhood – this is a long way from transition. No back yard - broken fence, no exterior pictures posted which is VERY misleading. Back porch is disgusting and you would never sit out there. And while the location is a block off Upper King Street – it is a LONG walk down the decent shops and even further to south of Broad to see the great neighborhoods. Good thing we like to walk. Went inside and sat on the red couch - only to have a 2" dead cockroach fall off - we almost turned around and left throwing away the rent we already had fully paid (called the owner to voice concerns and were told it’s Charleston and cockroaches happen and the neighborhood is very safe…… nothing they were planning to do to help alleviate our concerns) - furnishings looked like the picture but very worn and mismatched, one bed all foam, the other very old – neither comfortable. Pillows felt old and used. The bedding was gross army green knit sheets and the towels were gray thread barren & stained. We texted the owners the next day and they changed the sheets to a beige cotton percale and brought new white bath towels which was great but the others should NEVER have been there to start with. Talk about bad first impressions. Our college apartments were better furnished than this and at well over $260+/night you expect to have a decently furnished place. Looks like they took $100 and went to a garage sale to furnish it. Unfortunate given it has so much potential if you can get past the location and depressing exterior. The pine floors are very nice. Materials said two sets of towels per guest per stay but there was only one – which worked for us but not what was noted. In addition, at least 2 rolls of toilet tissue per bathroom would be appropriate for 4 people for 4 nights. Kitchen is not equipped well enough if you plan to cook - limited cookware, mismatched dishes and glassware, no microwave or toaster but a wine fridge - go figure? Welcoming amenity was nice but then again you were charged for it in the rates. No doggie treats welcoming our furry pup. This property might be okay if you are in college and don’t care about furnishings, location or bedding but then again probably can’t afford it if you are in college. Unfortunately, this soured our entire 4 days in Charleston and we aren’t planning a return trip. We also visited Savannah and the house we stayed in was lovely.
Reviewed on Mar 26, 2018 by travelingtheworld627,   Report

We’re very sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your stay in Charleston. However, we feel that your review is unfair given that we did disclose the transitional nature of the neighborhood in the description, photos and captions in our listing - as you acknowledge in your review. We were very shocked when you called us upon your check-In to demand a refund “because we’re staying in the ghetto and don’t feel safe.” It is not a ghetto. The owners of the home live in the front half of the building, our daughter goes to school nearby and the area is quite safe. We make no claim of being anywhere near the area South of Broad and our location is pinpointed on the listing’s map. There is no “burned-out house” or junkyard nearby. The house across the street is clearly under development and is working its way through the City’s planning & permitting process for renovations, which takes awhile in Charleston due to historic preservation requirements. The auto detailing shop on the corner has a large “for sale” sign in front of it. We’ve had the house tested for sound levels and both bedrooms fall within the normal range, largely due to the fact that there’s another home between us and the highway. We’re sorry to hear that you encountered one of Charleston’s Palmetto bugs. Our homes are treated on a quarterly basis for pests, but, unfortunately, Palmetto bugs do occasionally enter the homes in Charleston - especially after it has rained. We believe our many positive reviews of the property speak for themselves.

Manager Response Mar 26, 2018
         
Sweet Spacious Suite
5.0/5 stars
My friend and my I were meeting back in Charleston after being gone from here for 27 years. Sweet Spacious Suite was a great place for us to stay. We felt welcomed and we were close enough to most everything. We all enjoyed our visit and would stay here again. Steven was a big help with what ever we needed.
Reviewed on Sep 25, 2017 by Laura, Summerville, GA   Report

Thank you Laura. We're so glad your reunion in Charleston was a fun visit. I'm sure the town has changed a lot since you were all here! I'm happy to hear that you found the neighborhood nice and safe! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you all on your return!

Manager Response Sep 27, 2017
         
Sweet Spacious Suite
5.0/5 stars
My daughter and I stayed here for a long weekend. It was perfect. Great location and walking distance to shopping and dining. House is clean and spacious. Nice to have off street parking as well. Price is very reasonable. Looking forward to staying there again.
Reviewed on Aug 3, 2017 by Julia, Valdese, NC   Report

Thank you Julia! We are so happy to hear you and your daughter had a fun visit to Charleston and the Sweet Spacious Suite was perfect for the shopping! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Manager Response Aug 3, 2017

Similar Properties

Copyright © 2008 - 2018 iTrip LLC