Going Coastal

5 Min Walk to Beach & Community Pool; Views of Lagoon & Ocean from Rooftop Deck; Great for Families!

5 BR
5.5 Baths
Sleeps 12

About

Pack your bags and load your family into the car now for this phenomenal, family-friendly beach home! Going Coastal, a 5 bedroom home within the Pelican Bay community in Wild Dunes Resort, has been treasured by generations of vacationing families for its central location (only a 5 minute walk to the private, spacious Atlantic Ocean beach), its renovated community pool (which is only 100 yards from the home), its water views (the bedrooms, great room and decks alongside the back of the home have stunning water views of the lagoon) and its open & airy, light filled second floor (the home's kitchen, living room & dining room are all located on the top floor). Each of the 5 bedrooms in Going Coastal has its own private bath, and there are two porches and a roof deck on the backside of the house -- you'll love the incredible views of the Atlantic Ocean & surrounding area from the roof deck! Make your reservation now to make a lifetime of memories at Going Coastal. Going Coastal is a great getaway for a group of family or friends, as the spacious common areas, numerous outdoor decks and five bedrooms give you and your guests plenty of room to socialize and also provide the option to relax on your own.

SLEEPING ARRANGEMENTS FOR GOING COASTAL (maximum occupancy of 12):

Master bedroom (located on the elevated home's second floor)

- Queen bed

- Nightstands with reading lamps

- Closet

- Cable TV

- En-suite bathroom with a double sink vanity and combined shower & tub.

- Vaulted, bead board ceilings with ceiling fan

Guest bedroom #1 (located on the elevated home's first floor)

- King bed

- Nightstands with reading lamps

- Dresser with smart TV

- Closet

- Access to back porch and lagoon views.

- En-suite bathroom with tiled walk-in shower, tiled floors and a spacious vanity

- Vaulted, bead board ceilings with ceiling fan

Guest bedroom #2 (located on the elevated home's first floor)

- Queen bed

- Nightstands with reading lamps

- Dresser

- Closet

- Access to back porch and lagoon views.

- En-suite bathroom with a tiled walk-in shower, tiled floors and a spacious vanity.

- Ceiling fan

Guest bedroom #3 (located on the home's elevated first floor)

- Two twin beds

- Nightstand with reading lamp

- Dresser

- En-suite bathroom with a tiled walk-in shower, tiled floors and a spacious vanity.

- Ceiling fan

Guest bedroom #4 (located on the elevated home's first floor)

- Two twin beds

- Nightstand with reading lamps

- Dresser

- En-suite bathroom with tiled floors, a combined shower & tub and vanity.

- Ceiling fan

- Closet

Den

- Queen sized sleeper sofa

------

AMENITIES:

- Fully-equipped kitchen with full sized appliances (including range, refrigerator, dishwasher & microwave), hardwood floors and granite countertops.

- Open floor plan layout between the living room, kitchen and dining room areas.

- Large dining room table seats 8 with additional seating for 4 available at the kitchen counter.

- Comfortable living room with sofas, mounted large screen TV and a gas fireplace.

- Screened deck off of the living room has an outdoor dining table, BBQ grill and outdoor sofa.

- Stacked washing machine & dryer located on the first floor.

- Rinse the sand off after the beach in the outdoor shower underneath the house in the carport.

- Free WIFI

- Non-Smoking, please! This is a family friendly property.

- Off-street parking for a maximum of two cars.

- For TV apps personal subscription required.

- Don't wait in an office to check-in or get a key! Drive straight to your beach home and enter the front door with a lock code. Prior to your visit, we will send you our mobile app with directions and full instructions.

No Saturday to Saturday Restrictions - MAY RESERVE LESS OR MORE THAN 7 NIGHTS!!

NO PETS ALLOWED

COMMUNITY POOL IS EXPECTED TO OPEN FOR GUESTS APRIL 1ST. SUBJECT TO MAINTENANCE AND OTHER CLOSURES.

------

Guests enter Going Coastal by entering the front door in the carport area of the home and taking the stairs to the first floor of this elevated home. On the first floor, you will find four of the home's five bedrooms -- each with their own private bathroom -- and a den with queen sized sleeper sofa. You may access the covered deck off the first floor of the home from the den and two of the first floor bedrooms. On the second floor, you'll find the home's large living room, dining room and kitchen. There is a half bath tucked away behind the kitchen. The home's master suite is located just off of the living room. Best of all, the screened porch stretches alongside the entire width of the back of the home and has stunning views of the lagoon below. A stairwell on the second-level screened deck takes you to the home's observation deck, which features sweeping views of the lagoon and the Atlantic Ocean.

Tenant must be 25 years old. NO PARTIES, EVENTS, PERFORMING ARTISTS OR BANDS ALLOWED AT ANY TIME. You may not exceed the maximum occupancy at any time — day or night. These are causes for eviction with no refund, and may damage our ability to offer the home for future guests exposing you to liability. This is a residential home -- please be respectful of our neighbors.

---

Guests staying at all ITrip Charleston managed properties receive the following:

* Amenity pack, starter set of soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, make up wipes, paper towel, toilet paper, dish soap, sponge, dishwasher & laundry detergent tabs.

* All beds ready made with freshly laundered sheets & towels.

# WE DO NOT LIST ON CRAIGS LIST #

Isle of Palms will be conducting beach replenishment in Spring and early summer 2024. This is due to recent storm erosion. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Book with confidence! We are Charleston & Hilton Head’s highest rated and most responsive large vacation rental agency. We have hosted over 32,500 great stays with an average guest review score of 4.9 out of 5!

Please keep A/C temperature above 70F for optimal comfort. It is recommended to set it at 72F. Remember to keep doors and windows closed to maintain a cool home and keep bugs out. Fridges may take 24 hrs to cool when loaded after cleaning.

20 Pelican Reach Isle of Palms, SC 29451

To purchase a vacation home like this one, Amy Rogers with IOP Residential Real Estate

Sleeping Arrangements

Master Bedroom Queen
Guest Bedroom King
Guest Bedroom Queen
Guest Bedroom Twin (2)
Guest Bedroom Twin (2)
Den Sofa Queen

Property Rules

Check In: After 4pm
Check Out: Before 10am
Smoking: Not Allowed

Amenities

Air Conditioning
BBQ Grill
Backyard
Balcony
Bathtub
Beach
Big Screen TV
CO monitor
Cable
Carbon Monoxide Detector
Carport
Clothes Dryer
Coffee Maker
Communal Pool
Cycling
DVD
Daily Housekeeping Available Upon Request
Dishwasher
Disinfected
Dryer
Enhanced Cleaning
Families with Kids
Family Friendly
Fireplace
Fishing
Full Kitchen
Golf
Golfing
Hair Dryer
Heating
Hiking
Ice Maker
Internet
Internet Access
Iron and Board
King Sized Bed
Kitchen
Laundry
Microwave
Museums and Galleries
Ocean
Open Patio
Out-Door Grill
Refrigerator
Self Check-In
Shopping & Relaxation
Smoke detector
Stereo
TV
Tennis
WIFI
Walk to beach
Washing Machine
Water View
Watersports
Winery / Brewery Tours
board games
cycling
fire sprinklers
private entrance
Bed Sheets
Deadbolt
Essentials
Parking
Pillows
Shampoo
Soap
Toilet Paper
Wifi
Public Transportation

Map

Videos

Frequently Asked Questions

Please keep A/C temperature above 70F for optimal comfort. It is recommended to set it at 72F. Remember to keep doors and windows closed to maintain a cool home and keep bugs out. Fridges may take 24 hrs to cool when loaded after cleaning. 
Please be aware & mindful that there are alligators throughout the fresh water areas of Charleston, SC. You should assume that there is an alligator in every pond, lake & fresh water river.  Please do not allow small children or dogs near the edge of these fresh water areas.  DO NOT feed or taunt the alligators!
Please note that there is construction ongoing throughout the Charleston area and on all of the Islands. Many of our managed homes are in areas where there has been intense real estate activity and there are almost continous home improvements going on in addition to the normal off season routine maintenance.

We don't get notice of construction projects but please let us know if you encounter excessive noise.  Contractors are required to obey all noise limits and working hour restrictions.   
BANNERS, BALLOONS & PARTY SIGNS
Please do not afix balloons, banners or other 'party' signs to walls, cabinets or other structures. These will remove the paint. You will be charged for the cost to repair each item damaged. The cost to repaint a wall can easily be $250 alone. 
Beds will be freshly made, towels* laid out and a starter set of amenities like soap, lotion and shampoo are provided too. We also provide a starter set of kitchen paper and toilet paper to get you going as well as some laundry and dish detergent. If you need additional supplies you will need to provide those beyond the starter set. 

*We provide 1 bath towel, 1 hand towel and 1 wash cloth per person. Additional towels are available to rent at an addional charge. Requests must be made more than 24 hours prior to check in. 
We get asked about Palmetto Bugs all the time. They can be pretty big, can fly and will scurry around the floor but they are largely harmless. They do occasionally come inside, especially at night and during or after any storms. Rest assured all of our homes are professionally treated at least quarterly for pests. Any bugs that manage to get inside will die quickly.

According to Eric Benson, Ph.D. professor and extension entomologist at Clemson University “It has nothing to do with cleanliness or the economic conditions of the area,” said Benson. “They could be around the nicest home or the nicest hotel or resort.”

If you leave the doors or windows open, especially at night, you will likely see a few. This is perfectly normal. If you see 20 or 30 all in one place then please let us know. This might mean we have a nest somewhere in the home and we'll need to get pest control out to take care of it. This is extremely rare!  

Please don't worry about bugs, enjoy your vacation. You'll likely not see any while you are here, we just include this note so you understand it's not unusual to see some and it doesn't mean the home isn't well looked after! 


 
Most community pools remain open from March through October but this does vary by resort and is subject to maintenance schedules and emergency closures for health reasons. Please contact us to see if the pool will be closed during your fall or winter vacation.

We do not manage any of these community pools and are not responsible for management of them. We do not provide refunds for pool closure. 
DISCLAIMER/LIMITATION OF LIABILITY

The premises, all fixtures thereon and all property on or around the premises is provided to Tenant “as is” without any warranties of any kind.  None of iTrip Vacations, Sea Oats Vacation Property Management, Inc. or the owner of the premises shall be responsible for any direct, indirect, consequential or incidental damages arising out of or relating to this Rental Agreement.  The use of the premises is at Tenant’s own risk.

Many homes have gargabe disposals. Not all food is suitable for disposing of in a garbage disposal.  

Do not put any chemicals, hot oil, grease, coffee grinds, pasta, bones, shells of any kind, oatmeal, nuts, onion skins, eggshells, trash, pumpkins, fibrous vegetables, lettuces, stringy vegetables, potato peel, pits, corn husks down the disposal.  


We check the disposal is working prior to all guest arrivals. 
In the event the disposal or kitchen sink plumbing is blocked due to material put down the disposal this is the responsibility of the guest.  If a plumber has to be called then the guest will be charged for that visit. 

 
Please NO PARTIES, EVENTS, PERFORMING ARTISTS OR BANDS ARE ALLOWED AT ANY TIME! These are cause for eviction with no refund and may damage our ability to offer the home for future guests exposing you to liability. This is a quiet residential neighborhood -- please be respectful of the home's neighbors at all times.

Properties may include a noise alert monitoring system and other electronic devices in order to ensure that neighborhood noise and occupancy levels are respected. Do not tamper with amny device. 

Occupancy is limited at all times during your stay - day or night - to the maximum 'sleeps' number stated in the listing. Please do not invite additional people to the home. 

Early Check-in
We work hard to try and allow our guests to get in early. This depends on check out times, cleaning and inspection schedules as well as any maintenance issues. We will text on the day of arrival once we know we can allow an early check in. 

Phone Number
Please make sure your mobile number is up to date in your iTrip account. This will allow us to offer you an early check in!

Travel Agents
Depending on which travel website you book through you may see a separate charge for their booking fee. 

Late Check-Out
We will consider late check out requests on days when we do not have an incoming guests. We really appreciate it you can be checked out by 10am. Please let us know if you do check out earlier, we will start cleaning as soon as we can so the next guest can enjoy an early start to their vacation!

Parking
Please pay attention to parking restrictions. Many homes have limited parking available. We don't want you to get a ticket or towed!

Cancellations
Please contact the travel agent that you used to make your booking if you wish to cancel. They will notfiy us directly. 

Things to Do!
Check out our activities website: Charleston Activities 





 
Our vacation homes are located in quiet residential areas. We generally have great relations with our local neighbors and we want to keep it that way. Please pay particular attention to:

- No loud noises after 9pm. (Includes no Hot Tub use after 9pm)
- Only park in the designated areas (not on the landscaping) 
- Do not roll out trash to the street, trash service will do this
- Do not hang beach towels over railings or leave beach gear outside

- On Kiawah island - Bikes must be in the garage (if there is access) or in a designated bike rack or out of sight of the road after dark. 

- Beach Front Homes - TURTLE SEASON No lights visible from beach (May 1 to Oct 31)

The Cities will issue a ticket and a fine for these items. 

 
No barbeque grills of any kind are permitted on balconies or in the unit. No open flames (i.e., candle burning) are permitted on balconies or in the unit. Do not dismantle smoke detectors as they are there for your protection. Use the overhead stove fan when cooking to avoid accidental, activation of smoke detector alarm.

The guest will be charged a $200 repair and inspection fee for tampering with or deactivating a smoke alarm or noise monitor.
 

LOCAL ORDINANCES

All County & City ordinances during rental occupancy must be followed. Non compliance of any of these ordinances will result in eviction of the property and forfeiture of all monies paid.   Tenant agrees to pay any fines levied by the County, City and Town and further Tenant will be liable to Homeowner and Agent for any and all lost rental revenues from the suspension or removal of their business licenses as a result of Tenants actions.      

These ordinances include but are not limited to:
 
Folly Beach

cityoffollybeach. com/officials-and-ordinances/ordinances/


Isle of Palms

iop. net/ordinances


Town of Kiawah Island

kiawahisland . org/town-ordinances/


Town of Mount Pleasant

tompsc . com/119/Code-of-Ordinances


City of Charleston

library . municode . com/sc/charleston/codes/code_of_ordinances


Charleston County

charlestoncounty . org/ordinances.php
We do not recommend having mail sent to the address. If you must mail an item please make sure you specify that it must be delivered to the door and do so for a day that you will be at the home to recieve the mail.  We do not have access to locked mailboxes. 
We utilize third party professional service companies for the provision of Handyman Services, A/C & Heating Repair, Pest Control, Wildlife Removal, Plumbing Repair, Pool & Hot Tub Service, Electrical Repairs, Appliance Repairs and any other repair or maintenance of a technical or specialist nature.  We only used trusted, reputable professional service companies to assess, repair and replace equipment that needs attention. We will work with them to get the first available service appointment. Given the Post COVID economy it can be a challenge to get fast, timely service. Rest assured we will do our best to resolve issues quickly and our service providers understand our need for fast, reliable care.  Due to the global supply crunch, parts and even replacement units may not be available which can be frustrating. Please be patient as we work hard behind the scenes to make small miracles happen on a daily basis!

No one may perform any maintenance work on the home without our specific permission in writing.  
Our rates automatically adjust for the season as well as to reflect supply and demand. To access the best rate please begin the booking process on the iTrip Vacations Charleston Beaches site (don't worry you won't be charged until you're ready to book). This will present you our current up-to-date rates!
The person who makes the reservation must be over 25 years old and must be present during the entire stay.   A mobile number must be provided where we can contact the primary renter at all times. If code enforcement call us with any issues we need to be able to contact someone onsite with 60 minutes to address any issus or you may be liable for any fines imposed by the local government. 

We recommend adding a second mobile number to your account to make sure we can contact someone at all times. This second number may also be used to receive door codes in the event the first phone dies or is left in the unit. (It happens a lot and we are unable to provide codes to spouses or family members for security reasons). 
We want everyone to have a great stay but we understand that things may break or some items may get overlooked. We'll do our best to get them fixed (please review the “Maintenance House Rule” on what this means). 
 
We do ask that all guests TAKE TIME TO BE KIND.  Common courtesy goes a long way.  Sadly since the pandemic we have all witnessed an increase in aggressive or unacceptable behavior.  Our team has taken a lot of abuse and experienced some very unkind guests.   

Misunderstandings are one of the leading causes of guest complaints. Please make sure you read everything we send to you.  This include the entire rental listing, all of our house rules, all photos, all emails & texts and all the help articles in your iTrip account. This helps avoid misunderstandings in the first place. 
 
For our own safety and security we have a zero tolerance rule with guests who are rude, abusive, discourteous or argumentative.  We do not engage with those guests any more beyond asking them to read our TAKE TIME TO BE KIND policy.  
 

 
Our vacation homes are on a septic tank or a city sewer system. It is important that guests do not put large amounts of toilet paper or any other other products down the toilet.  We flush all toilets prior to a guests arrival to verify that they are working correctly. Any blockages that occur during the guests stay at the home are the responsibility of the guest to unblock. If a plumber is required to unblock a toilet then the guest will be charged $250 for that visit. 
Charleston and suburbs are charming places to stay.  It should be noted that Charleston is also a working Port City and has a large manufacturing base (including Boeing, Mercedes and other major international manufacturers). Since we are both very flat and surrounded my water sound at night can travel very far.  

Train noise, airplane noise, road noise and manufacturing noise may be audible during your stay depending on weather conditions and wind direction.

We do not offer refunds, credits or discounts in the event that you find these to be problem. Light sleepers should bring ear plugs or a white noise machine. Many phones can download a white noise machine too. They work well. 

We're available by text from 8am to 8pm. For urgent issues after 8pm please call this number for our After Hours service. They will alert us for urgent issues or leave a note for us for non-urgent issues. In emergency dial 911.  

Urgent issues include: Being locked out, water leaks. 

Emergency Issues include: Gas leaks. Fire. Life Safety Issues. Call 911. 

Issues that will typically be dealt with the next day include Air Conditioning issues.

Power Outages: These can be frequent on the islands. Power company's are quick to resolve. If it doesn't not appear to be a neighborhood wide outage please contact us. 

Buyer beware! We do not put any of our homes on Craig s list. If you see one of our homes on there it is a scam. Please NEVER send money to anyone posing as a host on Craig s list. If they send you a contract and they don't disclose their name it's an easy way to know that they are scammers. 

Please call or text us if you are not sure that the listing is genuine. 

The following amenities are available for all guests in the Wild Dunes resort:

Golf:
  • Wild Dunes Links Golf Course
  • Harbor Golf Course 
  • Driving range
  • Golf lessons and clinics
Tennis & Other Activities: 
  • Tennis lessons and clinics
  • Sand and Sea Spa
  • Basketball court 
  • Bike and walking trails
  • Childrens Playground (Next to the Dunes Deli on Backcourt Drive)
  • Bicycle Rentals (Near Tennis Center)
  • Beach Chair Rentals
  • Crabbing Dock (Located behind Lagoon Villa)
Restaurants and Shops:
  • Village shops
  • Hudson’s Market
  • Sea Island Grill & Lounge
  • The Lettered Olive
  • The Grand Pavilion Bar & Café
  • Duney’s Ice Cream Shop
  • Sand Bar
  • Dunes Deli
  • Morgan’s Creek Grill
  • Saltworks Dockside Deli
Alternative Fitness Facilities:

The City of Isle of Palms Recreation Center is located on 28 Avenue. This offers both tennis and fitness facilities as well as a host of other amenities and is located on 28th Avenue.

iop . net/recreation/facilities
We don't accept change requests for reservations within 60 days of the check in date. You should cancel and rebook your new dates.  

ENTRY BY OWNER

Owner or owner's agents may enter the premises under the following circumstances: in case of an emergency; to make any necessary or agreed upon repairs, alterations, or improvements; supply necessary or agreed upon services or show the premises to prospective purchasers, renters or contractors. Agent will provide Tenant with at least 24 hours notice of owner's or owner's agent(s) intent to enter the premises (except in the case of an emergency).

HOLD HARMLESS

None of iTrip Vacations, Sea Oats Vacation Property Management, Inc. or the owner of the premises assume  risk, responsibility or any liability for, and the Tenant hereby releases, waives, relinquishes and discharges iTrip Vacations, Sea Oats Vacation Property Management, Inc., the owner of the premises and all directors, officers, employees, agents or other representatives of such parties from, any (i) loss, damage, illness, injury or exposure to COVID-19, other viruses or the flu to persons or their personal property that occurs during their stay on the premises; (ii) any inconveniences, damage, loss or injury arising from any temporary defects or stoppage in supply of water, gas, cable service, internet service, electricity or plumbing or (iii) any inconveniences, damage, loss or injury arising from or due to weather conditions, insects, natural disasters, acts of God, or other reasons beyond their control.

LOST & FOUND

Agent is not responsible and assumes no liability for lost, misplaced, stolen, or damaged valuables or belongings. If you discover that you have left behind something of value to you, please text us immediately and we will try to assist you in locating your lost item. 
 
Agent is not responsible for any item left behind by a guest.  However, any item, with the exception of perishable items, left behind by our guests and found after departure by Housekeeping will be collected, logged in, and kept in a secure location for collection by the owner for up to fourteen (14) days.  For security and privacy reasons we do not notify a guest that an item has found.  Perishable items, underwear, other hazards to health or safety and miscellaneous toiletries are discarded.   
 
We would be happy to return your lost item(s) to you by United States Postal Service or UPS delivery with tracking information.  Your credit card will be charged packaging and postage. (Minimum charge is $35).  iTrip is not responsible for any item lost or misdirected during shipment by the United States Postal Service or UPS.
 
Lost & Found items are held for fourteen (14) days, after this holding period, the unclaimed item(s) are thrown away, given to local organizations, or disposed of accordingly by Agent

MONITORING

Agent may utilize electronic monitoring equipment (including video, noise, motion, temperature, humidity and other means) at the property to ensure that all local ordinances, including noise & occupancy limits, are observed at all timed and that no events or parties are held on the property.

Our homes are subject to strict noise ordinances. In the event that you trigger our noise monitor you will be asked to turn down the volume immediately. Failure to comply will lead to eviction without a refund.  Cities impose large fines and you may be prosecuted.  You agree to reimburse the homeowner and Agent for all lost income resulting from any suspension of their business license arising from you exceeding the noise alert levels.  

PARKING

Parking at the premises is limited to the number of cars listed in your check-in email. No boats, jet skis, trailers or RVs are allowed without prior permission of Agent.

All vehicles are parked at the risk of the owner.  iTrip Vacations shall not assume liability or responsibility for any vehicle, occupants, or contents while operated or parked on the property.  If a vehicle is left on the property after the guest checks out without the written consent of the iTrip Vacations, we reserve the right to have the vehicle towed at the owner’s expense.  No vehicle repairs are to be performed on the property.

Resort parking charges and any associated late fees or inconvenience fees will be charged to the credit card on file and are the responsibility of the tenant.  This includes fees for showing up at the security gate without the relvant QR code, gate pass or other required ID.  Passes not ordered more than 2 weeks prior to check in may be subject to late fees. 

If you book a pet friendly property then the following provisions (included in the rental agreement) apply:

  • ALL PETS ARE SUBJECT TO APPROVAL, please let us know what you would like to bring with you. 
  • WE ONLY ALLOW DOGS (Canis familiaris). THAT'S IT. 
  • We ALLOW 1 small/medium sized dog FREE but additional dogs and large dogs (over 40lbs) are $75 per animal.
  • All dogs must be up to date on rabies and other vaccinations. (documentation from an accredited veterinarian must be provided by Guest upon request). 
  • All dogs must be treated with a flea and tick repellent at least three days prior to arrival. 
  • Guests are responsible for cleaning up all dog waste and disposing of it in a proper trash bin
  • Dogs must not be allowed on to furniture or in bedrooms at any time
  • Dogs must not make excessive noise
  • Dogs must be crated when left in the property and must not be left unattended for any undue length of time
  • Guest must observe all local rules, regulations and ordinances regarding pets at all time

If Dogs cause any damage, or the property requires additional cleaning the guest will be charged the cost of any repairs or clean up. If a security deposit has been paid it will be deducted. If there is no security deposit then the guest authorizes their credit card to be charged directly for the repair or clean up cost.  

We do NOT allow any animals other than DOGS, this means NO cats, NO birds (especially NO Parrots), NO livestock or other farm animals (Incuding domesticated pigs), NO insects, NO reptiles, NO Spiders, NO Ponies or other Horses and other 'exotic' pets.  In fact NOTHING OTHER THAN DOGS. (NO we don't allow dog-wolf hybrids either). This clause is dedicated to Airbnb and its guests who can't read or don't understand that parrots are not dogs. 

If you bring a non-approved Pet into the home there is a $500 clean up charge that will be applied to your account for each day the non-approved pet is present. 


Prohibited Breeds of Dogs. Please contact us to discuss your dog if it includes any mix of these breeds:
- Akita;
- Boxer;
- Bull Terrier;
- Bullmastiff;
- Chow Chow;
- Doberman Pinscher;
- German Shepherd;
- Giant Schnauzer
- Mastiff;
- Ovtcharka;
- Presa Canario;
- Pit Bull;
- Rhodesian Ridgeback;
- Rottweiler;
- Neapolitan Mastiff;
- Wolf; or 
- Wolf Hybrid

If you are not sure if your dog is a prohibited breed let us know the type, size and nature of your pet and we'll happily discuss it with you. 

If the vacation home has the option of a heated pool please note that heating of the pool is available for an additional fee and heating is limited to 85F. All of our heated pools use propane which has to be delivered. Sometimes, due to the weather, the gas may run out before the next scheduled delivery. We will contact the gas company to schedule a refill as soon as we can but gas delivery can be difficult to arrange in Charleston. 

We don't recommend heating the pool when the ambient temperature is below 50F. This will drain the gas quickly. We do not provide refunds if the gas is used. If the pool heater isn't used and the gas is not used we can provide a pro rata refund based on days used. 

POOL & PATIO

If the premises include a private or community pool (including hot tubs), then the Tenant hereby acknowledges that the premises they have reserved include a community pool and the undersigned agrees and acknowledges that the community pool and patio/deck can be dangerous areas, that the deck/patio can be slippery when wet, and that injury may occur to anyone who is not careful. With full knowledge of the above facts and warnings, the undersigned Tenant accepts and assumes all risks involved to Tenant and all of Tenant's guests in or related to the use of the private or community pool (including hot tubs) and patio areas.

POOL & HOT TUB SERVICE


 All private pools and hot tubs are serviced weekly and this is NOT always on the day of a guest arrival as check ins occur throughout the week.  

Our team will skim the surface of the pool before your arrival but we cannot vacuum out the pool or hot tub as only the pool service company can do that.  The pool service company will take care of this every week and they also balance the chemicals. We have a lot of storms which may change the appearance of the pool water in our pools - this is normal. The pool service company will be out to take care of it as soon as they can. 

If you are using the hot tub, please rinse off all sunscreen and sand before entering the water. If the hot tub is left in a dirty condition your credit card will be charged $250 charge to have it pumped out, cleaned and rebalanced.  

Must be over 25 years of age to rent any property. 

Person making the reservation must be present during the stay. DO NOT BOOK FOR OTHER PEOPLE.

Reviews

Great place for family's
5/5 stars
The house was perfect for a large family. Pool and beach a short walk. Big enough for people to have some privacy. The decks were definitely the highlight. Be prepared for many steps.
- Brenda

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Steven, iTrip Charleston Beaches

- Manager Response
Great stay!
5/5 stars
Had a fantastic time. Great access to IOP amenities and the beach. Plenty of room for our group. 10/10
- Will

Your kind review made our day! We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic stay at our home Thank you for being such wonderful guests, and we look forward to hosting you again in the future. Steven, iTrip Charleston Beaches

- Manager Response
Perfect house for several families!
5/5 stars
We rented Going Coastal for Labor Day weekend and it was perfect for us! The accommodations were spacious, clean, and thoughtfully designed to cater to our three families. Each bedroom was complete with comfortable beds and private bathrooms. Two bedrooms had twins which was perfect for the cousins. The pull out sofa in the extra living area meant everyone had his/her own bed. The fully equipped kitchen made dining a breeze and the large dining table meant lots of meals together. The layout provided for both privacy and socializing and we really enjoyed the the rooftop where you could hear the ocean waves, watch the sunset and stargaze at night. A short 5 minute walk led us to the beach, where we spent countless hours building sandcastles, swimming, and collecting seashells. The convenience of this proximity made it effortless to return to our rental whenever we needed. The property also had a beach cart which made our walk with all our beach necessities effortless. The pool was an even shorter walk and was enjoyed each day. The house came with everything we needed (beach towels, kitchen items, coffee pot and filters, etc) to make us all feel at home. The only thing to consider is there are three flights of stairs which would be difficult for those with mobility issues. There is an elevator but it is locked and unavailable. Luckily it wasn't an issue for anyone in our group. This rental offers everything and management was very responsive and informative. We created lasting memories and hope to come back again!
- Gina

We're glad you had a good stay. Just FYI there is no elevator in the home. Those are individual closets on each floor. The home never had an elevator installed!

- Manager Response
Great house on IOP
5/5 stars
We stayed at Going Coastal with our adult children and found this house to be perfect for our week-long vacation at Isle of Palms. Each bedroom has its own bath so there is plenty of room to spread out, while still coming together around the big tables in the spacious living room and on the deck. We appreciated the new appliances and excellent wifi. The beach was very nice (not too crowded) and a short walk away, with an easy road crossing along the way. The rooftop deck was nice as well; we got some great sunset photos up there! There are plenty of great restaurants within a short drive, and the guys enjoyed the golf courses on the resort. Great house - great vacation - heartily recommend!
- Paula

Thank you for your kind words about our vacation rental, Paula. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful time and hope to see you again in the future. Steven, iTrip Vacations Charleston Beaches

- Manager Response
20 Pelican Reach Stay
5/5 stars
House was great. Plenty spacious and lots of space for guests to spread out. Parking was a slight issue but we made accommodations for ourselves. I haven’t heard anything negative about any of the beds/furniture so that was a positive as well. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would consider using Itrip again.
- Mack

Thank you for your kind words about our vacation rental. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful time and hope to see you again in the future. Steven, iTrip Vacations Charleston Beaches

- Manager Response
Peaceful and quiet home, perfect size for 8 adults!
5/5 stars
The house was peaceful and quiet..It was clean.. Perfect size for 8 adults. The kitchen was a little difficult to maneuver, but we managed. I feel that there should have been another refrigerator as there was not a whole lot of space for both food and beverages. I would recommend it to others
- Diane

We really appreciate the review Diane. It makes us extremely happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again in the future. Steven, iTrip Vacations Charleston Beaches

- Manager Response
Great vacation!
5/5 stars
Location perfect, layout of home is great for reunions (everyone has own bathroom), place was sparkling clean when we arrived! Property managers very responsive. Kitchen well stocked and appreciated the starter toilet paper/paper towels/soaps. Just note there is no elevator and parking under the house was very narrow.
- Catherine

Thank you for staying with us, Catherine! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and that the rental met your needs. We hope to see you again soon. Steven, iTrip Vacations Charleston Beaches

- Manager Response
Perfect girls weekend
4/5 stars
We had an excellent stay at Going Coastal for our girls’ weekend. The home was clean and spacious and perfect for large groups. The kitchen was well stocked. The beach was so close and we were able to use a third-party service for chair and umbrella rental which was very convenient. Each bedroom has its own bathroom which was great. The owners are extremely responsive. The check in process is simple and check out process was not overly cumbersome.
- Terrie

Thank you, so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Come back and stay again soon. Steven, iTrip Vacations Charleston Beaches

- Manager Response
Family vacation
5/5 stars
We had a great stay in this home. The house was well prepared and a short walk to the beach. The kitchen is well stocked and some toiletries were provided.
- Victoria

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, Victoria! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Steven, iTrip Vacations Charleston Beaches

- Manager Response
We loved our stay! Loved the look out a top the house with the view of the ocean in the distance!
5/5 stars
We loved our stay! A beautiful home close to the beach and the tennis facility! House has plenty of rooms and bathrooms. Beds are comfortable, kitchen is well stocked and porch is very nice. Loved the look out a top the house with the view of the ocean in the distance!
- Maria

It is so lovely to hear that you had a great stay with us, Maria. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate such a kind response. We would love for you to come and stay with us again soon. Steven, iTrip Vacations Charleston Beaches

- Manager Response
Perfect retreat home
5/5 stars
My partner and I hosted a food and body image retreat in this home and it was absolutely perfect! The five minute walk to the beach, the view of the pond, and the amazing outdoor space on every level made our retreat top-notch! Thanks so much!
- Ciara

Thank you, Ciara. So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Come back and stay again soon. Steven, iTrip Vacations Charleston Beaches

- Manager Response
Going Coastal Wild Dunes
5/5 stars
Our stay was wonderful! The house is very nice. It was perfect for when our group of 10 gathered together, with lots of more intimate spaces. The resort is lovely and close enough to downtown Charleston. I would definitely stay there again.
- Sandra

It is so lovely to hear that you had a great stay with us.Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate such a kind response. We would love for you to come and stay with us again soon. Steven, iTrip Vacations Charleston Beaches

- Manager Response
Fantastic
5/5 stars
We had a wonderful time! The house is very accommodating for a large group of people. Short walk to the beach and the pool is right around the corner. I would definitely stay here again it was perfect!!
- Shelby

It is so lovely to hear that you had a great stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate such a kind response. We would love for you to come and stay with us again soon. Steven, iTrip Vacations Charleston Beaches

- Manager Response
Would highly recommend! Very enjoyable stay.
5/5 stars
Our stay was very enjoyable and the house was great and as described. This was our second year and everything was clean and well appointed. Would highly recommend this location.
- Kathy

Thank you, so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Come back and stay again soon. Steven, iTrip Vacations Charleston Beaches

- Manager Response
Great location with very close beach access, not overly crowded! Super clean place and prompt responses from owners!
5/5 stars
Great location with very close beach access, not overly crowded! Super clean place and prompt responses from owners!
- Samantha

Thank you Samantha! So glad you enjoyed the home and took advantage of the great location! Steven

- Manager Response
Clean and perfect for our stay. We will be booking this listing again in the future.
5/5 stars
The house was clean and perfect for our stay with 11 people. Very close to the beach, which isn’t crowded. And a pool down the street. We will be booking this listing again in the future.
- Hannah

Thank you Hannah, so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Come back and stay again soon. Steven

- Manager Response
Everything we could have asked for!
5/5 stars
This home really is a gem on Wild Dunes. It is private and away from the hustle & bustle but also close enough to take advantage of everything as well. Easy access to the beach and having access to the nearby pool within Pelican Bay was so nice. The wildlife in the lagoon was very entertaining for our kids (but be aware of the alligators!) The crows nest up top was a great place to relax and even see ocean views. Multiple places to dine inside or on the decks of the house. The screened in porch was lovely to relax without worrying about bugs in the evening. Would definitely rent again!
- Jennifer

So happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking your time to leave a review, we really appreciate such a kind response. We would love for you to come and stay with us again soon. Steven.

- Manager Response
Great house for your group!!
5/5 stars
This house was perfect for our group. We had 3 families, 6 adults and 6 kids. Plenty of room and a short walk to the beach and pool. House was clean and had everything we needed. Communication with the property manger was great. They were quick to respond to our questions. Would definitely recommend this house.
- Jill Smith

We really appreciate the review Jill. It makes us extremely happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and it makes all of our hard work worth while! Hopefully we will see you again in the future. Thanks for the recommendation! Steven

- Manager Response
Perfect place for our family reunion. Comfy and well furnished. Great hosts.
5/5 stars
This place was perfect for our family reunion! The home is quite comfortable and well furnished. It was convenient to pool and beach. Everyone loved the views. Great hosts!
- John

We really appreciate the review John. We would love for you to come and stay with us again soon. Steven

- Manager Response
Long weekend
5/5 stars
My family spent 5 days at this location, and would give it 5 stars. The house is nicely appointed, well decorated, very comfortable and a great location. Located in Wild Dunes, the northern edge of Isle of Palms, a “ gated community. The beach is a short walk away, a nice clubhouse is available on the beach with bathrooms. For golfers, there are 2 good courses within 5 minutes. We were attending a family wedding at the wild dunes resort, and house had a lot of room for 6 people, it sleeps at least 10. We own a vacation home that we rent at the Jersey Shore, so we are familiar with this process, and would give it a thumbs up. If you want to get to Charleston, it is about 15 minutes away by car. The Wild Dunes area is very natural, a lot of vegetation, a nature lovers enclave. It is removed from the hustle and bustle of other beach areas on Isle of Palms. Enjoy!
- Jerry Morgan

Jerry, it is so lovely to hear that you had a great stay with us! So glad you enjoyed the home and took advantage of the great location! Come back soon. Steven

- Manager Response
Best house we ever rented, very close to beach.
5/5 stars
Best house we ever rented .... very well maintained, ton of space...... great location. Kids had ton of fun. Very close to beach. Overall loved the house. Thanks, will surely book it again if we plan to go back next year.
- Manish

Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback, see you next time! Steven

- Manager Response
This place is amazing and watching the sunrise on the roof is a must.
5/5 stars
This place is amazing and watching the sunrise on the roof is a must.
- Del

Thank you Del, come back and stay here again soon! Steven

- Manager Response
The pictures don’t this this place no justice. Way much nicer in person.
5/5 stars
The pictures don’t this this place no justice. Way much nicer in person.
- Andrew

Thank you Andrew! We really appreciate the kind review. See you next time. Steven

- Manager Response
Perfect Get Away
5/5 stars
We loved the location and everything about our rental. The house was perfect and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Check in and out was very easy. All the agents that helped us were friendly , helpful, and always responded fast. I highly recommend this rental for a perfect Charleston get away.
- Heath

Thank you Heath, we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Going Coastal! Delighted that check in was easy for you, we try our best to make this as easy as possible for our guests! Come back and stay again soon! Steven

- Manager Response
Great trip. Going Coastal is a beautiful home. Spacious and a great location!
5/5 stars
Our trip was great! Going Coastal is a beautiful home. It is spacious and everyone had their own space. It's also in a great location. Five stars from me!
- Ellen

Thank you Ellen! We appreciate your review. So glad you enjoyed your stay at Going Coastal. Come back and stay again soon! Steven

- Manager Response

Book Your Stay

Select your trip dates.
Contact Manager

Phone (843) 303-9225