Horizon East 501

Horizon East 501 Oceanfront, 3 Bedroom -Steps to the Beach-Short Drive to Dining/shops - w/Free Tickets to Local Attractions - HE 501

3 BR
3 Baths
Sleeps 6


Room with a View? How about three?

Many oceanfront condos (especially those that don't cost a fortune) are rather, shall we say, "cozy". In fact, many are just plain small! This end unit in luxurious Horizon East offers a spacious exception. Two master bedrooms, each with a king size bed, full bath and a sliding door to a balcony with a breathtaking view of blue sky and golden sand, and the soothing sound of the waves. The third bedroom has twin beds and enjoys a nice view of the colorful rooftops of Garden City.

A well equipped full kitchen, comfortably furnished dining and living areas provide plenty of space to sit back and enjoy the relaxing sound of the ocean. When you're ready to feel the soft warm sand between your toes, the Garden City beach is right out from the lobby.

All rooms are one level, no stairs to climb. The elevator from the lobby provides excellent handicapped access. There is one parking place per unit at Horizon East. Sliding doors at both ends of the fifth floor home create a delightful breeze year 'round. In addition, ceiling fans keep cool air moving in every room. All bedrooms have closets and dressers to provide ample storage space. The fully equipped kitchen includes a full-size refrigerator, stove with oven, microwave, toaster, small appliances, pots, and pans. Dishes, glassware, and tableware are on hand. There are two barbecue grills for guests to use. Horizon East is a concrete structure, and this is an end unit, you're unlikely to be disturbed by neighbors above or next door.

Linens are provided, beds will be made, some soap, paper towels, and trash bags will be on hand. You will not begin your vacation by making beds or running to the store to get toilet paper!

Garden City is perfect for a family vacation, away from the traffic and crowds, but still a short drive to attractions, and over 100 golf courses. The Garden City Beach pier, restaurants and shops are .7 of a mile south from Horizon East. The Surfside Beach pier, restaurants, bars, and shopping are a short drive (or a pleasant, longer walk) north. Luxury shopping and dining are a few minutes north in the Market Commons area. All the attractions, dining, and shopping of Broadway at the Beach, Coastal Grand, and the Myrtle Beach downtown boardwalk are just a bit further north. For a unique cultural experience, Brookgreen Gardens displays one of the world's largest collections of sculpture by American artists in a lush outdoor setting, along with a zoo and butterfly garden. It's just a few minutes south.

This is the place to enjoy an ocean view with plenty of space, is it not?

The person renting this property must be at least 25 years old, have a valid credit card, and be present for the entire rental.

This property allows ONE parking tag per unit. Parking is limited at all oceanfront properties. No additional parking tags are available.

We help make the most of your vacation by providing Free Admission to some of the area's top attractions each and every day! Create exciting memories, have more fun, and truly experience your destination!


*The Free Fun Program is not Valid for Stays over 14 Days

*WARNING - do NOT reserve this property with anyone reaching out from Social Media or Market Place Sites*

1108 N Waccamaw Dr, 501 Garden City, SC 29576

Property Rules

Check In: After 4pm
Check Out: Before 10am
Smoking: Not Allowed


Air Conditioning
Beach Front
Big Screen TV
Clothes Dryer
Coffee Maker
Communal Pool
Covered Patio
Internet Access
Ocean Front
Satellite or Cable
Washing Machine
Water View
Bed Linens
Enhanced Cleaning
Family friendly
Smoke Detector



Frequently Asked Questions

In most cases, no.  If you find beach chairs or other beach items in the property, you are welcome to use them.  However, most owners advise that their beach chairs were left on the beach too often.  
Pets are not permitted at many of our properties.  In most cases, HOA rules prohibited guests from bringing pets, even though owners are permitted to.  We have a few properties where we can consider allowing a small dog - NO cats.  The dog must be at least a year old, and weigh less than 30 pounds (two properties are limited to 20 pound dogs).  These are clearly marked "allows pets" and a non-refundable rent surcharge of $200 ($300 for two small dogs) is required.  Please contact us with information about your dog before booking a reservation - at which time we can approve your dog, add the animal surcharge to your reservation and collect said surcharge if you booked the property through a 3rd party affiliate.

Cancellation refunds are only made after (and if) the period is re-rented, less a $100 cancellation fee.  If you are concerned about needing to cancel please consider travel insurance; it covers cancellation for a wide range of reasons, along with many additional benefits.  
Our check-in time is 4pm at our office. Approval for a late check in will be granted in EXTREMELY RARE CIRCUMSTANCES. If one is granted, the renter must return to the check-in office the following day before 2pm to complete the check-in process.  This includes the renter showing ID to confirm identity and that he/she meets the minimum age requirement. There will be a $100 charge if this is not completed.
The person renting any property must be 25 or older, have a valid credit card, and be present throughout the rental period.  The renter will be responsible for the actions of and damage caused by everyone in the group.  Any reservation obtained under false pretense will be subject to forfeiture of reservation deposit, damage deposit, and/or balance of rental payment.
WiFi internet access is provided in all of our properties.  Security and connection speed vary widely.  The HOA systems typically do not require a password.  If you have important business or financial matters to transact, consider bringing a mobile WiFi connection device of your own.  Connection speeds may not be fast enough to support streaming movies, music or video games.  
Parking is limited at all oceanfront condominium complexes.  We can only provide the number of parking passes the HOA rules permit.  In most cases, no more than two parking passes can be provided.  We are limited to one parking pass per unit at Horizon East, Afterdeck, and for one and two bedroom units at Waters Edge.  

There aren't any free public parking lots near the beach.  Surfside Beach has some metered parking along Ocean Boulevard and some lots.  

The rental includes the parking passes available, but does not guarantee the availability of parking space.  Parking is managed by the property manager, we have no control over the parking lot or parking space.  
For violation of any of the proceeding rules, tenant and all other occupants will be evicted according to South Carolina law with forfeiture of all monies.  In addition, outside of Airbnb rules and restrictions, all guests agree to the iTrip Vacations Myrtle Beach South Rental Agreement.
  • The reservation must be in the name of someone who is at least 25 years old. This person must also be in the rental the entire length of the stay. Any reservation obtained under false pretense will be subject to forfeiture of all monies paid.
  • Check-in is 4pm at our office. Approval for a late check in will be granted if notified in advance. If one is granted, the renter must return to the office next day to complete the check-in process.  This includes renter showing ID to confirm minimum age requirement. There will be a $100 charge if this is not completed. 
  • PLEASE NOTE: if you are booking on Airbnb: Airbnb puts the Admin Fee, Limited Damage Waiver Fee, Cleaning & Linen Fee all together and calls it the CLEANING FEE. That's why the cleaning fee appears to be high but it is not that high. We hope this helps.
  • We do not rent to house parties and/or groups including, but not limited to, fraternity/sorority, graduation, or spring break.  
  • If evidence of a pet(s) is found in the unit or on the premises and your rental does not include advance permission and pet fee, you will be required to vacate immediately with no refund.
  • Smoking is not allowed in the properties. 
  • Each property's max occupancy is stated in the rental agreement and is located in the property's description.
  • No barbeque grills of any kind are permitted on balconies or inside the unit. No open flames, ie. candles, are permitted on balconies or in the unit.
  • There is no daily maid service. Linens and towels are included and are not to be taken from the unit. Additional cleaning fees will be due in the event that cleaning involves the removal of excessive sand, trash or other unusual conditions.
  • No compensation will be given for temporary outage of electricity, gas, water, cable, or internet service. Outages should be reported immediately and all efforts will be made to have them restored as soon as possible.
  • Tenant agrees to leave the premises and its contents in the same neat and tidy condition as Tenant found the premises to be upon move-in.
  • Tenant agrees to abide by the rules of the HOA applicable to the property. Violations that result in expense, fines or limitation of the rights of the owner will be charged to the Tenant's credit card.
  • Owner or owner's agents may enter the premises under the following circumstances: In case of an emergency; to make any necessary or agreed upon repairs, alterations, or improvements; or to supply necessary or agreed upon services or show the premises to prospective purchasers, renters or contractors. Owner will provide renter with at least 24 hours' notice of owners intent to enter (except in the case of an emergency). Pest control personnel must be admitted (refusal is not permitted).
  • We supply the number of parking hangtags or other credentials permitted by property manager or Home Owners Association rules at each complex.  We cannot control parking, and cannot guarantee the availablity of parking space at any particular time.  This rental includes parking credentials, but not parking space.  Parking at Horizon East, Cape Coddages One and Afterdeck is limited to one vehicle per unit during the summer months.  No boats, jet skis, trailers, golf carts or RVs at any property unless specifically permitted.
  • Furnishings are not to be removed from the premises for use outside or in other properties.
  • Neither iTrip nor the Owner assume any liability for loss, damage or injury to persons or their personal property. Neither does Owner accept any liability for any inconveniences, damage, loss or injury arising from any temporary defects or stoppage in supply of water, gas, cable service, electricity or plumbing, weather conditions, natural disasters, acts of God, or other reasons beyond its control.
  • Tenant hereby acknowledges that the premises they have reserved may include a community pool and the undersigned agrees and acknowledges that the community pool and patio/deck can be dangerous areas, that the deck/patio can be slippery when wet, and that injury may occur to anyone who is not careful. With full knowledge of the above facts and warnings, the undersigned Tenant accepts and assumes all risks involved to Tenant and all of Tenant's guests in or related to the use of the community pool and patio areas.
Surfside Beach City ordinance prohibits dogs on the beach between May 15 and September 15. South Shores HOA will CONSIDER small dogs to accompany tenants between LABOR DAY and MEMORIAL DAY. They are NOT permitted during the peak summer months which are June, July and August. There is a maximum of two(2) dogs considered and each must be under 30lb. There is a $200 charge for the first and $300 for two. You MUST have your pet approved by iTrip Vacations Myrtle Beach South in order for them to stay in any of our properties. Tenant MUST contact us with age, weight and breed via email- at which time we will approve or deny stay request.  If stay is approved the pet fee will be added to your reservation and must be paid before arrival. If stay is denied the pet may NOT enter our property at any time!


5/5 stars
Great place to stay! No issues at all- had folks checking on us after the storm- would stay here again anytime - the beach walks were fantastic! Found starfish and sand dollars !!!
- Suzanne
Another Year, Another Pleasant Stay
5/5 stars
We are winding down our 20th year at Horizon East and our 5th (I think) in #501. Our unit is comfortable, reasonably well furnished from kitchen to bed, bath, and living area. I trip has been very responsive whenever we had an issue, usually like helping with the TV or a minor plumbing problem. At the age of 80, we have been in many, many vacation rentals. We feel at home here.
- Paul
Great stay
5/5 stars
We really enjoyed staying here. It was clean, spacious and comfortable. I definitely recommend it.
- Mark

Thank you so much Mark and hope to see you all again next summer!! :-)

- Manager Response
Amazing vacation
5/5 stars
The condo is very nice and comfortable! I got kudos from my husband for picking this condo. It has everything you need. It has three bedrooms and three bathrooms, which was amazing. We will definitely be back again.
- Tara

Thank you SO much Tara and we would love to have you and your family back!! Until then, have a wonderful summer! :-)

- Manager Response
Great unit……. But the pool was closed on Thursday
4/5 stars
Seeing the pool closed due to an unpaid bill is not a good indication of management for this complex. We were very disappointed. We realize mechanical things happen, weather happens but an unpaid bill is a red flag . We were considering rebooking. We are now reconsidering. Otherwise we were pleased with safety features, accessibility, the unit 501 end unit, and the multiple bedrooms and bathrooms.
- Pamela

Hey Pam - thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are SO sorry about the pool closed for the day at this property. This complex sustained significant damage from Hurricane Ian and literally just opened their pool the week before you arrived. The renovation process was a nightmare (as MANY buildings in the area needed significant repairs) so between shortage of workers and availability of products this three month repair turned into an eight month repair. During this period of time there were LOTS of fingers being pointed as well - somewhere to place the blame for the delay- so the turnover of staff & board members were plenty and during that time the ball was dropped for submitting the yearly recreational permit to the county. One would think, as often as the county was on property to approve the various other permits that were issued for the repair projects, that they would have reminded them to submit this one page document - but that did not happen and unfortunately lead to the pool being shut down for the day. We were not notified and had NO idea this happened until we read your review. We are SO sorry for this inconvenience and can assure you that if you return next year this will NOT be an issue!!!

- Manager Response
5/5 stars
This condo did not disappoint. There were 4 of us and it had everything we needed for a great vacation. From picking up the Keyes to periodic check ins we were well looked after. Shopping is close by and touristy spots are easy to get to. Kitchen is well stocked with everything you need to make meals and many many places to eat nearby. The view is spectacular.
- Cheryl

Wow! Thank you, Cheryl!! :-) We are thrilled that you all had such a great time, and that you had everything at your fingertips, as that does make for a great vacay!! Please come back and visit us again soon, and until then, have a wonderful summer! Take care~

- Manager Response
Fabulous and Spacious!
5/5 stars
We love staying here! The view is incredible. The ocean is just feet away and they have a pool too! Condo is super spacious and comfortable. Would highly recommend to friends and family.
- heathersQ7897VE
Thanksgiving at the beach
5/5 stars
This is my family’s second year at Horizon East 501. Both times we were here for Thanksgiving week. The condo was clean and has plenty of room. We like the fact that it’s a 3 bedroom 3 bath condo. My wife has cooked a full Thanksgiving meal both year and the kitchen has everything she needs. The view from the balcony is amazing! We will definitely be coming back next year.
- Brandon

Hi Brandon, We're SO glad you all had a wonderful time, and a yummy Thanksgiving, and appreciate your kind words re: our property! :-) Looking forward to seeing you all back next year, and until then, have a very Merry Christmas!! Take care~

- Manager Response
5/5 stars
The unit is clean. View is great. My family has enjoyed coming here each summer.
- Heather D
501 horizon east
5/5 stars
Great Condo, clean and spacious. Had a great time right on the beach.
- Brian

That is wonderful to hear, and we look forward to having you back!

- Manager Response
Great accomodations !!
5/5 stars
Location was excellent, rooms were clean. Would stay there again !!
- Salvatore

Thank you so much Salvatore, and we would love to have you back! Come visit again soon and take care! :-)

- Manager Response
Another Great Two Months (even with the virus)
5/5 stars
Hi Jim, Do you remember showing us your place in 2018, the night before you and your new wife were leaving to go North? We were in 601 looking for a new rental and you invited us down to see your unit. So this is our second year and, sadly, we are heading home tomorrow. We are reserved for next year. Fishing was good in September, but went south in October. We enjoyed your well furnished condo but had to allow for the virus and curtailed our activity somewhat. Hope all is well with your family. Stay safe. Regards, Paul and Andrea Van Marter
- Paul V
Beach Time at HE 501
5/5 stars
Our experience began with hurricane Dorian threatening our arrival date. The ITrip staff kept us informed as to when we would be able to start our trip South from Ohio. When we arrived at the iTrip office, we were in and out with the keys and rental information in three minutes. Our condo was clean, well stocked, and ready for us. The next day we asked iTrip for a chain to operate the overhead fan, and a lid for our kitchen wastebasket. The next day it was taken care of by a very friendly representative. We have never experienced iTrip before in our travels, but this experience was super.
- Paul A. Van Marter
Horizon East 501 review
5/5 stars
Great place, very spacious. We really enjoyed our vacation and loved this part of the beach.
- Ellen
Great time
5/5 stars
We have a good time . The place was big and clean
- Kathia
Excellent vaca stay!
5/5 stars
We had a fantastic vacation here! Everything was beyond perfect for our group of 6. The kitchen was very spacious. The washer and dryer worked great and was a nice extra for us. We didn't realize there would be beach chairs and umbrellas and even beach toys for the kids already there. That was a nice surprise too! The place was so clean when we arrived. We couldnt speak any higher about this place. It was so perfect for us and we will def be back.
- Tina
Fee Fo Review
4/5 stars
Unit was clean and had everything you would find at home.I would recommend to friends
- Zena
Condo 501
1/5 stars
Terrible. Where do I start? Paint is peeling,sinks and tubs drain so slowly,slats missing from vertical blinds,tv in bedroom doesn't work, exhaust fan not working in bathroom, wallpaper peeling in bathroom. Whole condo needs updated!!!! Your ad stated updated and it definitely is not!! We'll never stay here again
- rjb052018

Readers, please compare this review to the one from the guest that stayed there just before the reviewer. Could the place have deteriorated this much in just a week? Could the kitchen remodeling pointed out by the prior reviewer have vanished? The kitchen was in fact remodeled last fall. We sent our service manager in to check on these complaints. The tubs and sinks drain just fine. There are no slats missing from any blinds, one slat was turned the wrong way. The exhaust fan works, though a bit noisy. These two reviews illustrate what must not be forgotten; review are opinions, nothing more. Some people go through life seeing their glass half full, others always find theirs half empty. We will make sure these people never rent any property from us again.

- Manager Response
Pleasantly surprised and satisfied
4/5 stars
Unable to book our annual week at the beach in a beach house, we ended up taking a last-minute long weekend and decided to rent a condo instead. After looking for a few days online, we came across unit 501 at Horizon East in Garden City, our favorite place to vacation at the beach. The pictures showed a very nice looking unit, and even though the reviews were less than flattering, they were from a few years ago,and by all accounts the unit had been updated since they were written. Our arrival was met rudely by a vicious thunderstorm, and made getting into the unit an adventure in itself. The wind tunnel was SO strong that it took three of us to open the door. Obviously this has nothing to do with the rental itself; just a bit of bad luck in terms of our timing on arrival. The unit was spacious and airy; very unusual for an oceanfront condo. In the past, when we've rented these types of units, the living rooms are usually tiny, not well furnished, and the bedrooms are simply that - rooms with a bed. But this unit is an end unit, and it was very large and inviting. There was ample seating in the living room for our party of six. There were king beds in both master bedrooms, and most of all, each bedroom had it's own bath, which was very pleasing. The kitchen had been redone, with new counter tops, plenty of dishes and other items for cooking, and a nice seating area. Had we decided to cook during our stay, there was ample pots, pans, etc. for us to use, as well as all of the necessary utensils. The water pressure was outstanding in all three showers, and because we rented directly through the owner, there were plenty of towels, toiletries, and even complimentary coffee and laundry detergent for us. The best thing - again - about this unit was simply how large it was. I can't overstate how nice it was to be able to spread out and get comfortable. I've stayed in many, many hotel/condo units where the sofa is hard and uncomfortable, and you spend the majority of your time sitting in a straight-back chair that's just not relaxing. We had all the comforts of home when it was down-time, and we took full advantage. I will say that the homeowners are very particular about their security. You won't get it this place without either a code or a key fob. I guess if I lived there full-time, I'd fee the same way about visitors. The pool deck was large and inviting, and the pool - although not huge - was refreshing and not crowded at all. Access to the beach was very simple off of the pool deck. Parking was never a problem, even with an abundance of homeowners staying this particular week. In summary, while we always prefer renting a house for our vacation, we will most definitely consider unit 501 at Horizon East for any future short visits. The homeowner was pleasant to deal with, and quick to respond.
- Nightowl50

Thank you very much for your kind review! We're certainly glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit at Horizon East 501. We hope you will visit again soon. Thanks again for choosing iTrip.

- Manager Response
Fee Fo Review
4/5 stars
The reservation process went very smoothly. Checking in after hours, the lockbox was convenient. The condo was super nice. However, there was no tv channel guide and no information regarding using the key fob to gain access to the building. Thank goodness for another owner giving us guidance. We will definitely return to this condo and use iTRIP.
- Bruce
Horizon East #501
4/5 stars
Very pleasant place to visit. Great view of the coast from the balcony. The unit was impeccably clean and we loved the kitchen. Bedrooms were all good size and there was plenty of room in the closets to accommodate all of our clothing. Having a drink on the deck and listening to the roar of the ocean was a wonderful way to end the evenings. My five friends and I really enjoyed out stay at this condo. Brookgreen Gardens is a must see and is only about a 10-15 drive from the unit. Julie
- Julie
Will not return
2/5 stars
To be fair to the owners – not all of the issues we ran into with this unit were reported. It just got to be too much and we decided to “suck it up” and deal with them or we would have had people in and out all week. The bottom line is there is absolutely no quality control when this unit was rented out and we will not be back. Here is a list of issues we experienced over our 3 weeks: 1. Four out of the six balcony chairs were broken. When reported, they removed the 4 and gave us 2 (we bought two to supplement). 2. There is no balcony table as pictured in the photos – we told them, nothing done 3. There are two drawers in the kitchen and one in the coffee table in the living room that just fall out when you open them (did not report) 4. The kitchen cabinets were disgusting with dirt throughout (I have pictures). Everything had to be washed before being used. The glasses did not look clean - fingerprints all over them. 5. The steps from the deck to the beach were broken for the first 6 days we were there - we were not told ahead of time 6. One shower head was leaking and spraying water on the ceiling. It was obvious from the ceiling that this had been going on a while. A piece of the ceiling fell on my friend while showering. They did fix this when reported 7. The towel racks over the toilets in the bathrooms are old and rusty and some of the shelves are broken. (did not report) 8. As others have indicated, there were several slats missing on the blinds. Again, they fixed it when reported, but why wasn’t this fixed before we arrived? 9. Unit was dirty and worn overall. It needs updated and a good cleaning. My family comes to MYR every year for the past 40 years for 3-4 weeks at a time. Our expectations in accommodations are based on what we have experienced in the past – so they are not unrealistic. As I said in the beginning, we did not report all of these items like they encourage you to do. It is not my job on my vacation to be the owner’s quality control. They need to change up their Quality process to be more proactive.
- Mary
Great time
4/5 stars
We really enjoyed our stay at Horizon East. This unit has plenty of room and everything we needed for our beach stay.
- Charles
Horizon East 501
2/5 stars
Very dated unit. Called and reported that air was not sufficient for back bedroom near road when rest of unit would be too cool it would be too hot. Vertical blinds missing some of the blinds in living area and bedroom at back of unit near road. Very slow drainage in hall bath in sink and tub. Both of these problems also reported and we were told someone would be there at a specific time to look at but did not show up when expected, when we called back we were told that someone would call before coming during a specific time period but never received a call and we left the unit and they left a message that they had been there but we did not want anyone in the unit without us there. Also the laundry room situation was too small and way washer and dryer were positioned was virtually inaccessible, needs a stacked unit for the size of the room.
- Tillie
Needs updating, but it's still very nice for the price.
3/5 stars
I agree with the last person this home needs to be updated and repaired. The ceilings are patched and some are moldy, the new laminate floor is buckling, the wallpaper is coming off the wall and the kitchen is completely outdated the bathroom fans don't work well, pots and pans need replacing as well. And the mattresses need replacing. This is the reason for the three stars, otherwise I would have given it four. With that being said the location you can't beat. Right on the ocean, two kings beds, and two twin beds and a pull out couch if needed. The sliders in living room, and both master bedrooms, three bathrooms. If you don't mind a place that is not quite updated and the price is fairly low compared to other areas, then this home is great. Lots if closet space, bring your own beach towels, there is a Walmart close by where you can buy all of the essentials, they provide some essentials but not enough. The laundry is also outdated but works. However check it first last renters left gum in the dryer which got on my pants and I had to scrap it off the dryer. There is lots to do here we literally didn't sit still here until the day before we left. Eggs up grill is a great breakfast and lunch spot and there are plenty of dinner places to eat. We did call maintenance once and they were quick and friendly. Hope this was helpful.
- mnckn98
Outdated, needs work
3/5 stars
Although the carpet and laminate floors are new, everything else is outdated. The bathroom vanities are so low and must be original. The foam mattress toppers do not help much on a thin mattress. With some much needed updates this could be an excellent condo.
- A FlipKey verified reviewer

Book Your Stay

Select your trip dates.
Contact Manager

Toll Free (888) 505-1618