Makani Sands 106

Makani Sands 106 - Upgraded - A/C - Magical Maui Sunsets!

1 BR
1 Bath
Sleeps 4


MAKANI SANDS 106-Honokowai - Direct Beachfront - Sandy Beach - With spectacular views of the Pacific, you will have a front row seat watching breath-taking sunsets and unobstructed views of the humpback whales when in season. Pride of ownership apparent in every detail makes this beachfront and beautifully appointed spacious air conditioned one bedroom condominium your perfect Maui escape.

**Exterior Painting of the Resort Project scheduled for the end of Sept 2023 through Oct 2023 - 25% discount**

Makani Sands 106 features:

* Direct oceanfront ground floor - no steps - sandy beach is literally a few steps away

* Private lanai facing the beautiful blue Pacific with outstanding views of the islands of Lanai and Molokai

* Air conditioning and ceiling fans

* Spacious living room - queen sleeper sofa with new memory foam mattress (2023)

* Living area - 50” TV with Blu-Ray DVD player. Recordable Cable box from Spectrum

* Fully equipped kitchen with all the dinnerware, glassware, utensils, and pots/pans

* Full sized appliances including dishwasher

* High top dining table with seating for four plus counter seating for two

* Bedroom - King sized bed and flat screen television

* Bathroom features tile and stone walk in shower

* Tile flooring throughout the condo

* Complimentary WiFi

* Washer / Dryer

Makani Sands Resort features:

* Friendly, intimate oceanfront resort with just 30 units (many occupied by owners, year around!)

* Swimming pool

* Oceanfront BBQ's and picnic area

* Complimentary Parking

Packing for your Makani Sands vacation is easy, as we provide our guests: iron, ironing board, hairdryer in the bathroom, hotel-quality towels and linen, beach towels. Plus a starter supply including paper products, trash bags, laundry and dish detergents, soaps and hand soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion. 

Makani Sands is a quaint, well established, ocean front property with a nice sandy beach. December through March are ideal Whale-watching opportunities. We provide the binoculars! And sea turtles are an attraction all year long.

Walking distance to grocery, coffee store and farmers market, Makani Sands is equidistant from Ka’anapali to the south and Kapalua to the north offering some of the best beaches, shopping, finest restaurants, and world class golf courses you will find anywhere. A short five minute drive to the south first brings you to Ka’anapali which boasts of its long white sand beach. At the north end of Ka’anapali beach you will find Black Rock which provides some of Maui’s best snorkeling.

This is a family-owned condominium and our goal is to make your stay in Maui as enjoyable as our first stay was in 2012. We frequently visit to make sure that everything is as we would want it to be if we were just visiting for the first time.

Smoking is Allowed in Designated Areas Only.

We look forward to your visit!

Hawaii Department of Taxation: GE-088_521_5232-01 / TA -088_521_5232-01

Parcel Number: 4300_60120006


Create exciting memories, have more fun, and truly experience the island of Maui!

Free activities up to $750 value every day of your stay. Through our exclusive Free Fun program, we help make the most of your Maui vacation by providing free daily admission to a variety of activities like snorkeling, sunset sails, zipline tours, whale watching (seasonal availability), luaus, and much more – including free beach chair & umbrella delivery. You get 1 free adult for every one of the Complimentary Activities every day! Be sure to redeem your beach chair delivery or activities well in advance of your arrival. **

Guests will receive a custom booking link to choose activities after reservations are confirmed.


**Applies to stays up to 27 nights**


Massive wildfires on August 8, 2023 destroyed historic Lahaina Town and impacted people and businesses across the island. We welcome visitors who come to our island with compassion and respect. Please be mindful that people are still grieving the loss of loved ones, homes, and workplaces. We ask that tourists:

• Please do not stop on the Lahaina Bypass to view or take photos of the burn zones. Lahaina Town is off-limits to anyone who is not a resident or essential worker authorized to be in those zones.

• Please do not ask people about their homes and families. If they want to share their stories, they will offer them. If not, please respect their privacy.

• Some businesses are not yet re-opened; others have modified hours and services.

We welcome you and appreciate your patience and kindness during these challenging times.


3765 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, 106 Honokowai, HI 96761
Registration Number: GE-088-521-5232-01 and TA-088-521-5232-01 / Parcel Number 4300_60120006

Sleeping Arrangements

Bedroom 1 King
Living Room Sofa Queen

Bathroom Configuration

Bathroom: Shower

Property Rules

Check In: After 4pm
Check Out: Before 11am
Smoking: Not Allowed


Air Conditioning
Beach Front
Beach Towels Provided
Bed linens provided
Ceiling Fans
Clothes Dryer
Coffee Maker
Communal Pool
Community BBQ
Complimentary Parking
Covered Patio
Direct Ocean Front
Fresh Linens
Hair Dryer
Internet Access
Iron and Board
King-sized bed
Linens Provided
Ocean Front
Ocean View
Satellite or Cable
Self Check-In
Smoke Detector
Smoke/Carbon Monoxide Detector
Smoking Allowed in Designated Areas in Community
Sojo Amenity Kit
Towels Provided
Washing Machine
Water View
private entrance
sofa sleeper
Family Friendly



Frequently Asked Questions

Starter Supply
Your unit will come with a starter supply of personal toiletries and paper goods, individually wrapped and sealed until you open them. The initial supply includes a starter set of toilet paper and facial tissue in each bathroom, and paper towels and garbage bags in the kitchen, as well as starter-sizes of:

Kitchen - liquid dish soap, dish sponge, dishwasher pods, laundry pods, kitchen cleaning wipes, hand soap

Bathroom - shampoo, conditioner, massage body bar, body lotion, makeup wipe, body wash, hand soap

iTrip Maui also provides a starter set of salt/pepper packets, and a welcome coffee pack (no filter required!) with sugar/creamer packets included.

Smaller sizes are provided to prevent waste - not everyone cooks & washes dishes on vacation. But we want you to have enough to get started without having to run to the grocery store before checking in! Starter supplies are not replenished.

We need the tenant to be 25 or older. The guests of the tenant may be younger.
There is no smoking of any kind in the unit or on the lanai. 
Yes, this property has streaming WiFi and Cable
Yes, children are welcome. This is a family friendly property

No pet of any kind is permitted.

Checkin is 4PM and Checkout is 11AM


Another great stay!
5/5 stars
We returned to Makani Sands unit 106 after discovering this clean and comfortable unit a few years ago and falling in love with it. It's got everything we need, in a great location and with extraordinary views and ambiance. We love it and will come back again for future stays!
- Jodi
Oceanfront Relaxation
5/5 stars
This condo's ground-floor location allows us to sit a few feet from the water's edge in the morning shade and afternoon sun, watching for whales and often seeing turtles right below us. The unit is comfortably furnished and well equipped for us (two, elderly adventurers) - assistance with water temp was prompt and lighting over the stovetop would help. The non-smoking policy and congenial neighbors are a plus, as are nearby shops, including Snorkel Bobs, coffee cafe, Farmers Market store and tasty takeout. A quaint church and two beach parks are a short walk away; Napili Kai and the Kapalua Coastal Trail are a short drive north. We felt relaxed and safe our entire stay and will strongly consider returning again to Makani Sands.
- David
5/5 stars
A great condo and a very sociable community. Swimming with the sea turtles that visited us every day was great. The equipment of the condo is also worth mentioning, as well as the management on the site. We would come back anytime. Mahalo!
- Dominic

Mahalo Dominic for the 5 star review of Makani Sands 106. How wonderful that you enjoyed the condo and had a great stay! We hope to welcome you back soon. iTrip Maui (Ohana)

- Manager Response
5/5 stars
We stayed 8 nights and had the best time. The condo was great, well-equipped with everything we needed and the view is a 10+ - the best place to watch the sunset every night is right out the back door. Each night we watched anywhere between 8-14 sea turtles feeding on the rocks right outside out room and countless fish as well. Snorkeling is fabulous here if the conditions are right. We highly recommend this condo and will definitely be back. THANK YOU!
- Kim
March 2023
5/5 stars
Everything was fine and I did a full review for sent out by Air BnB. I would have only 2 minor items to bring to the attn of the owners of 106 that I did not have a opportunity to comment on in the other review: - entry door sticks at bottom, if they just took it off and shaved off 1/8 inch or so it would solve this minor inconvenience. - we didn't do much laundry, but on occasion we used dryer to try and dry out damp swimsuits and such at night. The dryer was quite funky - on occasions it would run normally, get hot and dry out what you wanted on the "normal" cycle. But often on the same cycle it would start, then turn off and on for 5 minute and stop and everything would still be cold and wet. We were never able to figure it out. Read Vaughan
- Clement

Mahalo Clement for the review of Makani Sands 106. We appreciate you taking time to write a 2nd review and letting us know about the door sticks as well as the dryer. Mahalo! iTrip Maui (Ohana)

- Manager Response
Winter getaway
5/5 stars
The condo met all of our requirements and was as advertised. We had a great time
- Peter

Mahalo Peter for the review of Makani Sands 106. How wonderful that the condo met your needs and was "as advertised". We welcome you back soon. iTrip Maui (Ohana)

- Manager Response
Maui Sunsets
5/5 stars
The condo is well stocked with the basics and we enjoyed it so much. The air conditioning was so appreciated. I did not realize that most of the other units do not have AC. I love that it is on the 1st story. Right outside the condo we sat for hours to take in the turtle and whale sightings and the magnificent Maui sunsets! The next time we plan a Maui trip we are looking to stay here!
- Teresa

Mahalo Teresa for the review of Makani Sands 106. How wonderful that you enjoyed the amenities as the sunsets and saw whales and sea turtles ! We welcome you back soon. iTrip Maui (Ohana)

- Manager Response
Makani Sands 106
3/5 stars
Very nice place and we enjoyed it! it was our first time in Hawaii and it's paradise. I have one complain and is that there were (a lot) of cockroaches. When we came back in the afternoons after of staying out for a couple of hours it was normal to see 4-5 cockroaches walking on the kitchen countertop. Most of the time when we opened the drawer to get some cutlery in the kitchen you can see cockroaches as well. I was an issue for my wife. Thanks
- Tomas

Mahalo Tommy for the review of Makani Sands 106. We are so glad you enjoyed your journey to Paradise. Burgs are a part of island life and the condo is sprayed regularly. We are sorry this was an issue for your wife. We hope to welcome you back to Paradise for a second time ! Aloha! iTrip Vacations Maui Team (Ohana)

- Manager Response
5/5 stars
What can I say, Makani Sands has all the spirit of Aloha. Everyone around us was so amazing and welcoming. We even got invited to a celebration of life for a tenant that had recently passed away at 100 years old, what an honor. Every day we would wake up, go outside, have coffee and a danish from Costco and just sit at our our private beach for at least a half hour to start our day. Everything was exceptional, including proximity. I literally had to walk down like 6 steps to the beach and the next thing I know, I’m swimming with sea turtles. I have nothing bad to say about Makani Sands and everything good to say. I can’t wait to stay there again for our next trip to Maui! Mahalo

Mahalo Chad for the review of Makani Sands 106. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, including the location and or the fact that you were only 6 steps away from swimming with turtles. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!  Mahalo iTrip Vacations Maui Team.

- Manager Response
Great location!
5/5 stars
Great location, within walking distance of coffee and farmers market and short drive to restaurants, grocery store, and even an awesome food truck park! Condo had all basic necessities (minus any pantry items like cooking oil), but onsite property manager was having trouble reaching the owner about spraying for bugs as she received multiple complaints. We did see a few cockroaches. Amazing views! The whale watching was spectacular right from the back door, binoculars provided () we even made friends with curious birds. Despite the pictures, there is no beach access from the room, but you can get in the water. Small pool, but nice and warm. We had a great trip overall.
- Keri
Maui Oceanfront
4/5 stars
Things I enjoyed about this condo: 1. Location was great! Very central to a lot of activities, restaurants, shopping. We did have a car (free parking was also a bonus), but enjoyed the local area. The bus stop was also right outside the building. 2. VIEW!! We were on the bottom floor, and walked out a few steps to be at the edge of the ocean where we watched numerous whales spouting, breeching, and playing. Amazing! (No beach at this time). 3. Outside area had a lot of seating options, including tables with chairs and recliners. There was also a nice BBQ area. The grounds were nicely maintained. 4. Inside: tons of storage in the well-stocked kitchen, with plenty of dishes, glasses, cookware, etc. Great for a long term stay. 5. Really liked the indoor high-top table for evening cards, games, meals. 6. Plenty of towels, toilet paper, dish and bath soap, etc. We had a relatively short stay (only 5 nights), but were happy that we had plenty of "essentials" to last. 7. Appreciated the beach chairs, umbrellas and towels. 8. Clear, easy check-in and out instructions. 9. VERY friendly array of guests in other units. Nice to meet fellow travelers. Things I enjoyed less: 1. Wish a luggage rack or two were available, as we had to use the dresser top and floors. 2. Wish a couple of extra blankets had been available. We did ask at the main desk, but they couldn't supply any. 3. Almost hate to mention this, but there was a definite cockroach issue. I know the tropics are prone to them, but they were very visible and active. We could not comfortably leave any unsealed food products on the counters.
- Brian & Cindy

Mahalo Brian for the detailed review of Makani Sands 106. We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey to Maui, the location, the view and the amenities of 106. We appreciate all of your input and take your suggestions seriously. We hope to welcome you back soon! iTrip Vacations Maui

- Manager Response
Brilliant sunsets
5/5 stars
a wonderful view of the ocean and islands
- Ronald

Mahalo Ronald for the review on Makani Sands 106, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the wonderful view of the ocean and the neighbor islands, we hope to welcome you back soon. Mahalo iTrip Vacations Maui Team.

- Manager Response
Makani Sands
5/5 stars
This is a wonderful place to stay. The condo has great upgrades and all the beach supplies to enjoy the ocean just a few steps from the patio. You can walk to shopping and Kaanapali. We prefer smaller places like Makani Sands to avoid the crowds. I recommend this place to anyone looking for a great smaller get away.
- Melinda

Mahalo Melinda for the review of Makani Sands 106 - Honokowai. We are so glad you enjoyed the condo, the location and the beach supplies! We welcome you back soon. Mahalo for the recommendation! iTrip Vacations Maui Team (Ohana(

- Manager Response
Almost Perfect Stay
3/5 stars
We stayed at the Makani Sands 106. The view was amazing. We ate breakfast and dinner every night outside by the water and it was amazing. We saw sea turtles right outside our unit in the water. Unfortunately, the one downside of our unit was the ants. The kitchen counter was covered in them to the point that we couldn't do any of our cooking prep work on the counter because then the ants would get into all our food. We contacted iTrip and they sent over the next day someone to take care of the ants, unfortunately it did not help. But otherwise, it was a great stay.
- Ann

Mahalo for the review of Makani Sands 106. We are so pleased you enjoyed the view, the lanai and saw sea turtles during your stay! We do apologize for the ant issue and are sorry were were not able to rectify the situation (units are sprayed on a regular basis). Aloha! iTrip Maui (Ohana)

- Manager Response
Unit 106
5/5 stars
Everything there was very nice and clean. Kitchen modern, bed comfortable, great to be on the first floor and just walk out to the lanai for breakfast. Two downsides: No keys so even though they came by and were suppose to bring them, had to go into the lock box every time to open the door as they never brought any copies. Also need to update the snorkel gear if you are going to leave it for guests. Worn out, broken straps, dated. Also, maybe a beach umbrella to take out would be nice too. Otherwise, very nice and reasonable place.
- Daniel

Mahalo Daniel for the review of Makani Sands 106 - Honokowai. We are so glad you enjoyed the condo and the location. We appreciate the input regarding the keys and the snorkel gear and they have been noted. We hope to welcome you back soon. iTrip Vacations Maui Team (Ohana)

- Manager Response
Acquired Taste
3/5 stars
We stayed in this property for 9 nights. Like with any rental property, there are pros and cons. It is up to the individual to decide whether the pros outweigh the cons. Pros: Beautiful ocean view and nice kitchen with adequate supplies. The outdoor dining table in the back patio was a bonus as we ate almost all our meals there and enjoyed the views in the morning and during sunset. The locals had this cool tradition that they blow of the seashell right at sunset and wish everyone an “Aloha!” Cool experience. Also appreciated that the property manager provided the missing items that we requested (additional towels, cutting board, soap/shampoo). Cons: There is no A/C in this property and the fans did not help much. The water pressure in the shower was ridiculous, plan on spending an hour under the weak shower head. The master bedroom is noisy due to several facts: ground floor property with foot traffic that you can hear since the “windows” don’t buffer any sound. There was construction taking place at 8 pm at the unit next door. This is not something that could be controlled but it was not appreciated at night. Takeaway Message: This was a decent property for a one time visit, and we felt it was satisfactory for our purposes. Just keep in mind that the beauty of Maui is not based on where you sleep, but based on where you visit and the experiences you have outside the property. Mahalo!
- Ashkaan
Awesome stay!
5/5 stars
Had a wonderful time at Makani Sands! Couldn’t ask for a better view right out the back door. Place was clean and quiet! Pool was warm and a nice wind down at night. Can’t wait to come back soon.
- Elizabeth
Perfect get-a-way!
5/5 stars
This was our first vacation using iTrip and they were THE BEST! We have already recommended their services to several friends and colleagues. Leanna is so attentive, knowledgeable and helpful, even sending the Wifi password in the middle of the night (!) so we were ready to work/school upon our arrival. We spent a month in unit 106 at the Makani Sands and it exceeded our expectations. It was the best work/vacation we've ever had and was well equipped with everything we needed to live and play comfortably for the month. It's close to restaurants, groceries and lots of island activities. The beach just step off the lanai did not disappoint with regular visits by turtles and even some dolphins and two whale sightings at the end of our stay (Nov. 30). Already looking forward to our return!!
- Jodi

Mahalo Jodi for the review of Makani Sands 106 - Honokowai. We are so pleased you enjoyed your month long stay, the amenities as well as the location. How exciting that you were able to view sea turtles, dolphins and whales. We welcome you back soon. Mahalo for the recommendation of iTrip Vacations Maui!

- Manager Response
Turtles Everyday!
5/5 stars
Aloha All! Let me just say that Makani Sands suite 106 is awesome! My family of 4 absolutely loved this place, it really made you feel like you were living in Maui. The newly remodeled kitchen and bathroom fully stocked and labeled with all the kitchen appliances, utensils, and extras were great!! We stopped at Costco,” right next to the airport” when we landed and gathered up milk, eggs , water and snacks for our week long stay. The Farmers Market and BadAss coffee shop was a 5 minute walk that we did almost everyday to get ice coffee and stuff we made for most of our breakfast, lunch and dinners. This time of year there’s a good amount of sand on your on lil private beach and we were fortunate to have a family of turtles that hung out in the water everyday mostly in the morning and evening. Dinner on the patio watching the sunset and swimming in the ocean right out your back door!! My two daughters 7 & 9 absolutely LOVED this place. Mahalo Makani Sands for making this trip one to remember! We will recommend this place to everyone and we will be back in the future for sure! Mahalo, The Vincent Family Carlsbad, CA
- Jason

Mahalo Jason for the wonderful review of Makani Sands 106 - Honokowai. We couldn't be more pleased that found Makani Sands to be "awesome!" and that you enjoyed the location, the amenities, the beach and the sunsets. How wonderful that you were able to see turtles everyday! We welcome you back soon. Mahalo for the recommendation. iTrip Vacations Maui Team (Ohana)

- Manager Response
This place was wonderful!
5/5 stars
We loved our stay here, had everything we needed to enjoy our stay!
- Abel

Mahalo Abel for the review of Makani Sands. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we welcome you back soon. iTrip Vacations Maui Team (Ohana)

- Manager Response
Makani Sands Condo
3/5 stars
Kind of an older condo but in decent shape. Dryer didn't work very well and shower faucet handle was very loose making it hard to regulate water temperature. The condo was stocked with everything we needed except for a bottle opener! ITrip was very responsive to any phone call. This condo did not have air conditioning and we were very disappointed with this. We did not think anyplace in Hawaii would not have A/C even if it wasn't listed on the amenities. This condo was right on the water as advertised and the freebies included are fabulous. This more than made up for the minor disappointments we had.
- David

Mahalo David for the review of Makani Sands 106 - Honokowai. How wonderful that you enjoyed the location, the amenities, "free fun" and that iTrip Vacations Maui was responsive to your needs. We welcome you back and we hope to see you again soon. iTrip Vacations Maui Team (Ohana)

- Manager Response
Lovely place to stay.
5/5 stars
We enjoyed our vacation immensely. The condo was very well stocked, from the dishes to the beach gear. Parking was readily available. The location is handy for shopping and for getting around in general. Leanne responded quickly when we had a question. The unit was as advertised and we were happy to call it home while we were in Maui. Thanks!
- Lois

Mahalo Lois for Makani Sands 106 - Honokowai. How wonderful you enjoyed the condo, the location and that Leanna, iTrip Vacations Maui was responsive to your needs. We welcome you back to Maui soon. iTrip Vacations Maui Team (Ohana)

- Manager Response
Wonderful Getaway for A Family of Four!
5/5 stars
We spent seven nights here in mid July and our family fell in love with the area. We came trying to escape the heat from Texas and this place was wonderful! It is fully stocked with four beach towels, sand toys, snorkeling equipment, two beach chairs, an umbrella, and a cooler. They really thought of everything as there is a first aid kit, and a few other necessities such as batteries and toddler cutlery and place settings. My four and seven year old kids loved the grassy area to run on after a day at the beach. We loved walking on the beach in the early morning before the tide came in to search for shells. We'd walk to the Farmer's Market and pick up fresh Acai bowls and things for lunch. I will say the beach right off of this condo is not suitable for a day of sitting out...the tide just comes in too close. But just down the road was our favorite public beach. We tried out many, but kept coming back to Nepali Beach as it was perfect for snorkeling, sand castle building, and boogie boarding. From our condo we could see sea turtles and eels and enjoyed having every meal out on the lanai. This place held many wonderful memories our little family will carry with us forever. Maui is magical and so is this place!
- Kristina

Mahalo Kristina for the detailed review of Makani Sands 106 - Honokowai. How wonderful that you and your family enjoyed the location, Napili Beach, the lanai and were able to see sea turtles and eels from the condo. We welcome you back soon. iTrip Vacations Maui Team (Ohana)

- Manager Response
Beautiful Maui 2018
5/5 stars
We had a wonderful week at Makani Sands 106! The weather was in the low 80's and just what we needed to escape rainy Washington state. The unit has EVERYTHING you could possibly need for a relaxing oceanfront vacation. The furnishings were modern and very comfortable. There were three of us and the third adult slept in the living room. He got to listen to the sound of the waves breaking all night and loved it. Even though it was late in the season we saw a whale one day. There were turtles everyday and a real highlight was watching a three foot long Moray Eel hunt and trap small fish right by the rocks next to the sand. We ate on the patio and used the barbeque, met all kinds of wonderful people who either lived there all the time or were other guests. We will be staying here again for sure!
- Stephen

Mahalo Stephen for the wonderful review of Makani Sands 106. We are so pleased you found the location to be so relaxing and comfortable. How exciting that you were able to see a whale, turtles and a Moray Eel! We hope to see you again soon. A hui hou - iTrip Vacations Maui Team (Ohana)"

- Manager Response
5/5 stars
This is the absolute best place to stay. This is our fourth trip to Maui but the first time staying here. Wake up and look or walk out to the ocean was the best. If we are lucky enough to visit again this will be the place and unit I will be looking to book first. Unit 106 was very clean and the king bed was so comfortable. There is new patio furniture than what is pictured, again very nice. No air conditioning but was no problem, ceiling and floor fans kept us comfortable.
- Cindy

Mahalo Cindy for your stay and review of Makani Sands 106. We are so pleased you were so comfortable and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return soon. A hui hou, iTrip Vacations Maui Team (Ohana)

- Manager Response
26th Wedding Anniversary
4/5 stars
This was our 4th trip to Maui and our first time at this condo. My goal was to rent where I could hear the ocean and this unit did not disappoint. We loved being able to sit on our lanai and watch the whales while eating our meals. The condo had everything you could possibly need! The only thing that prevented a 5 star rating was the lack of ac and the sliding door to the lanai was difficult to slide. Other than those small things, our stay was wonderful and quiet. Would definitely stay here again!
- Jan

Mahalo for your stay and review of Makani Sands 106! Thank you for letting us know about the slider so we can fix it! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return soon! A hui hou, iTrip Vacations Maui Team (Ohana)

- Manager Response
Your own personal slice of paradise
5/5 stars
We came hastily, fleeing the creeping Seattle darkness. We found a slice of paradise. Ocean waves rocking us to sleep every night from the Makani Sands' private beach. Sun-drenched breakfast every morning on the lanai looking out across the water. At night, the turtles come. Minutes to beaches of every description, from ultra tourist Ka'napali to secluded Slaughterhouse Beach to peaceful Kapalua. At night, a short distance to the galleries and shops of Lahaina and walking distance to a supermarket open until 2AM. We celebrated Halloween among revelers beaming Hawaiian cheer from billowing jellyfish costumes. We just couldn't bear to leave. In fact, the last day, we left a piece of ourselves behind. As in, we lost something. The team working with this fantastic place found it and had started the process to return all our lost items before we boarded the plane. Spend your time here. Book now and don't look back.
- David

Wow! What a poetic review of our "slice of heaven," Makani Sands 106 - Honokowai! Many mahalos for describing your experience and beauty here. We welcome you back soon...maybe to stay forever! -iTrip Vacations Maui Team (Ohana)

- Manager Response
Beautiful Maui!!
5/5 stars
We had a fantastic time at Makani Sands. The condo was beautiful and extremely comfortable. The condo was well stocked with everything you would possibly need. The out doors was magnificent. The views of the water and neighbouring islands breath taking. The tiki torches at nigh just added to the ambiance. Can't wait until, we are able to come back. Truly a great location and condo.
- Greg

Mahalo Greg for this lovely review of Makani Sands! We hope you can came back soon to enjoy the aloha spirit again, soon! A hui hou! -iTrip Vacations - Maui Ohana

- Manager Response
Beautiful Maui!!
5/5 stars
We had a fantastic time at Makani Sands. The condo was beautiful and extremely comfortable. The condo was well stocked with everything you would possibly need. The out doors was magnificent. The views of the water and neighbouring islands breath taking. The tiki torches at nigh just added to the ambiance. Can't wait until, we are able to come back. Truly a great location and condo.
- Greg Z

Mahalo, Greg for this lovely review of Makani Sands! We are thrilled that you had such a lovely time. Mahalo for sharing the highlights of your stay with future guests! -iTrip Vacations Maui Team (Ohana)

- Manager Response
Condo 106 Makani Sands
4/5 stars
Everything was fine with the exception of the airflow. It would have helped if there was a screen on the front door.
- Ken

Mahalo, Ken for your stay and review. We appreciate your suggestion and will pass it along. Mahalo nui - iTrip Vacations Maui Team (Ohana)

- Manager Response
Vacation inPatadise
5/5 stars
What a beautiful condo and beach front location. Beautifully equipped accommodations as well. Would definitely return. Staff and everyone so pleasant and helpful.
- Kimberly

Mahalo for your stay and review, Kimberly! We are so happy you enjoyed lovely Makani Sands! We look forward to your return...a hui hou! - iTrip Vacations - Maui Ohana (Team/Family)

- Manager Response
106 Makani Sands
4/5 stars
Very clean, updated condo. The king size bed was a bit too soft for our liking but everyone has different needs. There was lots of supplies for any activity you were interested in pursuing. My only suggestion would be for the patio furniture to be updated or at the very least to have the cushions replaced. We ate most of our meals on the lanai and the chairs were not very comfortable.
- Wendy

Mahalo for your review, Wendy! We appreciate your suggestions and are glad to hear that you enjoyed some fun activities in Maui! We welcome you back, soon! - iTrip Vacations - Maui Ohana (Team/Family)

- Manager Response
Christmas in Maui
5/5 stars
We spent our 2016 in this condo. It was nicely organized and we appreciated how close the pool and the ocean were for us. We loved falling asleep to the waves. This condo had everything and was extremely well organized. We never used the inside dining table and ate out side everyday. It was an enjoyable experience . Bert the maintance dude was super friendly and the Christmas gift outside our front door was very generous and sweet. Bad Ass coffee was a bonus favourite for my husband every morning became a ritual for a family walk. Thank you for a wonderful experience.
- Kristiena
Makani Sands
4/5 stars
Great place, ocean right outside your lanai. Sea turtles everyday, nice beach, great swimming and snorkeling. The only drawback is that when the Tradewinds go down it gets pretty warm and humid in the unit at night.
- Patrick
Honeymoon at Makani Sands!
5/5 stars
Aloha! We loved this condo! Nicest place we have ever stayed at. We really appreciated all the little details and effort taken to give us all the comforts of home. The owners really thought about everything from fresh new sponge, a cooler for day trips, games, beach equipment and more. It was fantastic! We could not have ad a more perfect honeymoon and suite. The beach in front of our room was the cherry on top. We found some great snorkel spots on the beach and were visited by turtles everyday. Some of our fav memories were: 1) Road to Hana-swimming in water falls, The bamboo forest, rainforests and blacksand beach 2)Snorkeling everyday! 3) Swimming on the private beach of Makani Sands 4) Fav Restaurant was Sangrita-Best Mexican good we have ever had and just 15 mins from the condo! Overall, we had the best time and this confo makes it really hard to say goodbye to Hawaii. Thanks for the memories :) -Saurabh & Prachi, Toronto, Canada
- Saurabh
Wonderful Stay!
5/5 stars
This condo was absolutely perfect! My husband and I came to Hawaii for a conference on Oahu and decided to extend our stay in Maui. I found this place online and fell in love with it. I was so excited that it was a ground floor unit right on the ocean with amazing views, a sandy beach, and upgraded interior. I was not disappointed in the least when we arrived. Everything was beautifully decorated, there was snorkel gear, beach towels, coolers and everything we needed for our Maui adventures. This place hit everything on my list and I couldn't have been more pleased with our stay here. I especially enjoyed seeing a sea turtle on the beach. The in-house attendants were so friendly, the nearby Farmer's market and coffee house a delight, and the entire area had a laid back atmosphere. I would definitely come back to stay at this particular condo again. I wish I had planned to stay here longer as I really enjoyed everything about the island and the condo. Mahalo!
- Christisue78
Fabulous stay in Maui
5/5 stars
My wife and I really liked this condo. The unit is very clean and nice. We loved the beach front access that was just steps away from the door. The beach is not huge but it is a beach and easily accessible for a quick swim in the ocean. We also loved watching the turtles in the morning that would come swimming in and play near the rocks. We saw some nights they would go on to the beach but we missed seeing them. Everything is marked in the unit so you know where things go or where things should be. The bed was a little too soft for my liking because of my back but it was tolerable. My wife and I wished there were more air conditioning options. There is not an A/C in the unit. While at times we could get a breeze by opening the bedroom window and living room sliding door we often could not feel a breeze. By the end of the trip we had all the fans going just to stay cool. An in unit A/C would be really nice. The condo is close to a super market so you don't need to stop at Walmart near the airport for food. Just wait and shop at the store nearby. We also loved how close it was to Lahaina which is by the far the best place to work around and shop and eat. We also found that West Maui had lots of fun places to see so staying here made it easy to get to all of those places (vs the road to Hana which has all the other cool places to see but is a drive). I'd recommend this condo to any of my friends who were thinking of staying in Maui.
- Scott
Great Vacation
5/5 stars
Makhani Sands was a great place to stay for our Maui vacation. Close to everything we needed and places we were going. The unit was clean, comfortable and had all the amenities we needed. The added bonus of the sound of the waves and beautiful views, including a.m. rainbows was fabulous!!
- Margaret

It was nice of you to take the time to write such a kind review. We hope to see you back again very soon.

- Manager Response
Outstanding trip
5/5 stars
We had the most fantastic 10 day vacation. We wanted to stay in a condo so we could cook our own meals and make our own drinks. This place delivered. They had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. Not to mention your 20 steps to the water. We saw turtles everyday and the snorkeling was better than going to molokini. Bert the grounds keeperror was awesome as well he made sure we had a great time and let us use his paddle boards. We were so happy with everything we wanted to stay longer. The only draw back was the bedroom. I would suggest getting a darker shade for the window sleeping at night there was a lot of light that came through the shade that's on the window. Kept us up most the night.
- Matthew

We are so glad you enjoyed your time at Makani Sands - it is a wonderful location for snorkeling and seeing the turtles is such a special experience. For our future guests, we have modified the angle on the light from outside to make sure the light is not coming through the window and are investigating a darker shade. Please come back and visit us again.

- Manager Response
Mahalo Makani Sands
5/5 stars
Mahalo Makani Sands for providing a perfect home base during our Maui vacation. Situated on a private spot of beach between major vacation resorts and pointedly decorated inside & with toys for outside play, this vacation rental had it all. We could come and go as we pleased walking to most spots due to the condo's proximity and because of the amenities we ended up spending down time at the condo too! Our Maui vacation was tremendous. Mahalo Makani Sands!!
- Jen

Mahalo for your review. It makes us very happy to know that you enjoyed your experience at Makani Sands!

- Manager Response
Our stay in Maui
5/5 stars
Our vacation and accomodations at Makani Sands #106 was by far the best ever! We like to get out of town during the holidays and just forget and relax. Maui is our place to do just that. This place did it for us! Every day in the water, snorkeling is my fav thing to do. The condo has everything we need and more. Bert the caretaker was so friendly and helpful and Leanna was the best! We couldn't get tv reception in the living room and she went way over and above to help us with this. We were so thankful for her help. Thanks for a great 2015 vacation and we hope to return soon. Sincerely, Keith and Belinda
- Belinda

Aloha and thank you for your positive feedback about Makani Sands and unit 106. We are thrilled you enjoyed your vacation and that our condominium exceeded your expectations. By the way, the television reception is very good. Be sure to come back and visit us anytime!

- Manager Response
Fantastic view, tough to entertain guests
4/5 stars
Built in the same era as many of the Honokawai and Kahana condos, the ocean view is great. We had everything in the kitchen and furnishings we needed to entertain a small gathering (6-8 persons) to show off our new grand daughter, except parking spaces. We only gathered once so that we would not be upsetting the site manager who was gracious but had no choice but to shepard every parking space, as there was only one available per unit.
- A FlipKey verified reviewer

Book Your Stay

Select your trip dates.
Contact Manager