417 Mansion

$169.86 - $375 / night   in Lakeland  
5 Bedrooms 3.5 Bathrooms Sleeps 11
Sleeping Arrangements
Downstairs Bedroom   Queen  
Upstairs Master Suite   King  
Upstairs Full Bedroom   Full  
Twin Over Full Bunk Bedroom   Bunk Combo  
Upstairs Queen Bedroom   Queen  

Where do we start? Fantastic one of a kind historic home.

Filled with architectural character and charm of 1912, named The Deen House. This home was previously featured on numerous publications, including the cover of American Bungalow Magazine. The home was designed by Guy Platt Johnson, a student of Frank Lloyd Wright, for banker Columbus W. Deen (also known for being the great-great uncle of Paula Deen) in c.1912 and according to The Ledger, legend has it that both Frank Lloyd Wright and Helen Keller stayed in the house during visits to Florida Southern College.

In 2012, the current owners added to the home restoration to restore the characteristics of nineteenth-century prairie style architecture while utilizing modern updates in the main house kitchen and upstairs full baths.. The luxurious wraparound covered porch is approximately 1, 800 square. Other characteristics include many details such as stained glass windows, original pocket doors, coffered ceilings and six fireplaces, fantastic woodwork.

Bedroom #1. (Master) Suite: King bed

Bedroom #2. Queen

Bedroom #3. Full + Twin bunk

Bedroom #4. Full

Bedroom #5. (Downstairs) Queen

The enchanting Deen House is steeped in local history and folklore. Our goal has been to update the home with all of the modern conveniences, whilst still retaining the integrity of its original design and character. Built by its first owner, Columbus W. Deen, his family lived here until his death. Today the home is one of the finest examples of the "prairie style" of architecture extant in the city. The style is usually marked by horizontal lines, flat or hipped roofs with broad overhanging eaves, windows grouped in horizontal bands, integration with the landscape, solid construction, craftsmanship, and discipline in the use of ornament. Horizontal lines were thought to evoke and relate to the native prairie landscape.

The designation “Prairie” is due to the dominant horizontal of the majority of Prairie style buildings which echoes the wide, flat, tree-less expanses of the mid-Western United States. The most famous proponent of the style, Frank Lloyd Wright, promoted an idea of "organic architecture", the primary tenet of which was that a structure should look as if it naturally grew from the site. Wright also felt that a horizontal orientation was a distinctly American design motif, in that the younger country had much more open, undeveloped land than found in most older, urbanized European nations.

Frank Lloyd Wright is believed to have stayed in the home during his many visits to Florida Southern College. The Deen House is located in the heart of the Lake Morton Historic District at the corner of Success Avenue and McDonald Street. The home features bold crown moldings, restored oak paneling and wood-stained beams across coffered 11 ½ foot ceilings. Staircase is over 4 foot wide and 22 ½ foot deep in a spacious open atrium that showcases the commissioned stained-glass masterwork of the “Tree of Life” by Lakeland artist, Ken Berman.

The home has 6 FIREPLACES and a powerful use of the arch as a brilliant counterstatement to the angular hallmarks of the early 20th century prairie motif. Restorations, remodeling, upgrades to the home have taken place for most of the last two decades, the home has undergone enormous restoration and repair. Come stay and experience history!

Guest Review:

5 Star Review - July 25, 2019 - We came into town on business and told some of the engineers where we were staying and a little bit about the house. Once finished for the day, it was decided the after meeting needed to be at the house. Former students of architecture walked the house and really enjoyed the history. It was a very interesting and comfortable stay, we hope to return in the very near future. Thank you for having us. Karen B.

4 Star Review - Feb. 23, 2020 - We loved our stay at this historic home! Spotless clean, comfortable, and accommodating for our large group. Our only wish was a more than emergency supply of toilet paper and kitchen garbage bags. Bring your own or stop by the store first thing! Melissa C.

5 Star Review - March 15, 2020 - Great location. Clean home and peaceful escape. Deryl L.

417 Frank Lloyd Wright Way Lakeland, FL 33803
Info
Property Type: Home Beds: 6 Accommodates: 11 Check In: : 4pm Bedrooms: 5 Check Out: : 10am Bathrooms: 3.5 Pet Friendly: No
Amenities
Air Conditioning Big Screen TV Cable Clothes Dryer Coffee Maker DVD Dishwasher Essentials Hair Dryer Ice Maker Internet Internet Access Iron and Board Kitchen Laundry Microwave Patio Refrigerator Satellite or Cable WIFI Washing Machine Bar Children's Play Area Convenience Store Establishment Family Friendly Food Gear Shop Gift Shop Locality Lodging Lounge Park Point Of Interest Political Public Transportation Restaurant Weddings Carbon Monoxide Detector Smoke Detector
Check the FAQ
Calendar
Unavailable Days
Select your trip dates.
Arrival
Departure
Guests
Contact Manager

Toll Free (888) 847-0086
Photos
Map
Videos
Reviews - 4.4 stars based on 5 reviews
         
417 Mansion
5/5 stars
Great location. Clean home and peaceful escape.
Reviewed on Mar 15, 2020 by Deryl, pembroke pines, FL   Report

Thank you for your review Deryl, we have shared with our team and look forward to your next stay with us. Thank you.

Manager Response
         
417 Mansion
3/5 stars
There is no doubt the home is spectacular, I won't argue that. We are pleased with size of the home, the bedrooms, sitting areas, etc. In order to be truly "top drawer" there are some things that need to be addressed. 1) The first floor TV is "flaky" sometimes working, sometimes not. I've called and asked to have it fixed, but no response yet. Perhaps before we leave? 2) We were surprised at the lack of expected items in the kitchen. No salt and pepper, no cooking oil, only 1 small fry pan, no working ice maker (the sign indicated it wasn't working), etc. None of these are deal breakers, but to be a 5 star home, this should be addressed. 3) I strongly suggest the keys and entry process be updated. Most VRBO's I rent (including the one I run myself) rely on a code key to avoid the lock box. The message is clear to leave the keys in the lock box at all time, and with the other warnings, we are reluctant to keep the keys in our pockets or key chains. Replace the lock box with an updated code key entrance to avoid the hassles. 4) It would be better to place in your VRBO messages about how concerned the owner is about not touching his various antiques. I'm very happy we don't have any children with us as there are signs around the home reminding people to NOT TOUCH which is not the welcoming message most people want to hear. 5) We share the property with someone in the carriage house, we assume. Sometimes the car is here, sometimes it isn't. They must drive over the lawn when they leave because we are not asked to move our car, but it is unusual to have another party sharing the property with us as we weren't aware of this nor told before we booked the property. Overall, a good stay, just a few stars short of a great stay.
Reviewed on Feb 29, 2020 by Paul, Rockford, MI   Report

Thank you for your review and comments Paul. As you noted, this is an exceptional property which is attractive to guests who are looking to experience a very historical and unique home to stay in. This historic home is welcome to everyone however if you have small children, the home may not be your first choice as the owner wants guests to experience the history of the home which includes some very unique furnishings which is intended to enhance your stay in such a fantastic home. To you other point, we do not provide any cooking related items for sanitary reasons. Most guests choose to pick up the items they desire for their stay when they visit the grocery store. Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay with us. Thank you

Manager Response
         
417 Mansion
4/5 stars
We loved our stay at this historic home! Spotless clean, comfortable, and accommodating for our large group. Our only wish was a more than emergency supply of toilet paper and kitchen garbage bags. Bring your own or stop by the store first thing!
Reviewed on Feb 23, 2020 by Melissa, Enid, Oklahoma   Report

Thank you for your review Melissa, we have shared with our team. Most vacation homes are self catering for supplies such as toilet paper, shampoo etc so as we state in our welcome letter each of our homes are supplied with a starter pack of items which is one roll of toilet paper per bath. Guests usually pick up a pack when they grocery shop for their stay. Thank you and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Manager Response
         
417 Mansion
5/5 stars
Very nice home and very roomy. Gas grill did not work charcoal grill was filthy. No dish soap. Paper products were nonexistent
Reviewed on Feb 11, 2020 by Gene, Sciota, PA   Report

Thank you for being our guests and enjoying our lovely home. The propane grill is in the process of being discarded as it is no longer working and cannot be fixed. The charcoal grill was a left over from a previous guest. We do not clean the charcoal grills however guests are welcome to use them if they wish. A small bottle of dish washing liquid is left with the other kitchen amenities, they are usually found under the sink. We do apologize if this was not found. The vacation rental homes are self catering which means that after the first initial rolls of tissue and paper towels are depleted, guests must purchase their additional consumables. We love to hear from our guests during their stay. If we had been able to speak to you regarding the items, we could have shared the details with you. Thank you again and we do hope that you will consider visiting in the future. Mgmt.

Manager Response
         
417 Mansion
5/5 stars
We came into town on business and told some of the engineers where we were staying and a little bit about the house. Once finished for the day, it was decided the after meeting needed to be at the house. Former students of architecture walked the house and really enjoyed the history. It was a very interesting and comfortable stay, we hope to return in the very near future. Thank you for having us.
Reviewed on Jul 25, 2019 by Rich, Warrenton, Virginia   Report

Thank you for your review, we have shared with our team and look forward to your next stay with us. Thank you.

Manager Response

Similar Properties

Copyright © 2008 - 2020 iTrip LLC